This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
county man Hill16 - RTE do not have the rights to the National League so can't show it live. Another existing national broadcaster TG4 which receives a portion of the TV licence fee, plus Setanta, have the rights.
do they have the rights for the heineken cup? premier league? tennis? golf? im talking about there sports news bulletins yet they still give us footage and daily updates of all these sports as opposed to nothing from the gaa.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/01/2015 17:57:35
29/01/2015 17:21:04 fabio8 speaking to people from south africa?..always seems like you know somebody when your argument gets lost underneath the facts..how come you have no evidence to support your claims?..do you have any links?..look at the participation numbers and attendances for the number of people playing the sport in wales and in south africa as well as attendances where wales club soccer is very big for a country of its size.rugby national side is more popular of course as much more successful but sure our own national rugby team has got better attendances in recent sides than the soccer team but nobody would suggest rugby is anything close to soccer in this country...well the regions are in bad need of sorting it out as they are a mess..attendances at thomond have declined as its natural to happen as attendances grew with success and lack of success they will decline...they are a minnow or nobody..they arent a competitive side in rugby...they are beaten out the gate when they play the top rugby countries similar to what happens to andorra or san marino in soccer Georgia aren't a minnow or a nobody. They are European nations cup winners 6 of the last 7 times. They've beaten or been damn close to several top tier sides and will cause a shock at this years world cup. Welsh rugby has always dominated across the country. Look to Swansea, neath, Llanelli. Its rugby which it is not for. attendances at most levels of rugby also high. munster wont really decline too much. will be in top tier and are getting their debt sorted and are paying it off. Georgia aren't beaten out the gate when they play top rugby national sides or at least haven't in the very recent past. 29/01/2015 17:32:42 county man Hill16 - RTE do not have the rights to the National League so can't show it live. Another existing national broadcaster TG4 which receives a portion of the TV licence fee, plus Setanta, have the rights. +1 29/01/2015 17:33:31 RangersFan Soccer is by far the most popular sport in Ireland using any criteria you like. Far ahead of Gaelic football and rugby. In what metrics is it by far most popular? 29/01/2015 17:35:18 PoppinPoints The last thing I want to say is to OrmandBannerman. I have only started posting on this forum recently but I have been reading it for the last few years. I have noticed you appear to always have a negative opinion about the GAA and I'm just curious as to why you are on this website?I don't have a negative opinion towards the GAA. I use this site for discussion on Tipperary club and county hurling. Rugby discussions, hurling intercounty discussions and what ever else takes my fancy 29/01/2015 17:35:46 fabio8 they would get them if they wanted to..they have a much larger budget than tg4..it would also bring much greater viewing figures than the wolfhounds for instance which only rugby die hards would have an interest in mainly..the tg4 viewing figures speak for themselves You would be surprised to know its much more than rugby diehards interested in the wolfhounds. sure wolfhounds were trending today on twitter... that isn't all down to die hards discussing the team How do you know they would get them? TG4 have outbid RTE for plenty before? Rugby highlights etc....
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/01/2015 17:57:48
just watched the tv3 news bulletin how on earth can they justify their main sports news of the day the team news for the irish reserve teams rugby match this weekend like come on next people will tell me that its more important than the national league because the news has it on. the bulletin started with the wolfhounds team in rugby, another rugby story from club. then an english soccer story, followed by cork city soccer team signing a player, followed by tennis in australia and finished off with golf. NOT ONE GAA BIT OF NEWS!!! two days before the national league starts cork named their team today to play dublin on sunday and no info but cork city soccer team sign somebody for a league that doesnt start till march gets precident
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/01/2015 18:07:08
Hill16no1man, that is the usual sports news on every radio and TV station in Ireland. I think its only going to get worse and giving out about it on a forum is not doing anything. I think we should all drop Rte/tv3/whoever emails to tell them that we are not happy. Yes that does seem like a ridiculous idea but if we could get every poster on the forum to do that I'm sure we would see changes
PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 29/01/2015 18:21:02
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 9048
1687819 county man Hill16 - RTE do not have the rights to the National League so can't show it live. Another existing national broadcaster TG4 which receives a portion of the TV licence fee, plus Setanta, have the rights.
do they have the rights for the heineken cup? premier league? tennis? golf? im talking about there sports news bulletins yet they still give us footage and daily updates of all these sports as opposed to nothing from the gaa.
