The Garth Brooks Fiasco

The way this has panned out is a bit of a disaster. Nobody wins. Anyone thinking the residents got their way should ask themselves how relations will be at the next concert in croker. This couldn't have gone any worse.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/07/2014 11:29:40    1619517

Is that big Garths ship i see moored down by the docks?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/07/2014 11:38:34    1619525

dstuction

absolute rubbish talk!
brooks is to blame here solely at this stage
he had two nights originaly and was quite happy to do them.
then greed took over when he saw the tickets selling out
and it went to 5 concerts.
they didnt ask for a licence for another 2 months after selling them.
the dublin city council told them from the moment the 5th concert went up they would find it difficult to allow 5
consecutive nights.
after a lot of tooing and frooing, a logical clear resolution one which mr brooks initaly brought up himself!!!!
was thrown down on the table for him
do 3 nights and 2 day time shows
everyone wins you get your 400 thousand fans to see you
you get your money
the residents get only 3 days of disturbances
the gardai were happy to plan for it
the city council were giving the green light
and lone behold mr brooks turns it down
so dont come over all dublin doesnt deserve your money
ireland is a laugjing stock for this that or the other
mr brooks is the one who pulled the plug and let his fans down at the end of the day because he was too stubborn

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/07/2014 11:59:18    1619539

I was out of the country last week - traveling around Europe - it made it to CNN - made Ireland and particularly Dublin look a joke...
once again the politicians have the blame game, I think it is ridicous of Fianna Fail to blame the other parties, when they have been in power for so long, why didn't they bring in legislation...

and as regards the GAA - it doesn't affect me - because that revenue will not have filtered down to any club in Ireland!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 15/07/2014 12:07:59    1619547

"50,000,000 Euro lost to the Irish economy"
This money didn't self destruct just because GB threw his toys out of pram. 330,000 of the tickets were sold in Ireland so that money was and still is in the economy. It will now be spent on a more nationwide scale rather than clustered in one city. Also GB would have taken a huge wad out of country, that now stays. Many of the foreign, and national, ticket buyers will have organised time off work, booked hotels etc so will still travel anyway. Yes 400,000 wouldn't get to see GB (should think themselves lucky imo) but think a little about the doom and gloom headlines before repeating them. And as for our international reputation.....can't see HP, Intel etc using the GB concert debacle as a metric when next deciding where to invest. If child abuse, Magdelene laundries, Mother & baby homes, babies buried in slurry tanks, banking system once known as "The Wild West", sectarian conflict, Government corruption, inept handling of economy, church influence of state policies for generations etc etc etc didn't discourage FDI or tourism, don't think a C&W concert will do much lasting damage. Its all about the money, or corporate tax system to be precise.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 15/07/2014 12:40:52    1619570

The rule of 'LAW', Democracy and Righteousness (the words of 'learned people') wins over the words of the great unwashed and trivial people like 'economy'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 15/07/2014 13:03:12    1619585

"Dublin and Ireland have been made look backward"....according to an Irish woman living abroad who had organised a large group to come over. Hard to disagree with that really.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11566 - 15/07/2014 13:06:24    1619587

Good man Commander.

Spot on with that post.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 15/07/2014 13:07:13    1619588

TheMatter
This couldn't have gone any worse.

Yes it could - the bullying could have worked and the 5 gigs gone ahead in spite of the law and the lack of planning by Aiken & Brooks.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 519 - 15/07/2014 13:18:23    1619600

Come on folks, a little bit of perspective is needed here - at least music wins out in the end…

Fat Boy (Cavan) - Posts: 372 - 15/07/2014 13:19:03    1619602

In fairness it's very difficult to do 5 in a row in Croke Park,Brooks has failed just like Micko and his great team did.

sean55 (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 15/07/2014 13:24:40    1619606

yew_tree
"Dublin and Ireland have been made look backward"....according to an Irish woman living abroad who had organised a large group to come over. Hard to disagree with that really.

Actually, its very easy to disagree with that. First off, this was a series of concerts by a country singer, not a botched invasion of a middle eastern country. Commander from Kildare pointed out things that are actually disgraceful in his last post, a series of concert cancelled by a C+W star in a fit of pique doesn't count.

Secondly, he was offered every kind of compromise (stage 2 of the 5 concerts elsewhere, play 2 of the 5 concerts at a later date, etc), he turned them all down. the only one that really looks bad here is the singer himself.
Also, originally it was supposed to be 2 nights, right? So if the original arrangement stood, and the other concerts were never added, would he have still refused to play? Even at 3 concerts, it was more than this guy could have hoped for. I mean one sold out stadium concert for a guy who hasn't been 'relevant' since 1995 is pretty amazing.

