The Garth Brooks Fiasco

Please stick to the topic at hand, anything off topic will simply be deleted.

Thanks,
Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 10/07/2014 17:58:47    1616992

I liked Gareth Brooks letter to all his Irish fans. Gareth really cares deeply and is clearly prepared to send the boat on in the hope some resolution can be found. I was almost in tears reading it, the cockles of my heart were warmly aglow. Everyone who is against the concerts should read Gareths letter and realise that he loves us all like his own children.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 10/07/2014 19:06:50    1617023

If Enda was involved in this then I have just lost all respect I have ever had for him!

Like Saipan, and will Bertie get involved all over again!!!

Mrs. Merkel, when you have a moment from sorting out the world will you please take a call from a country music singer whose promoters ignored Berlins planning laws and tried to bulldoze their gigs through the law!!

"NEIN".....und go away bitte!!!

If people want to talk about embarrassing, its the "God bless us and save us" merchants of this country looking for the Taoiseach to always get involved and then the Taoiseach getting involved that is embarrassing!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/07/2014 19:20:43    1617031

So its been 'confirmed' that all 5 will go ahead over 3 days with matinees on Sat and Sun. That will be a logistical nightmare and Croke Park will be a mess for the evening gigs.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 10/07/2014 19:21:12    1617032

If it has been settled then let me just say these points to the GAA:

1. Make a new agreement with locals and 'HONOUR IT' anymore!
2. As soon as promoters get out of hand....refer them to point number 1 above and the fact also that their event is 'subject to licence approval'!!
3. Just like the SKY (lies as to the real reason for it) deal, stop disgracing the organisation with.....'DISHONOUR' as refered to in point number 1 above!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/07/2014 19:30:48    1617033

Two gigs in a day.For saturday and sunday.Sounds ridiculous.Like having two All Ireland finals in a day.Logistical nightmare.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/07/2014 19:59:44    1617043

If it is 5 concerts in 3 days then it's a sloppy solution to a sloppy situation but it wouldn't particularly surprise me.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/07/2014 20:03:31    1617048

GreenandRed

1616823 Dubfan, the GAA don't need a licence to have matches, unlike the promoters who need a licence to hold concerts in Croker. So if there's replays the residents have to put up with it. But they probably get free tickets too ?

How come that would not be an issue with the residents? There would still be 80000 supporters showing up, and depending on which counties are involved, they would be way more abusive and disruptive than most Garth Brooks fans......would they run to the courts?

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 10/07/2014 20:03:55    1617049

According to the The Irish Times Brooks has refused to compromise. Time to tell him to put up or shut up.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6180 - 10/07/2014 20:08:13    1617051

People might hide in the jacks so they can see the evening show.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2929 - 10/07/2014 21:15:59    1617091

A matinee for the wee culchies, how thoughtful of them, even the directioners didn't have that.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/07/2014 21:52:55    1617127

Some laughable posts on this thread.

First of all stop referring to the residents of Croke Park as if the majority of them are against it. There's a small minority who are headed by a few with motives mainly involving the handball center dispute. Which funnily enough revolves around them keeping their watering hole. They don't seem too bothered about the actual handball. They're an embarrassment to the few residents who legitimately have objections to this and are made look bad.

2: stop calling the GAA, the Grab All Association. They are non profit, invest over 80% of their revenue back into clubs/counties/communities and pay their top dogs very modest salaries in comparison to similar organizations. Money gained from this will benefit Irish people and not the suits. Their salaries won't change.

3: The economic impact of this is huge. Thousands of local Dubs were going to get a nicely paid week of work. many businesses have invested in this and are now going to lose their investments. Hotels, restaurants, pubs taxi's etc. I think this is the reason the locals are in a majority in favor of this. 70k tourist coming in paying rip off prices is a much needed boost. Many of those would come back and many more after buying the DVD Brooks was going to produce.

4: 400k people are at risk of being let down by our crap system. The concerts should go ahead and ASAP the law changed so that licences need to be granted befoe half the country buys their tickets and sets up their travel plans.

5: 3 concerts a year is nothing for a stadium so big and the limit should be at least 5. Dublin city will lose out big time if a few rebels around Croke Park are allowed to dictate a limit of 3.

