Also in today's examiner there is a pic showing power holding Mccarthys Hurley for second goal. Free out. What de f **k were umpires doing.
disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 11/08/2014 10:02:16
The one thing about Limerick this year is We played our own game and played it to way we wanted to. We did not go sweeper we did not bring extra players back We just went out 15v15. We just showed we were not afraid of anyone and on another day them goal chances we got 1or 2 would of gone in.scoring 2 pts with 15/20 mins to go just shows u how bad the day was and kk were able to get 1.02 In start of second half kk were first to score and go 3 up Lim still stopped kk from kicking on and for Lim to go 2 up Just shows how hard we had to work on conditions and effected us in last few mins to score a few pts. For next year we have to get a few new lads for bench and will need to have lads to come on and do a job for last 15 mins
oll (Limerick) - Posts: 693 - 11/08/2014 10:04:14
Congrats KK ye played a tough brand of hurlin in impossible conditions and Limerick were awesome but unlucky. Power was some sub to bring on, the ref was unfair to KK on numerous occasions but not giving the peno probably helped KK hang on for the win because the certain point was enough. Ryan did some job with Limerick, welldone to all
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1759 - 11/08/2014 10:23:45
disillusiondfan County: Limerick Posts: 2949
Also in today's examiner there is a pic showing power holding Mccarthys Hurley for second goal. Free out. What de f **k were umpires doing.
Ah here man take your beating. No point picking out bits and pieces, nobody saw that so how would the umpires. Decisions by the officials didn't decide the game. The Limerick players and manager were a credit to their county after the match, more than gracious in defeat, super attitude.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 11/08/2014 10:28:49
oll County: Limerick Posts: 636
1634692 The flaker it was not a day for bringing on subs that's why it took Cody to bring on subs the rain was unreal it was falling straight down. Limerick were the better team but did not have bench for 70 plus. the last 5 mins our forwards were tired. Lim will learn from it we have to get out of 1b to win all ire Tipp yee have to beat cork first and should not look past that game before saying yee will win liam
Puzzled? Mark Kelly was having a nightmare, should not have been on that long end of story!
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 11/08/2014 10:30:23
Its kinda pointless picking out different things in the game in hindsight like Power holding Mc carthy hurl for the 2nd goal yesterday and the non sending off of O Grady.
Enjoy it for what it was and it was an enthralling game of hurling. The referee or umpires didnt win or lose it for any team yesterday.
Performance wise Limerick shaded it for me but it was the subs that swung it for Kilkenny. Kilkenny have been there and done it and that stood to them. This Limerick team are still a team on the up and a coming team and they will learn from this.
Its not that long ago that Kilkenny were head and shoulders above everyone else but this year and last has proved that the gap between them and the rest is closing which can only be good for hurling.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1534 - 11/08/2014 10:44:46
Flaker Have to agree with you Mark Kelly never got going and was surprised Cody waited so long to replace him. That said far be it from me to criticise the legend that is Brian Cody. However to capture an amazing 10th AI title under his watch he will have to get his forwards to up their game from yesterday. Finally had the pleasure of being in Croke Park yesterday to witness what was surely one of the best contests ever. The committment and never say die attitude from both teams was unbelievable and in those conditions left me gobsmacked at the end.
Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 11/08/2014 10:50:50
U know what flaker u r prob right bout taking my beating. I'd just like to point out that we conceded a goal to tipp when bonner over carried. Also had a legitimate goal disallowed in that game. We conceded goal to harnedy when he over carried. Now we concede to power when he is fouling our full back. That 3 decisions in favour of big 3. I wonder if any of those were conceded by the big 3 against any opposition if they would have stood?
