Kilkenny V Limerick

Looking forward to this game next sunday, youd expect Limerick to rip into Kilkenny early on and really go at them. Still very hard to look by Kilkenny espcially with their bench. If Cody is to win his tenth, a lot will depend on the fitness of Micheal Fennelly. Thoughts?

222 (UK) - Posts: 873 - 04/08/2014 13:20:17    1631193

Kilkenny will romp Limerick.

KK by double figures.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 04/08/2014 13:51:40    1631211

I expect Limerick to be within a whisker but again you'll never know with Kilkenny. Should be a cracking game all the same. Will be some atonement for last year should Limerick win. They threw away a handy all - ireland in 2013.

With 60,000 Limerick fans and about 15,000 Kilkenny fans should be a good atmosphere.

Both semis will be close to sell out.

Prediction:

Kilkenny 3.20
Limerick 3.18

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 04/08/2014 14:04:00    1631215

Kilkenny still not tested this year and Limerick look to have a good chance in this one if they give it a real go.
Sure, they had a handy game against Wexford but probably have had tougher run to get here.

Limerick 2-22
Kilkenny 2-19

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 04/08/2014 14:28:25    1631237

Waynol u r a mile of the mark. KK may well win but Limerick wont be beaten by anyone by double figures.

KK are very experienced and they have a great sideline and they are used to Croker. We come up short on all of those three.

They also have 2 excellent hurlers in Hogan and Reid. Our match ups there are vital and although prob on my own I would put hickey on reid and have cahnged my mind on hogan I would ask James Ryan to hound him all over the field.. If we mark these guys we will win. It is as simple as that.

KK have beaten nothing this year, they are nowhere near where they were in their prime and they certainly havent met anything in limericks league.

Throw in the fact that they tried to drop Holden, Hogan, Larkin this year and I think the f forward and couldnt find any suitable replacements and forget the hype and they start to look beatable. Also look at the fact that their 7 and 8 are converted to those positions. Throw in the fact that they havent played a game in 5 weeks and we are looking at a thriller. I would be v disappointed if we conceded 3 goals Wildpundit and I think if we do we will lose.

We were one of top 2 defences last year and this year 2 players of the 6 have struggled hugely. This could be our achilles heal. Have no intention to be overly offensive Waynol but anyone who thinks Limerick will get beaten by double digits is lucky they have a football team to follow

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 04/08/2014 14:37:47    1631247

Alot has been said that Kilkenny havent been tested, they beat Tipp twice in the league when it was probably easier to throw in the towel, they blow a lead against Galway but still romped home in the replay. People said they wouldnt have the legs for Dublin in croker but they win by twelve points.

222 (UK) - Posts: 873 - 04/08/2014 15:32:22    1631287

Df you say KK haven't met anything in Limerick league yet? Have ye lost the run of yer self's or do you mean Limerick haven't met anything in KK league yet. I can't warn ye enough about KK they are most dangerous when people start talking them down like they are not as good etc, all it takes is for just one Limerick player not to be 100% on his game and KK could maul ye. I hope Limerick win on Sunday but I was looking on Limerick site and some of the talk is unbelievable like bullying KK from the off and going after the so called weaker KK players, did any of the above and I fear for ye big time, limerick need to play own game and forget about trying to bully KK out of it. In league final Tipp played 40% better in that game than they did against Limerick in championship and I believe KK didn't get out of 3rd gear to win league final, I'm telling you to watch Tipp in league final V Kk and then watch the Tipp V Limerick in championship.

hoping for Limerick win, head tells me KK by 10 plus

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 04/08/2014 16:00:57    1631304

This will be the mother and father of all battles no quater given none asked,kk have the experience limerick have the youth and with youth comes a no fear policy it wont be easy for either but hunger is a desperate thing its limerick for me by two

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 04/08/2014 16:01:46    1631305

DF I just think KK carry a serious goal threat and will probably score 2 - 3 goals.

However Limerick also carry a goal threat and there could be a barrage of goals in this one.

KK are a lot cuter this year and racked up some fine point scoring in the games vs Offaly , Galway and Dublin.Now albeit you may say not quality opposition but they get the job done and bar that drawn game vs Galway I think that has given them a dose of reality.

With forwards like they have its hard to see them not hitting the score I predicted. It maybe a bit kind Yes I admit but I think we are in for a free scoring game with the caliber of forwards each team has. And should Limerick hang in there I'd wouldn't be surprised to see em over the finish line.

On a side note KK man for man look stronger but Limerick do have some strong man marking backs. I think the winning of the game is going to be how Limericks back perform against those KK forwards. KK just seem to always play that perfect ball into the forward line whether it be on the ground in front of the man , chest high or head high a score is nearly always forthcoming.

KK rarely lose semi finals only ones I remember under Cody were 2001 & 2005. Also on average the winning margin for KK in an AI Semi Final is 8 points ( accumulated if you include the 18 point walloping they handed Tipp in 2012 ) Excluding that result its still an impressive 6 points average win. Again that's just history and every game is unique but I'm sure you can see where I'm coming from.

I really want to see a good tight game however and the best team end up in the final.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 04/08/2014 16:10:18    1631309

I am with Wayno1 and therealTMO here. I would love to see Limerick win but I see Kilkenny winning by 10 points.

DF makes his case for Limerick winning and it is compelling. However, I take umbrage with the sentence that Kilkenny are not as good as they were in their prime. Well, that is one of these sentences that has little or no meaning and is therefore not worth saying. First of all when was the 'prime'? Was it won their four-in-a row? Obviously all the players that played then are now older - this benefits some like TJ Reid and Richie Hogan while others are more prone to injury. The reality though, this is a different Kilkenny team. Very few of the regulars from that era are regulars now.

