Dublin v Monaghan

shaggylegend
County: Monaghan

Seanfinn Lee Keegan was born and raised and even went to school in shercock in Cavan. He is a Cavan man.

Well Shaggy I did include the proviso that I was 'pretty' sure. However, that wasn't really the point I was making. Even if Lee Keegan was born in cavan and lived his early years there….it still doesn't make him a cavan man. He sounds like a Mayo man when he speaks, he played underage for Kilmeena (outside Westport) and now plays for Westport. In other words he was reared a mayo man and is therefore a mayo man. It's not like he is Seanie Johnstone in this scenario.
Anyway. Do you think we can do it tomorrow? I might be crazy but I think we can and will! These dubs are far too confident!

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 08/08/2014 10:25:47    1633299

He moved to Mayo when he was 9 his parents are from Cavan and Armagh, I'm not denying Dublin players have country blood I'm just saying we shouldn't be call "region" when all our players are born n bred dubs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/08/2014 11:06:21    1633316

I don't like our team I'm hoping mannion and Mccaffrey start, we need to keep EOG on the bench cause he runs amok off it

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/08/2014 11:07:37    1633317

Interesting you say that Seany, where do you think the changes will be? It looks a reasonable line-up to me in the forward line at least, speed in the half-forward line with Kev Mc, and O'Gara providing the power in the full-forward line, but you would have a better idea of what Jim might try than me I imagine. A match-up between Wylie and O'Gara on the edge of the square would be excellent, a throwback to the old days.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/08/2014 11:16:52    1633321

Seanfinn I believe we will win! I have the same feeling I had prior to the Ulster final last year. Monaghan operate at a higher level when the backs are against the wall we have absolutely nothing to lose people expect us to be beaten out the gate. Monaghan by 2. The handicap bet is a way of printing money thing weekend.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 08/08/2014 11:29:14    1633330

02/08/2014 21:52:55
TheGateKeeper

This is the end of the road for Monaghan;
unlike Kildare, Dublin have a host of
forwards who 'can' score!

Any other gems of wisdom Gate?.........

mcsta (None) - Posts: 74 - 08/08/2014 12:27:10    1633362

I take that team selection with a pinch of salt clondalkin, I didn't have Gavin down as a man that makes changes to the original team selection but he made quite a few the last day against Meath. The starting 15 doesn't really mean a whole lot in Dublins case anymore as the 5 subs will all come on at some stage throughout the game.
I'm not one to be over confident at this stage of the season as anyone can beat anyone on a given day but I think Dublin are set up nicely for this one. If Monaghan play as open as they did in the first half last week Dublin will punish them. I expect Dublin to play similarly to the Mayo game last year, keep their kickouts out wide, stretch Monaghan open as their midfield is not the most mobile. Dublins pace could make life very hard for Monaghan especially as the game wears on. At the back, I see McCarthy picking up Finlay, O'Carroll to pick up McManus and McMahon to pick up Hughes. From a Dublin point of view, it they keep those 3 to low scores then I think Monaghan will struggle to outscore us in the shoot out stakes.
I see Dessie Mone as the guy to pick up Connolly, get in his face and make him work for every ball while having to watch Mone's forward run's as well. Connolly wasn't at his best the last day and he'll need to watch himself in this one as the Monaghan boys are well able for a physical contest and won't be bullied. Both O'Gara and McCauley also need to pay heed to this as the last thing they need to start winning are red cards. I expect Walsh to pick up Bernard as I'd regard him as their best man marker, Bernard might find this a tough one. I expect him to come in for some special attention so he needs to be ready to lay the ball off to the runners that we usually get into scoring positions.
If Dublin take their scoring chances in the first half (which they don't always do) then I think they'll win comfortably

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 08/08/2014 12:30:37    1633364

The Roc will take Hughes and Fitzsiomon's will take McManus , Philly will take McGuiness, I'd be very surprised to see McCaffrey not starting I can't understand why he wouldn't be especially playing a defensive team surely we need our quickest players on the field? Also with Kev and EOG starting it takes away our impact subs , as I said I'd prefer EOG on the bench he's better coming off it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/08/2014 13:08:55    1633387

Dublin should win this weekend but they will face a team which will set up a plan to win the game and this should be Dublin's biggest test so far. However Monagahan are not at the level of Donegal with regard to the defensive set up and this is were they will come unstuck.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 08/08/2014 13:17:47    1633390

When Dublin u21s played Donegal in 2010 with Jim Gavin as manager in AlL Ireland Final, James mc Carthy, Johnny cooper and Nicky Deveraux were the half back line. R.O.C. was in the fullback line. So its something Jim tried before against a blanket defence. Although its anyones guess to what team will actually start. Its possible Jack might come on early in the game if needed. I wouldnt be surprised if Mannion starts instead of EOG.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 08/08/2014 13:29:04    1633398

Lads the only way, and I mean the ONLY way, anyone will beat Dublin in this years championship is if they have a serious off day. They are miles ahead of everyone in terms of everything, bar their full back line which can be exposed. This is rarely the case though because they overpower teams in all other areas of the pitch.

