Kilkenny V Limerick

Though one to call. I'd be astonished if we dished out anything remotely resembling a ten point win. I don't think we have the capability to do that anymore to the top teams, of which Limerick are one. A big performances is required from Walter Walsh who has been desperately disappointing this year. Most fans would prefer to see Taggy Fogarty start because at least you're going to get 60-70 minutes of non stop energy and running. Eoin Larkin is due a big game, he hasn't exactly set the world on fire so far. Not sure how up to speed Mick Fennelly will be if he starts but at full fitness he's a colossus in midfield. Conor Fogarty has done well in midfield but he'd be most likely to make way. IMO Colin Fennelly misses too many goal chances, hopefully he takes a couple on Sunday. I predict Kilkenny to pull away at the end to win by 5 points.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1257 - 05/08/2014 21:29:37    1632183

I'd give limerick absolutely every chance and hope they go all the way. IT would be amazing for limerick given they are the last hope all alone there with the big 3. Killkenny are still the best team in the country but not even 60% of the team the were 3/4 years ago. If limerick are in it at the 60 minute mark i think they will win. They have the full back line to make it very very hard to score goals and they have the legs all over the field to take them on man for man. With a game plan to isolate the right players I think Limerick will surprise a lot of people.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3836 - 05/08/2014 21:43:28    1632199

It is all quiet in Limerick, playing Kilkenny will do that, people do fancy Limerick though. I

I see no more than 50,000 at the match. 30,000 from Limerick max and maybe 17-18,000 from Kilkenny and 2k neutrals.

Personally if every man in green does his job on Sunday and we have no moments where we switch of we will give Kilkenny plenty of it. We really should have racked up 4-32 against Wexford, we are creating chances, if the younger lads have the gumption and no fear we have height in our forward line to challenge the greatest aerial defence ever. If we get ball in paw run at them. Downes could be key Sunday. I think this Kilkenny team have been amazing over the years but unlike Cork in the Munster final they don't have as much gas so it could make it easier for certain players who have been under performing. If everything click Limerick will win on Sunday. Why fear them, we have the players coming through and if it is not in 2014 we have some real stars coming through it will come our way.

Limerick by five.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 05/08/2014 21:44:24    1632200

the thing i fear most on sunday is Kilkenny's cuteness one lapse of concentration and though they're not the team they were it could be game over.Wildpundit i've never seen it so low key in Limerick its like the media here are afraid to talk about this one after last yrs hype.I expect that to change from tomorrow and the atmosphere to increase,i'd expect 30-40k from limerick

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 05/08/2014 21:49:41    1632205

Hoover i suppose you're right limerick will bring 30k max,still some crowd though

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 05/08/2014 22:00:16    1632215

30k that some bandwagon and IF we win on Sunday its that bandwagon that could like last year ruin our chances.

We have been v amateurish in dealing with media choosing last year to fuel the hype rather than manage it.

If u look at today's examiner media masters kilkenny send out 2 past players to give interviews. We send out our coach and not a player. Hopefully that means we are learning. Hopefully we can use past players going forward.

Have 2 nagging doubts all the time ( we all know who they are). V hard to have confidence based on their performances to date. Scratched record time but I'd go with hickey on Reid n Walsh on power or Larkin. If hickey does to Reid what he has been doing all year we will be half way there.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 06/08/2014 08:17:40    1632219

For me Seamus Hickey is in the top three corner backs in the country and it would be Hickey. Murphy and Cahill for me. Unfortunately it has taken us four manager and seven seasons to cop it. Some of the managers out there are not what they are hyped up to be. One in particular had Hickey full back, McCarthy wing forward (on frees), Geary centre back when he was years past it and us playing a hand passing game where it took five touches to get out of defence #BLUFFERS.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 06/08/2014 09:44:13    1632245

Would agree that Walter Walsh has struggled since his dream debut but he has been on the wing alot of the time, I would like to see him inside where he could use his height and power.