6: I don't think people can really call Brooks greedy. He could have taken the deal and done 5 in 3 days and get his fat pay check. But lets look at reality. He sells his tickets at an undervalued price and has a long history of doing it. Along with that money is not an issue with him. He has more than he can spend. I think he just wants to give all 400k the best possible and fair treatment. If the law prevented the sale of tickets before a licence is granted then this row would never happen. The issue here is 160k bought tickets and then the event never goes ahead.

CRAZY SYSTEM.

PS. Snuffy you don't fool anybody. The majority of the 27k residents don't agree with you.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 10/07/2014 21:56:48    1617131

So, the Taoiseach has gotten involved. The Mexican ambassador to Ireland has offered to mediate. I can no longer concieve of how ridiculous this is. This is too much, this is too silly.

I'm not getting at anyone's musical tastes, but this is Garth Brooks. Perspective. The isn't the raising from the dead and re-animation of John and George for a Beatles re-union. Its not the second coming. Its Garth Brooks. Has he sold out a stadium anywhere else in the last 15 years? Is he likely to sell out a stadium any where else now?

Whether he plays 5 shows, 3 shows, or no shows, this doesn't warrant the intervention of the Taoiseach, the countries Prime Minister and leader. It doesn't warrant the hysteria. He was offered 3 sold out stadium concerts, he turned his nose up at it. He was offered 5 including 2 matinees, he wasn't interested. That should be it, he's not that important.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 10/07/2014 21:59:14    1617138

Jack, you are making Brooks sound like he's a regular mother Theresa, hell he loves his children so much he might just do it for nothing!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/07/2014 08:27:04    1617151

More sense and logic from Marlon, alas all logic and perspective has been extinquished in a frenzy of blame, hysteria and comedy. Personall;y I'm sick of the whole damned thing, the thousands of column inches, hours of airtime and most scandalous of all, the time spent by elected public servants, both at DCC and national level, paid for by YOU. Enough is enough, national embarrasment has been heaped on the countr by the lorry load, scorn, humiliation, call it what you like but a country and western singer seriously did not warrant this level of attention.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/07/2014 08:34:38    1617154

The country has come to a standstill because of Garth Brooks?! Who'd have thunk it. Springsteen travelled the country and that's what this guy should've been made do originally, 3 in Croker, 2 in Thomand but nope, when there's €€€€ involved people get greedy and lose all senses. ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 11/07/2014 09:05:59    1617168

Well said brend.. totalky agree. And in other news, 200 girls still missing in Nigeria.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 11/07/2014 09:12:14    1617173

Things I learned from the Garth Brooks fiasco:
1. Garths concerts are like his children
2. Only the Taoiseach can sort out organising gigs
3. The residents believe Obama can resolve this
4. Owen Keegan is just doing his job, just like the way he did his job in Dun Laoghaire
5. You sell tickets for gigs without a license
6. The ships are still on their way
7. 350 people can prevent 400,000 going to a concert
8. Garth acknowledges councilors should uphold the law but there should always be someone above said councilors to say "you're wrong now break the law"
9. The Garth Brooks story is bigger than cabinet reshuffles which could have long lasting impacts on the country and potential war outbreaking on the Gaza strip
10. People sponsor other people to bring injunctions to court. Must see if there's any sympathetic rich people out there to give me a few bob next time I have one of 'those' nights in Coppers
11. The GAA and Aiken promotions didn't get greedy they're just very inefficient at organising concerts
12. A lot more people like Garth Brooks than I thought

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 11/07/2014 09:14:24    1617175

This drawn out affair has everyone fed up....its boring at this stage. Roll on Sunday and the Connacht and Munster finals.

What is depressing is there appears to be more uproar over all this than the bank bail out and debt we are now carrying and will carry for many many years.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11566 - 11/07/2014 09:28:19    1617181

Richieq

It is an observation not an allegation, and in no way does it tar all country people.

The fact you thought it did is strange.

I've lived in the vicinity of Croke Pk almost my entire life and I've seen people from all over the country behave in the most startling of manners, mainly down to drink.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 11/07/2014 09:30:20    1617183