This is a new Kilkenny team that has the same hunger and drive as the old teams. They are league division 1 champions. They have played three championship games against Division 1A teams and they are yet to be beaten. Limerick have played 1 championship game against a 1A team.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/08/2014 16:17:00    1631311

Realtmo a lot of what has been written on limericks site is rubbish and I would totally disassociate myself from it. Have stopped posting on it cos I am v intolerant of s***e talk by guys with v little knowledge of the game. when I do post an intolerant answer I make enemies so best to let them rattle on ppl soon figure them out.

Now THIS YEAR kk have met no one like limerick. Galway and Dublin were truly awful this year and EOS made no secret of fact that league was v secondary to limerick game so I'm not sure how well prepared tipp were for league final. Either way I bet u a house that lk and tipp are far better now than they were on June 1 so kk will need to have improved as well. Of four teams left kk have shown least form. Playing Galway n Dublin is not comparable to playing lk tipp or cork.

Now I have said before to u that u base too much on last year or year before in kks case. Kks team is a mile off what it was in 2010. It is v beatable now. do we have experience on line n mental toughness in players to seize the opportunity? I do t know. I do know that any one who predicts a 10 pt defeat for limerick is someone who has no regard for form this year.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 04/08/2014 16:24:47    1631316

Realtmo u r dead right about a lot of the stuff posted on the limerick site. It is nonsense and it should be obvious to u that it is written by guys who have v little knowledge of the game (not all but 3 or 4 for sure) I would totally disassociate myself from it.

Now Galway and Dublin were truly awful this year and KK have met no one like LK Tip or Cork. That is a statement of fact

As for comparing league final to Lk Tipp game that is a comment that belongs with some of the stuff u point out on Lk site. Tip and Limerick are both miles ahead now of where they were on June 1 so any comparison is pointless.

This Kk team is light years behind the 2010 team and anyone who predicts a 10 point defeat for limerick does so based on no analysis of form this year to date.
Now does this mean that we will be good enough on the line or able for Croker or mentally tough enough to play the men and not the jersey? I dont know. Im not confidently predicting a limerick win (will have a bet all the same) but i wouldnt dismiss lk or Cork or tip against kk based on what kk did in 12 or 13 cos nothing they have done this year should frighten any of the three.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 04/08/2014 16:50:58    1631330

Cant wait for this one - should be a humdinger and too close to call

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 04/08/2014 16:54:46    1631334

Good man Wayne, cant believe you managed to hook one :)

Limerick to win by 1

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 04/08/2014 16:54:51    1631335

waynoI

Your a funny man, Dublin have only played much teams up to this point, if a manufactured hurling team aka Dublin can challenge and beat Kilkenny then anyone can.

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 758 - 04/08/2014 17:25:07    1631359

Df my worry would be the way KK can get a run on a team it's nearly impossible to stop, for example the way Tipp went four points up against Limerick last year and this year, if KK get a sniff of that the way Tipp did KK will kick for home, that's were I am seen the possible 10 point defeat. I think the one thing we all agree on is we all want to see Limerick win.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 04/08/2014 17:50:09    1631366

To the defence of Limerick posters they have every right to b optimistic. Why not believe they can beat Kilkenny. I see nothing really that far out of place on d topic there on limerick page and the song for semi final is very funny reading. You know what doh fair play to em. Limerick always had and always will have great supporters win,lose or draw.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 04/08/2014 18:18:51    1631383

Really looking forward to this game.I have been very impressed with Limerick this year.Even in the Munster Final loss,i could see plenty of positives,and i firmly believed they would beat Wexford with a bit to spare.There is another big game in the treatymen.We will get it this Sunday.Last years poor no show v Clare will want them to make sure they put in a good performance in Croke Park.Limerick have the players to win.No doubt about it.I would like to see Hickey on Colin Fennelly.Hickey has the speed to negate Fennellys influence.TJ Reid will need to be quietened.He is putting up big scores,and seems to find the space to score important goals on a regular basis.Im sure Limerick have a plan for this.Richie Hogan is the other Kilkenny man that needs special attention.He is the playmaker general.Beautiful wrists,astonishing skill and ball control.Might not be the most physical player but he has the hurling intelligence to make up for this.If even 2 of this triumvirate can be held on Sunday i think Limerick have a great chance.Limerick have the half forwards like Hannon to win primary possession in the air.Normally Kilkenny lord the skies and build a foundation, but Breen and Downes are good in the air also.Dowling and Mulcahy have skill in abundance with Mulcahy a tricky speed merchant well capable of scoring a goal.Dowling must convert 90% of any frees also.
In highlighting a lot of Limericks positives,i must also say that ive tipped Kilkenny from the start.I dont need to go into their strenghts as we all know how good they can be.I really feel were going to see a huge Limerick performance,but i can still see the cats sneaking through.They are masters at winning tight games.And not so tight games.I will be there shouting Limerick on,as it is a great hurling county,who desperately crave the big one.Kilkenny by 3.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/08/2014 20:40:24    1631490

cuederocket,thanks for the support,i, like you think we have a right chance in this one too.If our hb line perform i think we will win.Lads i had a quick read through the limerick site and don't see anything too much off the wall bar of course the usual stirrers.

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 05/08/2014 20:36:35    1632141

Is there much buzz about this game in Limerick? What kind of crowd do folks reckon this will get?

While its never a good idea to bet against Kilkenny, I have a feeling Limerick are going to win on Sunday. I think they've had the more ideal preparation, and are coming into this semi-final in a totally different fashion than last year.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 05/08/2014 20:59:11    1632161