It wouldn't matter a damn how many residents wanted the concerts to go ahead. All it would take would be one to have them stopped.
There is a legally binding agreement which limits the number of concerts that can be held each year in Croke Park & he One Direction + Garth Brooks shows would have been way in excess of that agreed number.
Just one person taking a case would be enough to have the courts uphold that agreement, which is proper order.
Talk about first world problems!!!!!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/07/2014 09:29:44
The thing is that the tickets were sold in January. The application for a licence was first submitted in April. Why did it take so long or was this delay deliberate knowing that the licence would be turned down but expecting that the public outcry would get the result they wanted?
While I can see the arguments for both sides the big issue is that the promoters and the GAA decided that they would add two extra dates knowing that the agreement was for three nights only. They didn't set out to negotiate with the residents when they first added the extra dates - they waited until all tickets were sold and then applied the pressure about the 'poor fans', the loss of revenue to the economy, the affect on Ireland's reputation, the 'poor publicans' etc, etc. Now the politicians are jumping on the bandwagon as it influences votes. This is nothing short of bullying and close to blackmail.
Why will Brooks now accept nothing less than 5 nights - they were happy to accept 3 when first floated? Or was the expectation always 5 with the 3 only floated as it was the limit of the agreement?
But why would they try to do everything above board - they've seen it work for decades. From Ahern to the GAA Sky deal - just bluff and bully your way through and you'll get the result you want - 'banana republic' is right.
But it didn't work this time - maybe they'll learn the correct process for next time but I wouldn't hold out any great hope while O'Neill & Duffy are at the helm. Remember their blaming RTE for the outcry of GAA members against the Sky deal - again the deflection to show the bullies as the victims. They make Delaney over at the FAI look almost competent.
opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 539 - 09/07/2014 09:43:49
Looks like Gareth Brooks has found out that its hard to get to Croke park - Just because you have new boots and have been practising hard doesnt mean you make it.
StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 09/07/2014 09:44:30
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2794
It wouldn't matter a damn how many residents wanted the concerts to go ahead. All it would take would be one to have them stopped.
There is a legally binding agreement which limits the number of concerts that can be held each year in Croke Park & he One Direction + Garth Brooks shows would have been way in excess of that agreed number.
Just one person taking a case would be enough to have the courts uphold that agreement, which is proper order.
Talk about first world problems!!!!!!!
Bang on there! We moaned for years about the planning authorities ignoring the laws and then when they are followed we moan because it suits us to ignore them this time. Sit down with the residents and come up with a new agreement for 6 or 10 concerts per year, and stick to it, otherwise tough luck.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 09/07/2014 09:45:12
Delighted!!!!!! All I can do is repost my comments from a few days ago! And anyone who harps on about 'but what about the poor ol economy' really has no idea about the deeper and more fundamental issues behind the refusal of the concerts which are set out below for peoples education on basic fundamentals of a fair and democratic society: -----------------------------------------------------------------
Had these concerts gone ahead the biggest losers would have been:
The rule of LAW! (The right to 'Quiet Comfort') Enough is enough for the locals! Its a SPORTS VENUE, not a theatre!! Honour and Integrity! (The GAA breaking its own agreement by 200% with the locals because of GAA greed)! Democracy! (The City Council considers such applications for licences on behalf or the citizens of Dublin City based on what is """fair and reasonable""" for all citizens of the City). At a time of politics in this country being in the gutter - big money business must not and can not anymore be allowed to win the day over Dublin City Citizens!!!
Why can people not see the above which are crystal clear?! How silly to think it has anything to do with the music or the singer!! How silly to think this has anything to do with money for the economy......'rights and righteous' do not and should not have a monetary value!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/07/2014 10:02:09
Happy enough that the concerts aren't going ahead but one thing annoys me.
Has anyone actually seen the "legally binding contract" that limits the GAA to 3 concerts?
There is none afaik.
