"Gooch a two trick pony"

THat was a crass comment; real amateur nonsense masquerading as proper analysis. Why can't some of these guys be more measured in their comments. What are the Gooch's 'two trick's? He was/is pure class: Beautifully balanced footballer who kicks off both feet; great vision and wonderful distribution. A bit of respect from some of these SG critics wouldn't go amiss. To say that about a player of Gooch's stature especially while the man is recovering from serious injury was wrong.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1995 - 04/08/2014 18:24:51    1631387

The earlier poster who said Cooper averaged 5 points from play in all-Ireland finals is spot on. 40 points(including goals obviously) over 8 games as far as I can work out.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 04/08/2014 18:36:30    1631396

daytona11

1631384 Lads he's looking for attention.

He also accused Dublin of not beating Donegals system in 2012 even though the won the match.

Strange fish.

Can't remember Donegal playin Dublin in 2012

DERBOMBER (Donegal) - Posts: 101 - 04/08/2014 19:27:39    1631427

The best way to measure a players worth in this era of Gaelic football, is to decide if they would get a starting place on this current great Dublin team.

I would say it would be a close call as to either Gooch or O Donoghue starting, but at the very least they would push hard for a place on the bench.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 04/08/2014 19:42:50    1631434

This is quite possibly the most outrageous comment ever in the history of the GAA, it is so unbelievable to think that someone who has supposed knowledge of the game could come out with an opinion such as this, perhaps Martin should concentrate on things closer to home and explain why despite stating that his son Mark was "not enjoying his football" he still enjoyed it enough to head off to America to play it instead of with Donegal.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 04/08/2014 20:08:45    1631454

Preposterous statement.Maybe he felt he needed to be controversial to keep his place on the panel.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 04/08/2014 20:14:51    1631461

bit different playing in new york richieq where you are getting set up with accomodation and work and playing in a serious set up like donegal

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 04/08/2014 20:22:02    1631468

Wee Muirtin is right, Gooch IS a two trick pony......he can only score with his left and right feet.

Seriously, do Ulster analysts only rate a player if they come from up north?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1257 - 04/08/2014 20:37:58    1631486

04/08/2014 19:27:39
DERBOMBER

daytona11

1631384 Lads he's looking for attention.

He also accused Dublin of not beating Donegals system in 2012 even though the won the match.

Strange fish.

Can't remember Donegal playin Dublin in 2012

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/08/2014 20:40:31    1631491

bryanadams

The best way to measure a players worth in this era of Gaelic football, is to decide if they would get a starting place on this current great Dublin team.

I would say it would be a close call as to either Gooch or O Donoghue starting, but at the very least they would push hard for a place on the bench.

Going to bump this up closer to the top in case people missed it..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 04/08/2014 21:02:55    1631518

2 trick pony eh? Trick 1 - he shoots. Trick 2 - he scores.

exiledinarmagh (Down) - Posts: 23 - 04/08/2014 21:12:52    1631528

Next thing Mchugh will be saying is that Gooch is better than Benard Brogan

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/08/2014 21:15:24    1631533

WildPundit, Joseph Brolly played in the Derry team up until 2000, he was a super sub the last year or 2.

People go on about it being an amateur sport to much, next you will be saying that commentators aren't allowed to comment when a player makes a poor pass. When a team is playing poorly it is only normal for pundits to chat about it.

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 04/08/2014 21:23:21    1631540

@Rightful

Tir Chonail don't have a football team, if they did it would include Fermanagh and parts of Derry and maybe even Tyrone.

4KHDoneill (Derry) - Posts: 182 - 04/08/2014 21:28:36    1631545

A vastly overrated player. I'm glad someone has said it at last.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 04/08/2014 21:29:31    1631547

Daytona11
Now I don't think Dublin beat the Donegal system in 2011 they won the match but by scoring 8 points in the whole game shows how well held the Dublin forward line was. Or the 2points in the first half is a good guide of whether they broke the system or not. You tell me when Dublin were held to eight points in a game ??
As regards M McHugh opinion that's his and his alone and I think too much is being made of it
Also The Gooch/j o Donohue /Sean Cavanagh would make the present Dublin team in the forward line as I think M Murphy would also make it Plus I'm sure if there was a transfer market Dublin would be buying a few backs too plus a midfielder

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/08/2014 21:40:07    1631555

Sam, Dublin are playing a completely different style now than in 2011. As indeed are Donegal. It was desperate to watch at times, but that was as much down to Dublin's caution as it was to Donegal. I seriously think the turning point was Dermie being sent off as it created space and threw the Donegal defence off a bit. If they were to meet again it would be much more exciting as both teams break at speed from turnovers and have the forwards to take advantage.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/08/2014 11:16:41    1631659

Lacey going off injured was the biggest factor for me. He was our firefighter in defence and our link man between defence and attack. We looked very disorganised when he went off.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1433 - 05/08/2014 11:45:25    1631685

Ha ha ha ha, is that you in disguise Martin???

But just in case your being serious, let me get this straight. Your saying the best forward that played in a team that won 4 All Irelands (including back to back titles) in six years and played in six consecutive finals wouldn't get his place on a team that has the grand total of 2 All Ireland appearances and 2 wins since he first came on the scene. That's some argument you have, I'd say your one of them fella's that convince themselves the sky is black and not blue.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/08/2014 12:15:21    1631705

It was utterly ridiculous statement and the man himself seems to have recognised that.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 05/08/2014 12:19:43    1631709