222 (UK) - Posts: 873 - 06/08/2014 10:01:53    1632253

Hoover am a late convert to Hickey at 2 or 4 (thought he would want to play too much hurling to be confined to corner). Agree though that he has been a huge success and also see posts from other counties saying playing a 2 man f forward line against lk wont work cos hickey is at comfortable at 8 as he is 2.

Just wondering though if we go on form of Hickey Paudi and TJReid do you think hickey on Reid would work? Id back stephen walsh to mark Power or LArkin all day long if Im honest.

Personally I think if we hold reid and Hogan we will win. Thats my motivation.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 06/08/2014 11:05:40    1632295

You're right Hoover there's no way Hickey can be moved, himself and Richie McCarthy are the foundation of this teamand their play in the fb line has been theyear's in the championship so far.When Hickey was moved v Cork he went back to his old failing of trying to do too much
As for hype and media interviews I think TJ made a good point that we the supporters were every bit to blame as much as the media for last year, I like this years build up as it seems the team are going to CP for 70 mins of hard work and not the day out

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 904 - 06/08/2014 11:14:40    1632304

Hoover you are on the ball about Hickey. I know his brother very well and even as a minor you could see Hickey was always going to be a fantastic player. I have rarely seen him play a bad game for Limerick and he was a big loss when he got injured against Clare last year.There are lots of unsung hero's in that Limerick team IMO.
For the last 2 or 3 years they have been talking about putting it up to Kilkenny & Tipp. I read an interview in 2012 Shane Dowling , Hannon and Downes were interviewd and they said someething like give us 4 years and we'll be beating the Tipps & Kilkennys.
That summer in 2012 ye almost beat us in thurles. ye had kilkenny on the racks for periods in the QF. I started to think could it be possible. Kept telling myself it was all talk from them. Last year when ye beat us i felt maybe only a blip. When ye beat us this year i felt they were dead right. Not a one trick pony anymore. Limerick will be around for a while yet and Tipp , Cork , KK , have to realise what a threat they are.
I think the only way Limerick will be respected by a lot of people is if they win the AI.For me they have already earned that respect as have Clare.Its nice to see a new name on the cup. Hurling is like the Premiership same aul counties winning it but every once in a while a new team rises to the top!!!!
Kilkenny are keeping very quite too in all fairness and they know this game is not a foregone conclusion. That is why i think they will just pip Limerick on Sunday as Cody has em well and truely warned. I know Limerick are in the same boat and that is why this is going to be a fantastic close game.No hype from both camps.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 06/08/2014 11:18:09    1632306

The point updewell about the hype is precisely that you can do nothing about the fans and the media. It is madness to blame fans or media The responsibility lies with management to manage the hype. That is what all the top managers and in particular those from counties like our own who are not used to success do.

We have a hardcore of about 3000 hurling fans. How can you expect the other 20000 to know what they are talking about when it cmes to hype? Fans who say ah a few interviews from players dont matter just dont know what they are talking about. Fans who look for a song are fools or as someday has said are stupid. There is nothing management can do about these peopl but management can keep players out of the limelight and keep them focused.

Would you be content to leave Paudi On Reid? For me this year Hickey is more of a man marker than a crnr back example tipp game where he went every where. At the risk of repeating myself if we mark Reid and Hogan we will win.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 06/08/2014 12:09:25    1632353

If Kilkenny were to play the two man fullforward line, you most certainly wouldn't be sending Seamus Hickey out to midfield after him. I'd keep him in there to sweep up anything in there and do what he's good at, bring it out the field far enough to avoid the spare man and down on top of big Downes at the other end.

If Limerick get a good confident start I can see them go on to win this one. They lack that self belief to win it otherwise as this isn't the Kilkenny of old, but they are still a damn good team.