On our site clareman said that cork claimed Clare got easy AI last year. If anything its established 3 who get easy AIs cos they seem to get benefit of doubt from officials
As for how would I expect umpires to see it they were 10 yards away n should be watching for fouls either on forward or back that's part of their job.
disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 11/08/2014 11:07:21
Greenwood County: Meath Posts: 116
1634775 Flaker Have to agree with you Mark Kelly never got going and was surprised Cody waited so long to replace him. That said far be it from me to criticise the legend that is Brian Cody. However to capture an amazing 10th AI title under his watch he will have to get his forwards to up their game from yesterday. Finally had the pleasure of being in Croke Park yesterday to witness what was surely one of the best contests ever. The committment and never say die attitude from both teams was unbelievable and in those conditions left me gobsmacked at the end.
Look I know I would never question the great man just Kelly was awful against Offaly as well. Just can't understand why he started, obviously he is doing the business behind the scenes. Would love to hear from a Kilkenny poster on this issue?
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 11/08/2014 11:09:41
Limerick were very impressive I thought. They seemed to change style too for the second half into the wind, and some of their pacey runners carried the ball more in the midfield area, and played some good quality short passing stuff, which was the only approach into that wind in the conditions. To hold a wind assisted KK to 1-4 in the second half was heroic. I hope that Limerick can maintain and build on yesterday's level in 2015 & 2016, unlike Galway and Dublin in recent seasons, who got to the pitch of it for a year, only to fall back into mediocrity a season later.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4321 - 11/08/2014 11:12:16
Gutted - absolutely gutted.
We really gave it everything. In the downpour 23 scored 5 unanswered points. We put in ferocious tackles, we had them but couldn't put them away. And the mark of a great team is that they never give up and that's what the Cats did. Their organisation once they got back in front was sheer class.
All of us in Limerick will be hurting today but we left everything on the pitch and Kilkenny still prevailed. Good luck to them in the final, an awesome battle. Some of the tackling yesterday was beastly, lads hitting hard & getting on with it. A real man's game, great stuff.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6490 - 11/08/2014 11:23:22
Im sure this will obvious get the reactions going.
Firstly should delaney not have got a straight card for pull dowling back by the face guard ???
Should sheflin not have gone for jamming the hurl straight into the midsection of the limerick no. 7 (who in fairness to the man just took it and said nothing)
I as a neutral thought while the ref did leave it a free flowing game did side with kk. And before you all decide to attack me so did the Kilkenny supported who watch the game with me. Kilkenny have been playing right on the edge for years but what iv never got is why the refs never seem to be aware ??? They are constantly holding hurleys pulling dragging and never ever seem to be called for it. are the refs afraid of cody or something.
Also to the tipp lads on about 27 could ye not show at least a little respect ye havent even beaten cork yet. Im very worried about the game im very worried about the lay off how cold will cork be ?? But seriously to be disregarding the challenge of cork so easily thats a bit silly.
And limerick i screamed for ye yesterday. Its weird the best team lost but old habits die hard. Lacked that little bit of composure to see off the game. Kilkenny were well below their best and when the game was there to be won ye couldnt pull the trigger.
Hickey at no. 4 gave probably the best display at corner back iv ever seen.
I do have one query i saw a posted say on a dry day that kilkenny would have won by six or seven. I disagree i actually would fancy limerick to take kk on a dry day playing the way they did yesterday
I thought on a dry day and quick ball that limericks forwards would have been alot more effective
ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 11/08/2014 11:35:49
hey disillusioned, Thought the either Jackie or JJ(cant rem which) should have seen red for pulling at dowlings helmet in the first half when he was clean through on goal.
When ever Cork and KK got reds last year they ripped down walls to get them reversed so id say refs are half afraid to give them reds now, but podge collins and clare its no problem at all.
I think twas Tom Condon should also have gotten the line for hitting reid i think donw on the head.
Also Limk got 3 points due to very inventive play( dowling, toibin and dowlings free in the rain storm), and fair play, but if you want to win the AI, yould need to be getting goals with invention like that, not just points.
Limk hit too many mis-placed passes in that 1st half, when they had clean possession under no pressure, you cant do that at this stage!
