The Garth Brooks Fiasco

So now the guy behind the injunction has stated that he received €15,000 from people he doesnt know to go forward with an injunction, and that he deeply regrets doing it and wants the concerts to go ahead... Anything to add to that snuf? This moral high ground you put the residents up on is sinking fast...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/07/2014 10:14:35    1616658

I want legislation passed immediately to ensure he does not play Croke Park.

I think Kenny should bow to popular music taste and ban him.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 10/07/2014 10:23:32    1616665

Residents is a plural word!......the right of any single citizen is enough in the eyes of the 'LAW'!!!!!

Again, some people are having difficulty understanding the 'LAW' and its absolute fundamental principles!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/07/2014 10:41:51    1616679

Soma irrespective of what is going be done with the money generated the decision to disregard an agreement with residents on the number of concerts was based solely on greed. This notion that it could possibly go towards doing up local housing is just more spin which I'm sure most people have never heard mentioned until now. In recent years all the talk is about maximising assets and other corporate blurb. One of the upsides of an organisation based on volunteers and amateurism should be that you are not always driven by the lure of more cash. If you give someone your word you stick by it or if you look for changes you get agreement before hand. Does anybody think that the GAA has come out of this with any credit or our organisation's reputation enhanced?

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 10/07/2014 10:48:33    1616682

Seems a bit shady to me master. He said he got the money from people north and south of Ireland??? The mayor on radio said this morning, he just showed up at City Hall looking to withdraw the injunction.

The whole episode is embarrassing for all at this stage. Talk of the US President getting involved is laughable.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11566 - 10/07/2014 10:54:36    1616685

Don't forget the suit as well Master. Farcical stuff

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 10/07/2014 10:58:47    1616691

Regarding that man who tried to get an injunction, I have very little sympathy to be honest, he had to have known the trouble he was getting himself into, but then again some people enjoy a bit of trouble (maybe not him, I don't know him personally). He has claimed that his family received death threats though, now that is completely wrong and any individuals caught threatening him or his family should be dealt with appropriately no matter how empty the threats and they usually are empty.

Here's the man himself:

http://www.independent.ie/videos/irish-news/im-the-loser-here-says-garth-brooks-injunction-man-30421387.html

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/07/2014 11:14:51    1616706

But Snuf, surely now questions have to be asked about the intentions of the other protestors and the number of people who were motivated to fight against the Garth Brooks concerts. I'm sure there is some genuine protestors in there who simply didn't want to be bullied around by the GAA and concert promoters who flagrantly ignored the law around obtaining licenses after tickets were sold, but, in the compensation culture that we live in today, I dare say that some of those protesting were doing so for the hope of some financial gain.

I notice that some of their spokesmen have quoted the law about the staging of events and that the majority were happy with 3 concerts not 5, but yet by all means and purposes the 3 events were already used up by the One Direction concerts. If they wanted to go by rule of law, surely their line in the sand was 0 concerts, not 3. The fact that they were potentially open to extending this to 4 yesterday when we were close to the end game tells me that these lads were making last ditch efforts to save face and still hope to get their palms greased. Also, had they been willing to accept 4 then it begs the question what difference would a 5th concert have made at that stage.

Although I agree with the residents protest in principal, I would be very wary of how true their intentions were. Their flip flopping on this issue have all the signs of a blackjack player wondering to hit or stick!!

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 10/07/2014 11:16:50    1616707

So Snaf the law is always right in this country with murders, rapists, dodgy politicians and corrupt bankers laughing at Irish law every day of the week.Why isn't this fiasco left to local interests and instead we have outsiders putting up 15 grand to help with objections-this seems like people with an anti GAA agenda working in the background.One other thing has anybody else noticed that the leaders of these residents groups are non Dubs while the pro concerts groups seem to be born and bred Dubs

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 10/07/2014 11:22:11    1616712

I suspect the master is one of the 400,000!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/07/2014 11:24:00    1616714

Jaysus Snuf, you were doing well until you brought the Vincent Browne show in to back up your arguement.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/07/2014 11:30:21    1616717

updwell
County: Limerick

Hillman have you something against line dancing or did you not get a ticket, do the calculations if all 5 go ahead and each person spends on average 100 euro that's 40 million at least but like you said the Yanks coming in and the European fans will probably bring their own sandwiches with them......good point

how can you possibly know somebody will spend 100 euro each in the croke park area?
most people will bring their own alcohol with them
bring their own food in the backpack too
if the country has 100 each to spend on a day out at concerts we wouldnt be in an economy problem as it is

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/07/2014 11:34:07    1616720

why on here are so many people looking for the gigs to go ahead anyway seen as from a gaa point of view it will
leave less than 24 hours to lay a new pitch before the august bank holiday weekend all ireland quarter finals
then the following weekend will see two football quarter finals on the saturday night and a senior and minor all ireland hurling
semi final on the sunday,no new pitch would be able to take all that so quick.
the current pitch I feel has been the best since it has been done up id like to see it kept

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/07/2014 11:38:58    1616722

valley84
County: Westmeath
But Garth Brooks plays both kinds of music.......Country AND Western!

