In addition Aitken, Brooks and the GAA should be allowed to get their way despite their ignoring the law and the correct process in setting the 5 dates up.
opa, you assume that I think these guys should have gotten their way etc etc. The reality is Im not making a point either way, Im saying that functionally, the way it has worked out will cause the residents even more strife. It is all well and good you lads talking on a website about how things worked out for them, but I know if I was going to have 80,000 people walking through my back-garden 20 odd times a year, Id rather I hadn't done something that annoyed/affected them... But sure, some fella from cavan on an anonymous internet forum thinks it was great, so it was all worth it...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/07/2014 16:44:24
TheMatter
I'm not concentrating on how it has worked out for the Residents, The GAA, Brooks or Aiken. What I'm saying is that the law should be upheld. The arguments about loss of revenue, Ireland & Dublin's reputation, loss of money for clubs in the GAA, how it works out for Residents etc is irrelevant and have only been brought out by apologists who wanted the concerts to go ahead and to hell with the consequences. To me it's great the bullies didn't win - it enhances Ireland's reputation after all that was allowed to happen through the past decades.
opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 519 - 15/07/2014 17:33:32
No louts will annoy the residents. Thats nonsense. Thats making things up like usual from a certain poster.
Some people have posted nonsense on this topic. If you are inconvenienced by something you are within your rights to bring it to the relevant authorities. If the people who are inconveniencing you dont listen you can make formal complaints.
Essentially this is what happened.
Ireland does not look like a backward country throughout the world because of this. People are claiming that, very little in the mainstream British media about this, our nearest neighbours. I somehow think the Shanghai times gave it much coverage!
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 15/07/2014 17:49:40
Having followed this fiasco from 3000 miles away, I have one simple question which still has not been answered; If it was against the law when the tickets were sold six months ago why did'nt the Dublin City Council state that the additional concerts could not be held then? I just cannot understand how elected officials could ignore the law(if a law really exists)for six months and then do this. And now these same elected officials are trying ban anyone with associated with the GAA from the public hearings. This does not make sense.
mps17 (USA) - Posts: 13 - 15/07/2014 18:57:51
Ive seen it said a few times that this is a blow to Irelands worldwide reputation. Well Im living in Spain for the last 2years and Ive noticed 3 things about the concerts here:
1-I have yet to see anything mentioned in the national or local media about the concerts. 2-I have yet to meet anyone here who has heard about these concerts. 3-I have yet to meet anyone who has heard of Garth Brooks.
extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 15/07/2014 19:08:25
IN circumstances, like this, it sometimes help to look to an equivalent in a similiar nation and assess the consequences. The closest example which comes to my mind, and betrays my old age, is the complete SNAFU at Aintree in the early 1990s which led to the abandonment of the entire Grand National. The biggest victim was the 'winning' jockey who genuinely and understandably spent 20 seconds on cloud 9.
Not an exact parallel (nowhere near the same amount of people affected, so better, but a venerable 150ish year old institution which had seamlessly run ever before, so worse), but as far as I remember, I didn't tar all of England as a bunch of incompetent boobs because they messed up a large social and sporting event. I don't remember anyone having a chortle because it was a embarrassment to Her Maj's realm.
Although I remember similiar sentiments being expressed by some national figures in Blighty, there wasn't quite the same degree of existentialist (and let's face it paradoxically deeply narcissitic) angst as Garthgate, though I suppose we're caught in the full force of the breeze of hysteria here.
I'd endorse Maureen O Sullivan's comment in the Dáil last week, to the extent that the real source of 'national embarrassment' was a parliament who spent half an hour debating a cancelled concert ahead of housing, jobs, environment etc. Our Taoiseach I'm afraid, though I don't really feel any antipathy before him, demonstrated not for the first time his willingness to mindlessly parrot a soundbyte. No intellectual giant.
(Then again, Sir Garrett was, and he was abysmal!)
an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 15/07/2014 20:19:23
15/07/2014 18:57:51 mps17 Having followed this fiasco from 3000 miles away, I have one simple question which still has not been answered; If it was against the law when the tickets were sold six months ago why did'nt the Dublin City Council state that the additional concerts could not be held then? I just cannot understand how elected officials could ignore the law(if a law really exists)for six months and then do this. And now these same elected officials are trying ban anyone with associated with the GAA from the public hearings. This does not make sense. It wasn't against the law strictly speaking. The GAA and local residents have an agreement that not more than 3 concerts a year were to go ahead. There was already the One Direction concerts so under agreement between Croke Park and residents these shouldn't have went ahead. Concert tickets are always sold subject to licence but licensing laws in Ireland at the moment mean you sell the tickets then apply for the licence. Who was to know back when the tickets were sold that the license would not be granted.... Law wasn't ignored for 6 months.. And it would have been the day to day full-time staff of Dublin City Council involved in this decision as the elected councillors
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 15/07/2014 21:44:56
people whinging about the concert laws yes they may be stupid but guess what they are the same laws that exist in britain now like most things here we copy them yet when it goes to pot and theres a problem nobody turns around and says anything about this
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/07/2014 10:33:16
extranjero County: Wexford Posts: 3
1619890 Ive seen it said a few times that this is a blow to Irelands worldwide reputation. Well Im living in Spain for the last 2years and Ive noticed 3 things about the concerts here:
1-I have yet to see anything mentioned in the national or local media about the concerts. 2-I have yet to meet anyone here who has heard about these concerts. 3-I have yet to meet anyone who has heard of Garth Brooks.