The eventual AI winners will come out of this game.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 06/08/2014 12:10:29    1632354

Dublin proved last year that Kilkenny are not supermen and can be beaten,and i believe Limerick have every chance against the Cats come Sunday afternoon. Kilkenny destroyed Limerick in the first ten minutes in the All Ireland Final seven years ago, but they will have no Eddie Brennan in their full forward line this time. Limerick will have Seamus Hickey in their full back line however and i'am pretty sure no Kk corner forward will be skipping past him this time, to bury the ball in the back of the net and finish the game before it had really started.

clonjon (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 06/08/2014 13:11:28    1632398

As fans df we have to take our responsibility seriously not to flame the hype and we cam do this by leaving the players a bit of space to get on with things and not have everyone asking them a100 times a day 'how do you think it will go on Sunday'-as an aside Jackie Tyrell was on Newstalk the Saturday after the Leinster final for a 30 minute interview, no Limerick player has done anything similar
You know the reason I suggested a song on the Limerick site was because the forum was being destroyed by you and other posters arguing over 'stupid' topics, it was to lighten the mood a bit-there NEVER was a song
Reid and Hogan are the danger men but why weaken our strongest line all year-why not put Walsh straight in at 5 to man mark Reid-remember KK could have Richie Power and Colin Fennelly in the corners and all they want are goals, Hickey will snuff one of those out if left back there

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 904 - 06/08/2014 14:25:00    1632462

As fans df we have to take our responsibility seriously not to flame the hype and we cam do this by leaving the players a bit of space to get on with things and not have everyone asking them a100 times a day 'how do you think it will go on Sunday'-as an aside Jackie Tyrell was on Newstalk the Saturday after the Leinster final for a 30 minute interview, no Limerick player has done anything similar
You know the reason I suggested a song on the Limerick site was because the forum was being destroyed by you and other posters arguing over 'stupid' topics, it was to lighten the mood a bit-there NEVER was a song
Reid and Hogan are the danger men but why weaken our strongest line all year-why not put Walsh straight in at 5 to man mark Reid-remember KK could have Richie Power and Colin Fennelly in the corners and all they want are goals, Hickey will snuff one of those out if left back there

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 904 - 06/08/2014 14:40:33    1632477

I know well you were joking on the song but I m not sure everyone was. Doubt there will be one now even if we make final so even in joke u did us a service.

Cant move Walsh in at 5 cos he is a 2 at intercounty level simple as. Where as Hickey can play anywhere. Prob not gonna happen as we will prob go with Paudi and as has can happen Paudi could star on him. If not though we need to act at 5 and 7 far quicker than we did in Cork. The whole country now knows why we lost munster final and Cody will seek to punish us here. Really dont see the point in making the change in the 50 something minute as we did against cork when game was lost.

As for fans especially those who dont understand the game u can say they have a responsibility but there is nothing u can do about it.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 06/08/2014 14:42:54    1632479

Yeah df there won't be a change in defence but I honestly think Walsh could do a marking job on Reid as a 1 off , I think TJ will have learned from the Munster final and act faster on the sideline to whats happening out on the pitch.At the other end of the pitch it will be interesting to see where Hannon lines up-I think he should be left cf where he is involved in the play a lot more, the 1 Limerick player there is no talk about is Downes and he could be the man for Tyrrell, fast, strong in the air,physical and not shy about becoming involved with his marker, with abit more composure he could have had 6 pts the last day and 4in the Munster final...it might only take the first one to go over and he would be unmarkable

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 904 - 06/08/2014 15:57:58    1632526

Its hard to judge how good limerick are. Easy draw. Beat Tipp a division 1 team and that's it. For limerick to improve I think they need to get into division 1 in the league. Kilkenny will be to intense,limerick forwards will have loades of wides as a result. A pitnick in the park for kilkenny. I hope I'm 100 percent wrong.

Sheedy (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 06/08/2014 20:09:00    1632660

Tune in rte 2 8.30 pm for a chat before the big game to listen to our very own gavin o mahoneys views. Sher it wouldnt be right without it!!!

hurlgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 136 - 06/08/2014 20:34:43    1632670