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 10/07/2014 11:41:59    1616729

NavyNBlue

1616707 But Snuf, surely now questions have to be asked about the intentions of the other protestors and the number of people who were motivated to fight against the Garth Brooks concerts. I'm sure there is some genuine protestors in there who simply didn't want to be bullied around by the GAA and concert promoters who flagrantly ignored the law around obtaining licenses after tickets were sold, but, in the compensation culture that we live in today, I dare say that some of those protesting were doing so for the hope of some financial gain.

I notice that some of their spokesmen have quoted the law about the staging of events and that the majority were happy with 3 concerts not 5, but yet by all means and purposes the 3 events were already used up by the One Direction concerts. If they wanted to go by rule of law, surely their line in the sand was 0 concerts, not 3. The fact that they were potentially open to extending this to 4 yesterday when we were close to the end game tells me that these lads were making last ditch efforts to save face and still hope to get their palms greased. Also, had they been willing to accept 4 then it begs the question what difference would a 5th concert have made at that stage.
Although I agree with the residents protest in principal, I would be very wary of how true their intentions were. Their flip flopping on this issue have all the signs of a blackjack player wondering to hit or stick!!

The proposal of 4 four concerts was a compromise proposal at DCC. It was never proposed by or put to the residents. The simple truth is that there was an agreement in place and big business tried to shred it. Snuf is correct.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6180 - 10/07/2014 12:00:39    1616738

Listening to Snuf talking reminds me on listening to Iris Robinson up here - one uses the law and the other the bible but both try to pontificate.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 10/07/2014 12:26:26    1616753

Hmmm,
Been thinking a bit about this a bit. I have not read every post on this thread so it may have come up already, but what is the stance of the residents regarding replays of games?? I mean, if we had a repeat of the Dublin v Meath matches where it took 4 games to find a winner? And lets say it happened in hurling too, in the same year? Would the injunctions be flying then?
Would the games be cancelled? Would Garth intervene or maybe president Obama would step in to talk to the residents?
Just sayin like!!!

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 10/07/2014 12:55:22    1616772

10/07/2014 11:34:07
hill16no1man
how can you possibly know somebody will spend 100 euro each in the croke park area?
if the country has 100 each to spend on a day out at concerts we wouldnt be in an economy problem as it is
Using the same principles and forecasts economists use. Most people don't bring their own booze with them to concerts and their own food. People will go for dinner etc and have a few drinks so a couple who have 3/4 drinks each plus a dinner each is 70-80 at the minimum and then there is plenty of other costs that will add up to make 100 each. simple economics.. how hard is it for you to actually comprehend that?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 10/07/2014 13:02:06    1616778

Naysayer,

'Justice is blind'...hence the blindfold over her eyes! (Big business or weight of numbers does not hold more power over any single individual in her eyes)!
'Scales of Justice'...she holds a scales in balance to show that all are equal before the law and that she is 'fair and reasonable' to all!
'Sword in Hand'...she will defend the rights of 'ALL' (Big business, residents committees or one single INDIVIDUAL)!

I may indeed pontificate, but it is because often I feel talking to people on here that I have been cursed with a brain!
People need to be educated on what really matters, what educated, clued in, learned people talk about and not the mere trivial rubbish that they think this whole debacle is about like the 'economy' and hotel rooms!!!.....The economy and hotel rooms and international news = 'Trivial and of no significance' before the eyes of the 'LAW' so why bother thinking that it does unless you are a trivial person with no real understanding of the fundamental principles of civilised society!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/07/2014 13:18:56    1616792

10/07/2014 11:34:07 hill16no1man

Hill Its simple economics and common sense that on average people will spend that much.
Most people will not be bringing their own food and drink with them and €100 for a person is a meal, few drinks, plus some merchandise, parking etc.
Your last sentence is complete nonsense. Relating spending on a concert to not being in a poor economic climate

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 10/07/2014 13:25:08    1616798