Anyways, I just think limk missed a trick or 2 yesterday, but what can they do now only get promoted and keep going.
FrackTheTurf (Galway) - Posts: 171 - 11/08/2014 11:48:24
Why are people always so quick to focus on what Kilkenny did, go back and analyse the game without the anti Kilkenny glasses. There were wrongs on both sides, that faceguard thing needs to be sorted out as Davy Ftz said, it is such a sneaky foul but hardly as serious as some people think. Get over it lads move on, 2 great teams went to battle and the officials had nothing to do with the final result.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 11/08/2014 11:50:50
Ah Ritchie please ,
Its one Tipp fans boasting a lot of us in Tipp have the height of respect for Cork coming into this game. They are Munster Champions which is no mean feat considering the quality of teams here.
I still cant believe Limerick didn't win that game. What an opportunity to get into the AI Final.
Should Tipp have a miracle & beat Cork , I would rather play Kilkenny then Limerick. To me its only a matter of time they climb the steps to collect Liam.
That's no consolation this morning but I predict a bright future for Limerick hurling. I for one hope Tipp dont meet them next year. They should knuckle down now and win Div 1B and get back to playing in the top 6 which should help them develop more.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/08/2014 11:55:45
Great and exciting game. But can't help but notice that the reffing was brutal. We all know that Grady was lucky not to sent off the first time - never mind the second. But there were hundreds of other fouls, by both teams, that just weren't called.
After the great championshi[p we had last year, much of it down to a stricter interpretation of the rules, I'd be sickened if we went back to 'letting the game flow.' Hopefully 'twas just a blip.
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 11/08/2014 11:56:52
I agree with TheFlaker.
The decisions didn't cost us the game, it was our inability to put them away. But I'm very very proud of the effort yesterday. We played with a huge amount of pride and intelligence - we just came up short. There has been a serious improvement in Limerick hurling since the 2010 debacle. We've taken giant leaps forward. We need to take one more and if we do, with the underage talent we have coming through from the coaching going on, we have a great chance to be at hurling's top table for a while to come.
There were fouls on both sides, but the moment of the match for me was Henry Shefflin getting that huge shoulder. Now Henry is my favourite hurler of all time (outside of Limerick's players) and he has been immense for years. But in that instant we were hunting Kilkenny down in packs and he took that hit & got on with it. The Kilkenny lads give and take in equal measure and when you play them you need to be made of steel. Yesterday we were. We are so close it's unreal, sad that it will be a few months before we hurl again, but the money spent yesterday, getting soaked to pieces - all worth it to see a Limerick team put up a fight like that. As gutted as we all were you can raise that Limerick flag high today, another immense year of hurling. What a game.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6490 - 11/08/2014 12:03:59
Yes the referee made blunders yesterday but it should not take away from how good this game was. Colin Fennelly was super yesterday, his block in the second half emphasized what Kilkenny hurling is all about. When the going got tough, Kilkennys defense was super. Those two final catches by Murphy were trademark. Limerick played their part, Hannon and Hickey were a joy to watch. Both teams were guilty of some bad wides but that has to be expected in the conditions. Rarely will you see a Kilkenny team lose their shape so much. Yet they found a way to win and are 70 minutes away from another All Ireland. I think they would rather play Tipp in the final as Cork's pace could hurt them. Kilkenny will know what to expect from Tipp as both teams know each other so well.
222 (UK) - Posts: 873 - 11/08/2014 12:04:09
That is McGrath's style of refereeing. He basically lets almost 'everything' go, but then will give the free for extremely obvious and prolonged holding. He is also sadly prone to falling for the exaggerated dive, and giving frees to the successful 'performers'. He is not a top class referee imo.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4321 - 11/08/2014 12:07:57
I have to say Hickey being emotional receiving the MOTM on Sunday game was very moving. You could see and feel his hurt, what a guy, no one could ever doubt the effort a game like that requires. He's a real hero.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 11/08/2014 12:16:09