Hill16 - If they don't have the rights RTE can only show what footage they are given by other broadcasters, if there is footage to show in the first place. They do show footage of National Leagues on new bulletins so nothing diffrent to Rugby or Premier league etc there.
Also not much point in giving info on county team lineups when they can change significantly 5 mins before throw in and often do. I can remember numerous intentional bogus team sheets issued by counties last year. This cannot happen in rugby unless there is an injury. The GAA should bring in that rule also.
county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1156 - 29/01/2015 18:36:00
County man come on stop making excuses Soccer teams in England don't even name a team in the build up to their matches and they still give team news on them. The league of Ireland does not start till march and it gets in ahead of any Gaa news if you honestly think a rugby reserve match deserves to get the main headlines we are living on a different planet my friend.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/01/2015 19:03:15
Poppinpoints It all sounds well and good but you won't get anywhere still. The media is not run in this country by our own people Their is always someone to answer to and even the government have to answer to Europe. I emailed looking for odds on the Irish grand national last year to boylesports a month before the race Boylesports sponsor the race but ciuldbt give me any betting. I asked to quote me for a specific horse just and they still wouldn't give me any odds yet they could give me odds on any race in Cheltenham 2015 a year in advance. That's just the way it is was their answer and they stuck to it. How many hundreds of thousand people the length and breadth of the country have protested visibly over the water charges and an elected government by these same people ina ddemocracy still cone out and give the same answer sorry but that's just the way it is.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/01/2015 19:17:20
Hill16no1man we are not going to see changes sitting talking about it on a forum then!
PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 29/01/2015 19:40:59
dont know why my posts havent been allowed true..where is this interest in the wolf hounds outside of the die hards?..there is huge interest in the league as the attendances and viewing figures will prove...the highlights show for the league will be very poor if other years are anything to go by..welsh soccer has larger participation and attendances also bigger
fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 29/01/2015 20:10:28
If rugby 6 nations goes pay per view it's popularity will soon fall away.
Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 29/01/2015 20:23:36
georgia are a minnow in every sense of the word..the european nations cup is for the second rate rugby playing nations...still waiting on evidence about your knowledge of south africa...something stronger than a rugby playing afrikaan especially considering we all know what those people were like..not a great source
fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 29/01/2015 20:32:30
To be fair Fabio I think Ormo is the only one disputing your points and there is no changing his view. I am certain the debate about sports participation in South Africa has definitely been had on here before (maybe even this thread), yet if it came up again next week the rugby expert would be on to say his sport is South Africas biggest. Most points have been debated to death on this topic, I think we should leave this thread to allow Mediaman carry on his good work in identifying the obvious bias and acknowledging any improvements RTE might make in the year ahead in redressing the balance.
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 29/01/2015 20:48:42
Soma, we cannot afford to leave this thread, something must be done to advertise GAA to the country!
PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 29/01/2015 21:20:34
Poppinpoints I'll go along with you OK You send an email 2 Moro morning and I'll send one 2moro evening to rte as well and we see what response they give to both
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/01/2015 21:34:25
Hill16no1man , I understand that nothing will be done, but my point is talking on a forum is not doing anything, but anyways I'll send one, nothing to lose apart from 2 minutes of my life
PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 29/01/2015 21:58:34
Most gaa coaches stress the importance of the league and to say otherwise is rubbish
ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 29/01/2015 21:59:58
Are GAAGO (which I believe is owned by RTE) not showing allianz league matches this year. can someone confirm ?
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 30/01/2015 10:44:47
s goldrick Are GAAGO (which I believe is owned by RTE) not showing allianz league matches this year. can someone confirm ?
Yes they are, including the Saturday night games.
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 30/01/2015 15:12:51
Yep s goldrick - RTE are giving live coverage to well over 100 GAA games this year across different formats , not forgetting the many preview & highlights shows. It is far more coverage than any other sports get but shhhhh these facts have no place on this thread!
Anyway back to it lads...
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4656 - 30/01/2015 18:15:42
bad.monkey County: USA Posts: 3971
1688162 Yep s goldrick - RTE are giving live coverage to well over 100 GAA games this year across different formats , not forgetting the many preview & highlights shows. It is far more coverage than any other sports get but shhhhh these facts have no place on this thread!
Anyway back to it lads...
------- Is this not a premium pay for view service? I'm sure the rugby boys would love the indignity of having to subscribe to their games and be subjected to a poor quality stream experience. Just saying!
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 30/01/2015 18:42:07