The Garth Brooks Fiasco

I am not misinformed flaker - thats the legal technical jargon which has been used for the contract between the residents and the GAA. Yes technically 10 concerts in a row would constiute 1 event - then it is subject to DCC permission. Mulvey is correct, it is a tragedy for local and city businesses. A complete own goal but the city authorities.
Living by Corke Park means that on sporting or concert days your life is interrupted no doubt but like anything you make arrangements around it and it becomes a way of life for living near the stadium.

wwfan (Wicklow) - Posts: 108 - 09/07/2014 11:08:00    1616198

wwfan
County: Wicklow

I am not misinformed flaker - thats the legal technical jargon which has been used for the contract between the residents and the GAA. Yes technically 10 concerts in a row would constiute 1 event - then it is subject to DCC permission. Mulvey is correct, it is a tragedy for local and city businesses. A complete own goal but the city authorities.
Living by Corke Park means that on sporting or concert days your life is interrupted no doubt but like anything you make arrangements around it and it becomes a way of life for living near the stadium.

Jargon is right, in reality one concert is equal to one event, there is no doubt about it. And no it isn't a tragedy, it's a middle aged country singer who hasn't had a record in 20 years. Nobody died, move on.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8388 - 09/07/2014 11:14:29    1616203

there will be no hit to the local economy....
sure they all ate sandwiches and red lemonade from the back of a datsun sunny in Drumcondra when they come up !!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/07/2014 11:14:49    1616204

Should never have gone as far as petitions if Croker honoured 'their own agreement' with the residents in the first place!
Should never have been talk of even 3 or 1 gig being held if Croker had honoured 'their own agreement' with Croker in the first place!

It is only those who are DISHONOURABLE who renege on their 'agreements' and whether it is legally binding or not is neither here nor there! That is the cowards way of getting out of an 'agreement of honour' in giving your word!

For the last few years in this country we have seen the devestation of:
- disregard for regulations.....yet now we have 5 'unprecedented' gigs promoted without a licence
- govt officials and regulators not doing their job properly and protecting its citizens......yet now we have a council being lambasted for doing just that and trying to be 'fair and reasonable' to ALL its citizens
- the greed of 'money over core human values'......yet here are some people again wanting to go back to the time a few years ago of money being used to trample over peoples rights and buy just about whatever it wants and to hell with anyone who disagrees!

For all those of you out there who think that big money should be allowed to 'buy' its way through democracy and peoples rights and overturn agreements made with residents in good faith...............'YOU HAVE NO HONOUR'!!!!..............and you have no idea that this is about local government being seen to 'get its principles right' for its citizens when it comes to 'fairness' and money (for once) does not come into it!
Dont you get it?.......At least now, at last I can look at DCC and say: "Well at least they were fair and reasonable to ALL citizens and didnt just buckle under the pressure of money and big business!!

Dont you get it?.......(Local) Govt being seen to be making decisions for the people and not for the money!!!....Wake up!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/07/2014 11:16:37    1616208

You think the residents noticed the big structure when they moved in and wondered what went on there? Occasionally it gets used.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 09/07/2014 11:20:13    1616211

Won't feel as bad next time I am down and need to water their hedges for them - thon red lemonade surely fills up the aul bladder fierce quick.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/07/2014 11:24:08    1616214

Dont you get it?.......(Local) Govt being seen to be making decisions for the people and not for the money!!!....Wake up!

Not sure I agree with that Snuf. If the (Local) Government were making decisions for the people and not for the money then why did they agree to license 3 of the 5 concerts if 3 events had already taken place. Surely in this scenario they would have said No to any concert. I think that they thought they liked the look of the cake but wanted to appease those who reside in the vicinity so thought they would take a decent size slice of the cake but not it all as they would then look greedy. What they didn't expect was for yer man with the hat to say actually I don't fancy doing any of your concerts and them being left in the situation we're now in. Why else did the DCC then back a motion on Monday to have all 5 concerts? Surely if they were so caring of the people/residents they would have stuck by their decision of 3 only but it is obvious money is the driving factor and not love of the people.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/07/2014 11:38:23    1616223

Tim_Burr
County: Down

1616173 With all that has happened in Ireland in the last decade (no need to elaborate) the masses rise up over a decidely average american country singer - beggars belief to be honest.

Personally I couldnt care less and I know its only those from tyrone in the north who care about this stuff, the rest of us civilised people are more than happy he isnt coming - time to move on lads
That would be sad if it weren't true Tim, and yes Tyrone is a hotbed of C & W in the north, much as it shames me to admit it. The age profile of the average Garth Brooks fan in the county is disturbingly low, and equally amongst both sexes. After Brooks' first concerts back in the 90's, I overhead a conversation in a pub once between a group of lads in their late teens who had just been to one, still buzzing it would seem, talking about how great it would be for Garth Brooks to do a joint tour and duet with Shania Twain, it was that scary!