------
Not a mention in US media about GB or the concerts. Before this I had no opinion about Brooks. Afterwards I think he should get a yellow card for not working out a compromise.
mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 16/07/2014 11:00:07
The people who say we have a damaged reputation abroad are 'trivial people' with little to worry about! Probably never even lived or worked abroad for any length of time if they believe that this is even 'news' anywhere and that people in other countries could care less what happens here!!!.....Jaysus wept!!!
In what countries exactly is our reputation damaged?
USA? Britain? Australia? France? Germany? Italy? Israel?!!!!
Methinks when one stacks up little ol Irelands 'reputation' against the worst excesses of these countries for example on a truly global scale its puts into perspective for these 'trivial people' exactly how 'trivial' a matter this whole Garth Brooks thing is 'INTERNATIONALLY'!!!!
The correct decision was made and all is right with the world again!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/07/2014 11:16:56
Garth Brooks was always going to do five or none. He has a world tour and needs to be seen to keep his commitments.
I doubt if he got to where he is by dealing with people who tell him something and then do something else.
400,000 people are the losers here.
sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2929 - 16/07/2014 11:45:34
@ormondbannerman Not sure what "it was'nt against the law strictly speaking" means'. It is either the law or it is not; there are alot of people on this site quoting the rule of law and democracy; which I do not have a problem with unless there is NO law. All i am saying is Mr Owen Keegan and the Dublin City Council had a moral obligation to the people they serve and the 400,000 Irish people who bought tickets,booked planes,booked hotels ect. to deal with this in a timely manner. The sellouts were announced in January, the permit was applied for in April, and the two concerts were cancelled in July;those are the facts. I could not care less about Garth Brooks, but fair is fair for the people who planned to go to the concert. I hope to be in Ireland again for the the semifinals or All Ireland football final, but given Mr Keegan's comments about banning GAA members from the public meetings I might wait awhile to book in case he cancels them. Cheers
mps17 (USA) - Posts: 13 - 16/07/2014 13:22:09
Just thinking of what the Irish people will be missing... classics like....
How Can I Miss You if You Won't Go Away? High Cost of Low Living How Can You Believe Me When I Say I Love You, When You Know I've Been A Liar All My Life? I Still Miss You Baby... But My Aim is Getting Better If The Phone Doesn't Ring, It's Me I'm So Miserable Without You, it's Almost like Having you Here Jesus Loves Me But He Can't Stand You Run for the Roundhouse Nellie (He Can't Corner You There) She Walked Across My Heart Like It Was Texas
or even:...
Rednecks and Blueshirts....
BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 16/07/2014 13:51:47
He was more than happy to do 3 shows before they added the extra two . Greed , it makes the world go around . People taking to the streets over Garth Brooks . No wonder we are in the mess we're in . Good riddance to him, And as for the Croke park residents association, The stadium has been there for over 100 years. Get over it or move !
StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 407 - 16/07/2014 14:30:42
SNUF..............about our international reputation I agree.
Now back to you comments about the residents and the GAA. You saw the Gaurds have started investigation the amount of false objections???
Did you see the amount of residents in favour??
How do your realier comments on the thread stand up now?
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 16/07/2014 14:35:21
.....and the houses have been there longer than croker and have already seen croker pulled down once!
If croker doesnt like being in a residential area...."get over it or move"!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/07/2014 14:35:42
Agree with you mps17.... Common sense is in short supply. I'll say no more.
Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 16/07/2014 14:38:03
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgyHQ5125_s
.....had to be Hitlerised!
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 16/07/2014 14:47:00
I think the only blow to irelands reputation came when an old, fat, balding, american country and western singer who nobody has heard anything from in over 15 years managed to sell out a few concerts in the first place!
The reaction from the media, people marching singing his sings, our politicians etc only heightened the embarrassment of the whole sorry situation.
We have had banking disasters, corrupt politicians ruining the country, the biggest recession in living history, unemployment growing at a rapid rate etc etc and the only thing that got people up on marching was because a fat ahs been country and western singer spat the dummy out because he only got 3 gigs instead of 5.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 16/07/2014 15:47:27
witnof,
My earlier comment 'stand up' just fine if you had bothered to put on an analytical head and read them in detail!
I said that the law is there for 'EVERY SINGLE INDIVIDUAL CITIZEN' and therefore I stated that it does not matter to me if the objection was lodged by a residents association that was 100% genuine, a residents association that was 20% genuine or a 'SINGLE INDIVIDUAL' acting alone and with no support from anyone.....all are entitled to voice opposition and have due process accorded to them!
What part of 'EVERY SINGLE INDIVIDUAL' do you choose to not understand when reading my comments about entitlement to fairness under the 'LAW'?!
As for forged signatures, let the Guards catch those unscrupulous persons responsible and deal with them under the 'LAW' also, but recognise that within that petition there exists 'INDIVIDUALS' who signed in good faith and are entitled to fair and due process as outlined above ad nauseum in plain English for you to understand!!
Before the 'LAW', what is the difference in an objection lodged by a residents committee and an objection lodged by one 'SINGLE Individual'....answer = 'NONE'!!!!!.....No difference whatsovever as they are both accorded fair and due process just the same!!!!
Residents win before the LAW!.....be they a 'group' or a 'SINGLE INDIVIDUAL' makes no difference!!!!
Wake up to that lad!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/07/2014 15:54:04