Its no accident that they've got to this level of superiority (and in many ways they have "unfair" advantages over other counties but they're not the only ones and thats a topic for another day).

As much as it pains me to write it (and many more to read it), the only team that will beat them this year is themselves. If both teams are on top form this weekend, it'll be a long game for Monaghan and their supporters.

RadleyParkLily (Kildare) - Posts: 36 - 08/08/2014 13:40:49    1633405

Really looking forward to the games tomorrow. Any word on whether its a sell-out?

drumhowangaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 64 - 08/08/2014 13:52:34    1633413

drumhowangaa

Really looking forward to the games tomorrow. Any word on whether its a sell-out?

Not yet, still a few left if you go on GAA webpage. Make the trip.....we will need all the support we can get!

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 08/08/2014 14:14:57    1633434

RadleyParkLily
Lads the only way, and I mean the ONLY way, anyone will beat Dublin in this year's championship is if they have a serious off day. They are miles ahead of everyone in terms of everything, bar their full back line which can be exposed. This is rarely the case though because they overpower teams in all other areas of the pitch.
It's no accident that they've got to this level of superiority (and in many ways they have "unfair" advantages over other counties but they're not the only ones and thats a topic for another day).
As much as it pains me to write it (and many more to read it), the only team that will beat them this year is themselves. If both teams are on top form this weekend, it'll be a long game for Monaghan and their supporters.

There is some truth there. However, I would reserve judgement until the game is over on Saturday. I really don't think they will dish out a trashing the same way many seem to think. If this does happen then they should easily overpower Donegal /Armagh and probably Mayo/Kerry. The thing is to stop them playing their game (if you can) and as you say hope they have an 'off' day although the later seems unlikely, a few players can have off days….they can easily change them out.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 362 - 08/08/2014 14:22:40    1633442

RadleyParkLily

Lads the only way, and I mean the ONLY way, anyone will beat Dublin in this years championship is if they have a serious off day. They are miles ahead of everyone in terms of everything, bar their full back line which can be exposed. This is rarely the case though because they overpower teams in all other areas of the pitch.

This is the sort of drivel that really annoys me.

Yes Dublin are a fine team and yes, going forward, they are great to watch. But how does that translate into them being unbeatable?
The fact of the matter is that we don't really know how good they are since they havent't met a decent team yet who could give them a game. The league is only a warm up & in the championship they have beaten Laois, Wexford & Meath, all poor quality opposition.

Don't get me wrong, Dublin may well turn out to be the greatest team football has ever seen but let's at least wait until late September before throwing in the towel & slinking away.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/08/2014 14:25:45    1633444

Dublin are strong favourites, gan doubt ar bith, but the rest of us still live in hope until it's proved beyond doubt this year.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 08/08/2014 14:46:40    1633450

Well seanfinn, I'm calling it now. Dublin to win by ten plus. Monaghan have no idea how good this team are

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 08/08/2014 14:59:18    1633462

seanfinn

...I really don't think they will dish out a trashing the same way many seem to think. If this does happen then they should easily overpower Donegal /Armagh and probably Mayo/Kerry...

Terribly simplistic view to say if Monaghan get well beaten then the same should happen to Donegal/Armagh/Kerry/Mayo.
Semi final stage is another 3 weeks down the line, with the final being a further 3. I think there is room for that group of teams to bridge the gap somewhat in those weeks. It can happen, for example how many finals out of the last 7 or 8 were hammering's, no matter how hotly tipped the particular team of the year were? Not saying Dublin won't hammer everyone, but as Muck said, how about we wait and see.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 08/08/2014 15:28:42    1633486

Malonemagic
County: Laois

Well seanfinn, I'm calling it now. Dublin to win by ten plus. Monaghan have no idea how good this team are

I agree with you 100% malone. Monaghan don't know how good Dublin are. But neither does anyone else, Dublin included.

Rolling over a few lightweight Leinster teams that were beaten before the game started is no guide to anything.

They might be brilliant, then again they might not, the next few weeks will tell us a lot.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/08/2014 15:38:07    1633493

Why are Monaghan rated higher than some of the Leinster sides? Because they won Ulster last year and gave Donegal a good game this year? No disrespect to Monaghan intended, but some of you seem to have them rated much higher than the Leinster teams, yet it took a bit of luck and extra time to get past Kildare last week, a team that got beaten relatively easily by Meath who in turn got hammered by Dublin

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 08/08/2014 15:49:34    1633501