So, no, in itself, these actual events don't make us look backward. What might make us look a little backward is people, like the lady that was quoted, indulging in hyperbole over a cancelled Garth Brooks concert.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 15/07/2014 14:29:51    1619649

opa01
Yes it could - the bullying could have worked and the 5 gigs gone ahead in spite of the law and the lack of planning by Aiken & Brooks.

Such a simplistic view. Tell me, what happens to the area when the next concerts roll into town? Im pretty sure of that 400,000 people, a sizeable amount of them will either attend or have family or friends attending, or maybe you will just get louts who want to cause trouble and see this as an opportunity.. They will be passing through this area and you can be sure a percentage wont do it quietly. If they thought it was bad before... One thing is for sure, it will be a lot worse than having to suffer the 2 extra nights they needed to do for garth brooks. Every concert is a potential nightmare for them now with people acting the maggot far more likely. Maybe even the gaa games could become a hazard now. Fair or not, that is the reality. As I said, it couldn't have gone any worse.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/07/2014 14:45:05    1619661

Commander's above post has hit the nail on the head.

The 2 arguments, one that this cancellation looks bad for Ireland/Dublin internationally, and two that this is a massive loss to the economy. Both of these arguments are of course well off the mark.

The cancellation of some concerts by a country and western singer will not have an adverse effect on Ireland's or Dublin's reputation.

The loss of the concerts are also not that huge a loss to the economy, especially not as big a loss as some of the ridiculous figures being bandied about. All spending on the concerts by Irish people (330,000 of the tics sold in Ire) would have been discretionary spending. That money will still be spent in the economy, just more spread out over time and the country.

Some of the over reaction to this has been quite startling. Some concerts won't happen for various reasons (residents complaints, ungranted licences, Garth Brooks refusal to compromise). Deal with it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 15/07/2014 15:00:43    1619673

So easy to spot who the trivial people are on this thread!.....they are the ones who harp on about the 'loss to the economy' and 'Irelands image abroad'!
So easy to spot the learned people on this thread!......they are the ones who speak of upholding the Rule of 'LAW', Democracy and Righteousness and Fairness!!

Which group you fall into graphically illustrates the scoial class you belong to!....as it makes clear what your priorities in society are!
Hmmm, a 'Fair & Just' society or a 'greedy, overpowering and image conscious' society for all!!!???

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 15/07/2014 15:01:17    1619674

the master

so your condoning violence against people who stood up for themselves?
nobody will do anything to these residents, as you can be sure the gardai presence will be far higher to prevent people
who think along the same lines as yourself.
the only person who looks bad in all of this is brooks
he was given every chance to do 5 shows!!!
if anything Ireland should gain credit around the world as it will not be seen as a push over
as way laid the law down and stood by it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/07/2014 15:58:18    1619719

TheMatter
"Such a simplistic view. Tell me, what happens to the area when the next concerts roll into town? Im pretty sure of that 400,000 people, a sizeable amount of them will either attend or have family or friends attending, or maybe you will just get louts who want to cause trouble and see this as an opportunity.. They will be passing through this area and you can be sure a percentage wont do it quietly. If they thought it was bad before... One thing is for sure, it will be a lot worse than having to suffer the 2 extra nights they needed to do for garth brooks. Every concert is a potential nightmare for them now with people acting the maggot far more likely. Maybe even the gaa games could become a hazard now. Fair or not, that is the reality. As I said, it couldn't have gone any worse."

Good man Matter - so we should change the law so that these louts don't get their way just in case they act the maggot the next time they're allowed out. The next concert will obviously have the same crowd attending whether they are 1D, U2 or Take That and will have a subsection who will have nothing more on their minds than taking their revenge on Residents.

In addition Aitken, Brooks and the GAA should be allowed to get their way despite their ignoring the law and the correct process in setting the 5 dates up.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 519 - 15/07/2014 16:23:00    1619738

Rolling Stone magazine ran an article on the Garth Brooks press conference last week and proposed comeback tour. The Dublin concerts were worthy of about two lines overall in the article......so no I don't believe anyone outside of Ireland and Garth Brooks really cares about this.

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 15/07/2014 16:27:31    1619747

I never condoned anything, nor do I, I just stated something that in all likelihood is going to occur. Condoning it or not condoning it wont make a bit of difference. Whether the gardai are there or not, there are going to be issues, probably far more than there was before, maybe that could now expand to gaa match also, so in practical terms it is a step backwards for them. If you think that wont happen you are kidding yourself.

On that subject, do you condone the 15,000 pay off to file an injunction and the forging of signatures on the petition?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/07/2014 16:36:53    1619752

I'd love to know what I'm saying wrong in my posts but basically it's the fault of Brooks, Aiken, Gaa and residents against, that's all.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/07/2014 16:36:57    1619753