3 is the recommended number under the original planning applications for the redevelopment of Croke Pk.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 09/07/2014 10:09:47
Some media outlets reported that one of the objectors was a resident in Castleknock....madness
Aye heard there may be a bit of tomfoolery going on with the official objections which were received and when some people whose names appeared on the objection letters/forms were contacted they said they didn't put their name to anything - and some were living 3 miles away. But some local politician (or council person or the likes) came out and said that the people around Croke Park and Clonliffe Rd were honest and wouldn't do this. Anyway, its in the hands on the Garda to investigate now so should be interesting to hear the outcome. The long term repercussions could be damaging for the locals.
As an aside, would be interesting to see a break down of those who are in the residents group who objected i.e. how many are home owners, how long have they been in the area etc. And then do a similar comparison to the 900 odd who marched around Croke Park in support (and others who are in favour).
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/07/2014 10:23:45
Delighted!!!!!! All I can do is repost my comments from a few days ago! And anyone who harps on about 'but what about the poor ol economy' really has no idea about the deeper and more fundamental issues behind the refusal of the concerts which are set out below for peoples education on basic fundamentals of a fair and democratic society: -----------------------------------------------------------------
Had these concerts gone ahead the biggest losers would have been:
The rule of LAW! (The right to 'Quiet Comfort') Enough is enough for the locals! Its a SPORTS VENUE, not a theatre!! Honour and Integrity! (The GAA breaking its own agreement by 200% with the locals because of GAA greed)! Democracy! (The City Council considers such applications for licences on behalf or the citizens of Dublin City based on what is """fair and reasonable""" for all citizens of the City). At a time of politics in this country being in the gutter - big money business must not and can not anymore be allowed to win the day over Dublin City Citizens!!!
Why can people not see the above which are crystal clear?! How silly to think it has anything to do with the music or the singer!! How silly to think this has anything to do with money for the economy......'rights and righteous' do not and should not have a monetary value!
Rule of Law, Honour & Integrity and Democracy!!!!!! Yes false signatures on a petition highlight all of those virtues don't they, and how silly or downright ignorant of the facts do you have to be to see the loss this has to the economy now and in the future, like it or not our reputation has been damaged by this and now in the last few days we see that the residents who opposed all this are clearly, clearly in the minority. I don't need a lecture from you on the basics of a fair and democratic society, in fact everything to do with this farce has been the total opposite to fair and democratic but seeing as that fact doesn't suit your point of view I accept you wouldn't acknowledge that
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 09/07/2014 10:24:09
It's all to easy for people to fragment and apportion blame on the respective parties involved with the Garth Brooks botched gigs. I could blame the Residents. Somebody else blames the promoter. Somebody else blames DCC. That's a very selfish stance to take and is typical of the ' my hen my egg' mentality that's inherent in the Irish psyche. Where has it got us?? The fact is everyone involved should take a bit responsibility for this as they have all played a part. There is an overriding theme to all this that people have tended to forget about very quickly and that's the social lift it would have given to 400k people looking forward to these shows. The country has been through a terrible few years and people need an outlet. There will have people all around the country looking forward to a few hours where they can have a break from the stresses of daily life and enjoy a few songs. Some might be suffering from ill health and may not see another show. Time for people to be less selfish in society and consider the greater good of the man or woman beside them.
Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 09/07/2014 10:32:22
Paper toy Brazil were offered gob tickets in croker as part of a World Cup winning package. Would explain their performance last nite.
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 09/07/2014 10:34:45
*apparently
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 09/07/2014 10:35:55
There is no legally binding agreement in place for concerts or anything else in Croker. At the moment, Croker can put on 3 gigs a year without applying for a licence, already had them with the One-Direction gigs. Anything after that requires a licence. The fact is we have a ridiculous system where you can advertise and sell tickets to something which hasn't been granted permission to go ahead. You hear and see adverts for gigs all the time with the "Subject to licence" thrown in at the end. In this case, 5 gigs in a row is takin' the piss, said so at the time to herself as she ran out and bought tickets to gig#4. From my looking at it, I would blame Dublin City Council as they should have shot the 5 in a row down at the very start and limited it to a max of 3. Also the county manager is well known for this type of behaviour i.e. failure to do anything and then pull the plug on projects is common knowledge around the city.
moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 486 - 09/07/2014 10:37:10
Whatever about the number of concerts at Croker in the year, I personally think it should be 100+, Croker would want to step it up with their selection of acts.
