Our sport on the National Broadcaster

Barca to score over 2 goals v Elche and Real Madrid to score over 2 goals v Espanyol.500e double at evens.Excellent weekend lads(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/01/2015 18:33:37    1682640

hurlingdub

I hadn't seen the result but heard them talking about the Mullins horse and another horse that was second favourite. Had the one you were on much form?
I had a few soccer and NFL bets at weekend which I came out right side of although only because I managed to get out before Dallas/Green Bay game took a turn!

the one I backed had not run yet
but was very well bred being out of flemensfirth and turtle island
amazingly he was 20/1 all morning and went off at a massive 16/1
had 20 euro each way as couldnt see him finishing outside first 3 and I knew he had great chance of winning it.
was bang there in the straight and handt asked for anything before getting hampered
where as mullins horse had the whip at that stage.
there wouldnt have been anything between them if tuzo wasnt hampered yesterday
and id fancy him to beat him if they meet at cheltenham.
its crazy the differance a trainer makes as one if favouirte for cheltenham
and my horse aint even priced up haha
also had mallowney at 8/1 in the big race was unreal how big he was consdering his form and he hacked up,
along with carberrys horse in the first officeux at 11/2 didnt think he would win but was sure thing to be placed
but he hosed in haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/01/2015 18:38:55    1682641

Stephanie Roche shafted for goal of the year.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/01/2015 19:10:18    1682649

There were 26 matches in football and hurling yesterday. The RTE main Sunday evening news devoted a mere 55 seconds to them. Then told us to go to the website for further details. Never heard any other sports being told to do that. And there are some who still argue that RTE isn't biased.

mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 12/01/2015 20:18:06    1682670

seems perfectly legitimate for rodgriguez to win in fairness

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 12/01/2015 20:28:49    1682675

If a man scored a goal like hers he would of won.
Is their ever a day when rugby players don't give interviews?
They do more talking than running in this day and age it seems

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/01/2015 20:36:29    1682682

lots of people have scored brilliant goals in the past and not been nominated...the fact that his goal was scored in the world cup knockout stage holds a lot of weight for me

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 12/01/2015 20:51:54    1682689

12/01/2015 20:36:29
hill16no1man
If a man scored a goal like hers he would of won.
Is their ever a day when rugby players don't give interviews?
They do more talking than running in this day and age it seems
ridiculous post regardless of being serious or not
Perhaps you are right about the Steph Roche goal but it was luck she even got nominated at all as it was just chance AFAIK that the goal was even video'd.
A player or two is usually interviewed once or twice early in week of European weekends and then later in the week another player interviewed. All part and parcel of job of a pro athlete. Same occurs in soccer etc

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/01/2015 20:56:54    1682693

Stephanie Roches was one the greatest goal ive ever seen.Up there with Maradonna v England in 86,Van Basten v USSR in 88 and Zidanne v Leverkusen in 02.I really think it was that good.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/01/2015 20:57:52    1682694

the difference being the context in which those goals were scored

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 12/01/2015 21:04:23    1682699

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOO42jHw3-Y

Maradona is an honorary Scotsman based on that goal ! Joking aside it was a class goal and I love Jimmy Magee's different class commentary.

Fair play to Stephanie Roche, proud to see an Irish woman being nominated at the FIFA awards. I hope she can go on and make a good career for herself in football and hopefully inspire some kids and adults to become more active in sport.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8174 - 12/01/2015 21:25:15    1682705

Yes fabio,if the best goal is being awarded to goals scored in the most high profile,pessurised occassions,then yes Stephanie Roche comes up well short.Grainy images,with no crowd does her goal no favours.However,technically speaking,her goal is faultless and incredibly difficult to execute.Ive never seen a footballer try,never mind accomplish,such a wonderous piece of skill.Aesthetically,a thing of beauty,which will live forever in the minds of anybody who witnessed it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/01/2015 21:41:59    1682710

agree it being a great goal cuderocket..no doubt about it..wonderful goal

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 12/01/2015 21:46:51    1682711

Regarding Stephanie Roche, great to see her enjoying the limelight. We should also thank the much maligned Mick Wallace as it is unlikely that too many womens' soccer teams video all their games as Wexford Youths do!

I once scored a goal on the volley from a puck out in a schools game, but it has not challenged John Fenton's rasper against Limerick because it was unrecorded. If a tree falls in a forest does anyone hear?

(I should be doing 'Thought for the Day' on some religious spot on the wireless :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 13/01/2015 09:12:16    1682724

Fabio don't agree that what level the goal is scored at shouldddetermine anything in awarding the winner.
Its a best goal competition not most valuable.
She clearly displayed greater technique and skill in executing her goal than your man did, therefore was a better goal. As for we are lucky it was videotape at all what has that got to do with awarding the best goal .
All three were clearly recorded and hers was clearly the best so wrong decision was made. Don't agree with the train of thought that you should just be happy to be on that stage when your goal is clearly the best of those nominated

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/01/2015 12:04:50    1682767

Ormond we don't need to hear what Dave Kearney had for breakfast come on like.
I was trumping the guy long before you ever even rated him so don't make out something when you respond.
I honestly think they love the sound of their own voices these guys nowadays.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/01/2015 12:09:12    1682771

13/01/2015 12:09:12
hill16no1man
Ormond we don't need to hear what Dave Kearney had for breakfast come on like.
I was trumping the guy long before you ever even rated him so don't make out something when you respond.
I honestly think they love the sound of their own voices these guys nowadays.
Stop talking rubbish. They are professional athletes. Why haven't you criticised soccer players for doing the same thing?
Its part and parcel of the job as a professional athlete that interviews, and lots of them, have to be done every single day/week for newspapers, websites, tv, radio.
Your last line is hilarious if you actually believe it and sad if you're trolling

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/01/2015 12:52:29    1682796

many great goals have been scored over the years and not even nominated so she should consider herself lucky as good a goal as it was that she got nominated....it was a vote and she lost...its quite simple...the people spoke...outvoted 3 million to 1 million i think...personally i feel the level of football the goal is scored at is hugely important as it has a major bearing on the chances of scoring such a goal

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 13/01/2015 17:13:57    1682899

Technically her goal was brilliant. She lost the vote by 1.38 million to 1.1 million. Your argument with regard to the level she was playing at means that all of these accolades would be the preserve of those playing at the very top of the sport. It is similar to your argument on a previous thread which ran along the lines that because more people play soccer than any other sport reaching the top in soccer is a greater achievement than reaching the top in any other sport.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6182 - 13/01/2015 17:56:55    1682921

did i say it wasnt brilliant?...it was a great goal nobody disputes that...great goals are scored weekly at small levels and get 0 recognition....it is much easier to score a goal at a lower level..its quite simple....the level of difficulty goes way up when it comes to the world cup..personally i feel cahills goal v the dutch was the best goal this year...did she even score her goal in 2014?...people wouldnt care if she wasnt irish..its quite simple

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 13/01/2015 18:01:25    1682922