Brend I was taking the ur*** to an extent and yes we have GB fans in the Mourne County but the amount of people I work with from the red hand county that are into this stuff is quite scary - my heart goes out to you

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 09/07/2014 11:50:35    1616228

Mr Castleknock is the same person who is at his lark over Casement too. Not hard to find out who this individual is. Seems he has been at this in a number of places

srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 09/07/2014 11:52:27    1616230

I agree with snuff to a degree, government should have no input to force these concerts through, law is the law. I do think though the local objection groups, played a few dirty tricks here. It is a shame tho for 400k people and the city of Dublin in general who will miss out on the concerts.

theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 09/07/2014 12:01:38    1616234

Tim_Burr
County: Down

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 09/07/2014 12:08:18    1616240

I'm continuously seeing this "DON'T BLAME THE RESIDENTS" statement heading some posts.

Right ok, lets pose the question. If no resident objected would this ever have been an issue?

This is both a unique and serious situation for Ireland. These events would have created jobs for the week in security, extra hospitality staff, stewards and clean up etc. It was worth 50 millions to the Dublin economy. 25% percent of tickets were sold abroad and 50% outside of Dublin. Point is when the chips are this high the smallest player gets burned.

All 5 should have gone ahead.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 09/07/2014 12:15:31    1616249

Liamwalkinstown

there will be no hit to the local economy....
sure they all ate sandwiches and red lemonade from the back of a datsun sunny in Drumcondra when they come up !!

Do you know how much I was offered for my Datsun Sunny...

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 09/07/2014 12:20:10    1616256

all this economy stuff its b.s.
nobody is losing money at all
that 50 million (how they know that exact igure anyway is ridiculous) hasnt been spent anywhere
therefore its 50 million they MIGHT have made, there not losing it as they never had it
so the main thing from the oublic outcry it seems after all this is said and done is
its ok to have rules and we should implement them unless it means the economy makes money therefore we overlook rules and
whats right to make money. hmmmmmmmmmm that seems very democratic.
what do these same people think about ladies of the night
they gotta make a living too

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/07/2014 12:40:07    1616270

srb

Mr Castleknock is the same person who is at his lark over Casement too. Not hard to find out who this individual is. Seems he has been at this in a number of places

He may be the same man who objected and won a case at Knock Airport a number of years ago in regards a building. The planning laws are daft that someone from another area can object to a building project/concert etc.

I had a quick peak at some forums on foreign news sites and needless to say those with flights etc booked ain't happy, saying thy will never come to Ireland.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11566 - 09/07/2014 12:51:35    1616282

all this economy stuff its b.s.
nobody is losing money at all
that 50 million (how they know that exact igure anyway is ridiculous) hasnt been spent anywhere

What about those businesses etc who may have already made plans for the 5 day Country fest and may have filled up their stores etc ready for the extra demand on services these days? What about the staff who would have been already hired/employed for this event? See, unlike the DCC/Planners or whoever, most sensible businesses plan more than a week or two in advance of a big event and will have spent money already in anticipation of getting it back come the end of the month. Or the guy selling the stetsons or other Brooks related guff - they have already planned ahead and bought the 40,000 hats or similar and its going to take a lot of non-C&W events to get rid of those sparkly hats and probably never a chance of getting rid of the Brooks Ireland 2014 t-shirts, headbands, knickers etc.

All of these are direct financial losses to somebody.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/07/2014 12:58:30    1616289

hill16no1man

whats right to make money. hmmmmmmmmmm that seems very democratic.

Minority of residents overruling the majority of residents seems very undemocratic. Perhaps the local businesses etc should put up a sign on their premises informing people that they are ant-GAA so people coming to Croke Park can make a choice to give them custom or not, fairs fair.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 09/07/2014 12:58:35    1616290

Jaysus snuf, that's some rant, I hope you feel better now, keep an eye on the blood pressure, it may get worse for the Dubs on the 20th! Thought your line ago the last few years was hilarious, as far back as I can remember (early 70's), brown paper bags have been changing hands in this country when you need things done. We have a long and proud tradition of over complicating the simple stuff while the likes of the bondholders get to walk away with billions of our money. The fault in this case clearly lies with DCC and the county manager. Aitken promotions/Croker are in it for the money and if they thought there was going to be this much aggro over it, they probably wouldn't have put the gigs on in the first place. Not that any of it matters now, as Ollie would say "Stanley, that's another fine mess!"

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 486 - 09/07/2014 13:05:43    1616294

Sorry SNUF but your wrong. The 'residents' etc are not all against as you make out. Many were for the concerts, but at the beginning the loudest voices were the ones against (as usual).

There is no unified residents group and again it can be seen here! Already posted here about a mate who is a resident stating that the protests of some started out as part of a leveraged negotiation.

Your foolish belief that this is about Local Gouv etc standing up for the people is sadly mis-placed.

Blame ALL round in EQUAL proportions.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 09/07/2014 13:09:58    1616298

Offside_Rule

3 concerts were still approved which would have still accommodated a huge amount of people and created a lot of business

Unfortunately Brooks and co pulled the plug.

5 nights in a row was flipping ridiculous, correct decision to stage it over 3 nights...

Pity that it wasn't just left at 3 concerts... but money took over...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/07/2014 13:11:23    1616300