Surely having One Erection and Garth Brooks all in the same year is illegal in itself nevermind some farcical agreement that none of us have ever seen.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/07/2014 10:38:10
With all that has happened in Ireland in the last decade (no need to elaborate) the masses rise up over a decidely average american country singer - beggars belief to be honest.
Personally I couldnt care less and I know its only those from tyrone in the north who care about this stuff, the rest of us civilised people are more than happy he isnt coming - time to move on lads
Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 09/07/2014 10:40:57
Tim_Burr County: Down Posts: 301
1616173 With all that has happened in Ireland in the last decade (no need to elaborate) the masses rise up over a decidely average american country singer - beggars belief to be honest.
Personally I couldnt care less and I know its only those from tyrone in the north who care about this stuff, the rest of us civilised people are more than happy he isnt coming - time to move on lads
Funny post and also a good point, tip of the hat to you sir. Garth loves Ireland apparently, yawn.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 09/07/2014 10:44:31
The contract ststes 3 EVENTS (not 3 concerts). The One Direction weekend is termed as 1 event, the Garth Brooks gigs are termed as 1 event. That is why the GAA and Aiken Promotions went ahead as they did not break the terms of the contract with the residents. I live in the vicinity of Croke Park - the fact of life is I live beside a big stadium so you take what comes by living beside it. It is a modern day stadium and there is very little trouble with any event in the area - plus sporting and music events are always policed and stewarded so well the area is cleared after an hour. When you hear a fair minded indivdual like Kieran Mulvey decrying this decision you know who is in the wrong here.
wwfan (Wicklow) - Posts: 108 - 09/07/2014 10:51:01
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 7530
1616141 Happy enough that the concerts aren't going ahead but one thing annoys me.
Has anyone actually seen the "legally binding contract" that limits the GAA to 3 concerts?
There is none afaik.
3 is the recommended number under the original planning applications for the redevelopment of Croke Pk.
Yeah it's gas! Everyone's an expert!
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 09/07/2014 10:55:13
Tim_Burr County: Down Posts: 301
1616173 With all that has happened in Ireland in the last decade (no need to elaborate) the masses rise up over a decidely average american country singer - beggars belief to be honest.
Personally I couldnt care less and I know its only those from tyrone in the north who care about this stuff, the rest of us civilised people are more than happy he isnt coming - time to move on lads ______________________ That would be sad if it weren't true Tim, and yes Tyrone is a hotbed of C & W in the north, much as it shames me to admit it. The age profile of the average Garth Brooks fan in the county is disturbingly low, and equally amongst both sexes. After Brooks' first concerts back in the 90's, I overhead a conversation in a pub once between a group of lads in their late teens who had just been to one, still buzzing it would seem, talking about how great it would be for Garth Brooks to do a joint tour and duet with Shania Twain, it was that scary!
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 09/07/2014 10:55:53
wwfan County: Wicklow Posts: 102
1616182 The contract ststes 3 EVENTS (not 3 concerts). The One Direction weekend is termed as 1 event, the Garth Brooks gigs are termed as 1 event. That is why the GAA and Aiken Promotions went ahead as they did not break the terms of the contract with the residents. I live in the vicinity of Croke Park - the fact of life is I live beside a big stadium so you take what comes by living beside it. It is a modern day stadium and there is very little trouble with any event in the area - plus sporting and music events are always policed and stewarded so well the area is cleared after an hour. When you hear a fair minded indivdual like Kieran Mulvey decrying this decision you know who is in the wrong here.
I think you are mis informed there, so if they held 3 events in a year that sold out 10 nights in a row those 30 concerts would be classed as 3 events? Where did you get that info from? And Kieran Mulvey a fair minded individual? He described is as a tragedy? Give me strength, a tragedy?
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 09/07/2014 10:58:59
One more point the same DCC chairman who has pulled the plug on €50 million revenue for the businesses in the city of Dublin will be same man who will be slapping rates increases on these same businesses come year end.
wwfan (Wicklow) - Posts: 108 - 09/07/2014 11:00:39