Tiobraid Arainn are u thurles sarsfield in disguise?
222 (UK) - Posts: 873 - 12/08/2014 21:13:53
I agree Arturo,Shefflin did nothing in my opinion to warrant any abuse.He shared a few shoulders with GOM.Big deal.Doesnt merit even a mention.There will always be tight calls that could go either way,bad calls that the referee got wrong.Happens in every game.No point in whinging about it.Great game.Two top teams going at it hammer and tongs.Great advert for our game in abysmal conditions.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/08/2014 21:39:07
Sean Wall County: Limerick Posts: 59
1635537 TJ Reid hit (accidentally, but no more so than Pat Horgan) Richie Mccarthy into the back of the head to give Limerick their first free of the match on our own goal line and no sanction. If he then Tom Condon,JJ Delaney and Donal O Grady were sent off would we have been happier. Its a tough game, it was a fantastic spectacle and devasting to lose. I'd like people's views on Donal O Grady. After the Munster Final a neutral friend suggested to me that he was a negative for the limerick team and I completely disagreed. His view was that he hit bad wides at crucial times with big no hoper efforts and wasnt a composed enough leader on the field. Then after Wexford match, a Limerick friend said he shouldnt be started for semifinal as we proved we didn't need him. Again I disagreed. However after Sunday I'm wondering. Certainly his crazy pull on Holden when we were in front and on top of Kilkenny had a huge impact on the game. I'd like to think he was standing up to Kilkenny after Sheflin started his usual crap, but just curious what Limerick posters think of his contribution at this stage of his career
Interesting points on Dog sean wall,i think he's been a tremendous servant for us but feel if we are to make the small few changes to get us from v close to actual winners the likes of dog and prob 2-3 others will have to make way.I don't mean dropped from the panel I mean that they'll be on the panel and make up some of the 6-7 strong subs on the bench.Now of course who replaces them?i think definetly cian lynch is one and there are more coming too.
someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 12/08/2014 21:41:05
222 you are very much right I have been trying to post that comment with days but for some reason it was not aloud.
therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 13/08/2014 08:13:46
Arturo.Gatti, if you were that close to the Sheflin / O'Mahoney incident then tell it as it was. Henry was met with a welcome shoulder by O'Mahoney and when he returned the shoulder he gave the butt of the hurley into Gavin. Thats what happened, so say that then, its no big deal, just state it as it happened and dont try to cover it up. Bets of luck in the final, ye have a brilliant panel of players for the past 10 years with a great attitude and as supporters ye are spoiled.
Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 13/08/2014 08:46:12
I agree Someday. Prob DOG as he is getting on might have a role off the bench next season, I think we need a corner back, a wing back and a scoring corner forward/half forward. If we can dig these out and hold this years lads from these positions in reserve til maybe 20 mins to go it would improve our chances no end. I firmly believe we have the 4 guys to take these positions so hopefully they will get their chance.
BigMack (Cork) - Posts: 182 - 13/08/2014 08:54:01
There was a mention here of 3 illegal goals against Limerick this year. I just want to comment on them as I don't think they are as bad as any perhaps some people view.
Bonner Maher - 3 players hanging out of him when going through on goal.Yes went over the 4 steps but not by much.Number 4 seemed to be pulling his shirt anyway.
Seamus Harnedy - Again 3 Limerick players hanging out of him and again slightly over carried but not much in it.
Richie Power - Limerick full back looked to have his hands around Power as the ball was in the air.
However when watching the goals from Tipp v Limerick Shane Dowling took a few steps more than 4 anyway when making his way across the goalmouth to score the goal. Should that b classed as an illegal goal too ?
I'm perfectly happy with all 4 goals anyway.I have no ill feeling but just making a statement on that point someone had made earlier i the forum. Modern day hurling im afraid.
WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 13/08/2014 10:58:10
BigMack County: Cork Posts: 155
1636069 I agree Someday. Prob DOG as he is getting on might have a role off the bench next season, I think we need a corner back, a wing back and a scoring corner forward/half forward. If we can dig these out and hold this years lads from these positions in reserve til maybe 20 mins to go it would improve our chances no end. I firmly believe we have the 4 guys to take these positions so hopefully they will get their chance
I'd 100% agree with the above and would add we need 2 more scoring forwards not one.
someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 13/08/2014 11:37:06
Watched the game back again and it's clear R Power was holding Richies hurl when the ball came in theat Larkin flicked for the goal. Look, they got the breaks, we had a few similar half chances like that but didnt take them/ball didnt break for us...
GerMan (Limerick) - Posts: 38 - 13/08/2014 11:37:29
Haha you boys from Limerick still going on about the ins and outs of this game. Time to move on lads! There is always something, it was Kirby in 96 and now we have Power the villain.
Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 13/08/2014 13:21:38
@ clubgaa I genuinely didn't think there was any use of the hurley from sheff but I couldn't be certain, but my point was that I thought it was a pretty nothing incident that some people were using to have a go at one of the cleanest hurlers in the game who happens to ship quite a bit of punishment himself both on and off the ball.
If he did use his hurl on Gavin it would be out of character and certainly not something I would condone,at the time though it looked like Gavin had started something he wished he hadn't. Also considering the conditions I thought it was amazing we got such a clean game of hurling and believe dodge's pull on Holden to be totally out of character for him also.
Thanks for your good wishes for the final and believe me us older fans in KK realise how good we've had it this last few years but I also wish you and the Limerick team all the best for the future.
Arturo.Gatti (Kilkenny) - Posts: 52 - 13/08/2014 14:29:32
Yes it's a case of game over let's move on. All close games are decided by the sum of countless individual incidents. It is understandable that the more successful counties find it easier to get over defeats as they have more successes to look back on and also have a greater expectation of further success in the future. With counties like Limerick, Clare, Waterford, Galway etc every opportunity missed is more frustrating as we have had less good days. Supporters tend to be too forensic in their analysis on these occasions and maybe overdo the "what if" scenarios. Limerick could have won on Sunday if a few things were even slightly different but on the other hand Kilkenny could have won by 5 or 6 points if a few plays had worked out marginally differently in their favour. That's sport lads. Best of luck to the cats and to the other 2 teams still there. Also Henry Shefflin has been one of the greatest ever hurlers and we might not see him on the field for Kilkenny again as there is no guarantee he will see action in the final. So could we cut out the criticism of one insignificant incident in a 16 year career, our Limerick team are well past being put off by any such trivial happenings.
Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 13/08/2014 15:47:53
the player in question pulled on the ball with one hand and Michael Rice was late coming into the pull so he got the full force of the belt
The player in question pulled recklessly and dangerously knowing full well what he was doing. The fact that the ball was in the general vicinity was only used as a lame excuse for what was a dirty stroke. There was no attempt to play the ball.
Ashwielder (Carlow) - Posts: 94 - 13/08/2014 16:03:58
The Sheff/GO'M spat didn't look much, there's always a bit of that whenever a big name comes on. I Doubt & would hate to think that Sheff gave him the butt of the hurley. Anyway I was a mightily relieved man after the game as a wet ball could've gone anywhere from wet hands & sticks. A great clean game in spite of the weather. Commiserations Limk, hopefully yere year is coming very soon.
AnFearDonn (Kilkenny) - Posts: 65 - 13/08/2014 16:10:43