Right decision by brooks. Unfair that 160000 lose out on the basis of pick and choosing days. I think brooks levelling the playing field for all ticket holders
TheFullBack (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 08/07/2014 18:16:39
Tom 1916.Very true you have hit the nail on the (Turnip) head.
dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 08/07/2014 18:17:04
Naysayer
The GAA have a lot to answer for by going ahead and organizing the concerts when an agreement was in place regarding how many concerts could be held.
Ye but I thought the agreement was that the Gaa can hold 3 concerts a year no questions asked and any additional concerts were then subject to approval, but they weren't actually limited to 3 and that's it. I could be wrong but I thought that was the arrangement, maybe someone can clear that up?
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/07/2014 18:18:58
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 7995
1615953 muckla
your first line says it all man your reading the papers and taking everything they say as truth come on papers dont refuse ink. no they shouldnt hang their heads at all and your main problem here is MONEY being lost for the country money should not come into this over rules and doing the right thing its great to see people been put before money. 2013 gathering was money making gimic that was revealed in the press as just that the queen of britain visit cost the country millions and the attitude and timing was a disgrace when she was up the road at the garden of remberance the same day as the anniversary of the dublin monaghan bombings and our government showed no respect for the familys and friends who were gathered on talbot street a mile down the road. finally you talk of that are being disadvantaged , do you really think the money made by buisnesses and governement would find its way to those living in that area you must be on cloud nine man,look at the money croke park rakes in since it was revamped sure if it made its way to them people they wouldnt be disadvantaged at this stage now would they.
Papers/RTE news/hoganstand whats the difference without the media we would not be able to hear about these stories that is what I meant, I know the Rags will print anything but Im going on the information available to me from the most reliable sources I can get. Who is to say that you are telling the truth or not.
And It is not about the money it is about the image of the country. People in the US still think we are in the days of the Quiet Man film and events like this will not help that mindset change.
Its also about the jobs and money that croke park bring to the local economy in that part of Dublin. I would love to have an organisation like the GAA HQ in my home town to bring more jobs into the local economy. The GAA made a profit of €51M last year and pumped 80% of it back into the communities so money does not come into it.
We cant be seen to be a bunch of people who couldnt run a sweet shop.
Is Peter McKenna the man who runs croke park not from Dublin so I dont know what you are saying about these boys going home to their own counties. I don't think Duffy was the man who has turned the finances of the GAA he is a teacher and not a business man. The boys running croker are all from that end of the country and are professionals.
From the sake of 5 nights the residents who protested against this may never see another concert in croke park again which means the locals employed in croker will lose their jobs that is my point.
muckla (UK) - Posts: 370 - 08/07/2014 18:19:13
the master And it isn't the rest of the country who get free tickets to every gig and match in the ground and €500,000 for their community. The fact is they could have gotten it in writing that it wouldn't happen in future and let it go ahead - i.e. a reasonable thing to do.
free tickets to what exactly haha you think they get free tickets to the all ireland ? you think if they gave them all free tickets then the concerts would be full without selling a ticket absolutly talking rubbish there man 500 thousand hat works out at around 20 euro a household haha a great boost to them they already had an agreement that it wasnt to go ahead that only 3 non gaa events a year so why would they let this one go and then ask for the same agreement?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2014 18:24:41
the master
Listen, yes they are because they were unreasonable. They are not solely responsible, but they have a share in the blame. And if you consider the apparent fraud going on in the complaints process then not only are they to blame, but they broke the law - assuming that is fully proven of course.
the only fraud is the media reporting on the residents being in favour of the gigs becuase about 10-15 of them stood at bottom of clonliffe road making a bit of noise on sunday most likely they were all from the local buisnesses and people who had tickets already for the gigs
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2014 18:26:40
the master
I can understand that they were annoyed and let down, that is a given. But to the point of costing the country millions and tarnishing the reputation of not only the country, but the biggest and best venue in the country? Was going to visit a relation for 2 nights while the concert went ahead really that much of an issue for them? I don't think so.
ah here now you want them to leave there homes while th concerts are on you got be kidding man and leave the house free with 80 thousand people more than likely drunk passing by their empty houses each night would you want to do that who cares about the money it should not come before whats right and wrong you have rules for a reason if because enough money is there the rules dissapear then thats not a democracy at all
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2014 18:29:49
tom1916
But the vast majority of residents support the GAA and all 5 concerts going ahead, I think you're perhaps a bit mixed up, what you meant to say was you are delighted as you support a tiny minority of anti-GAA residents.
thats not true at all! the media have blown a tiny protest in favour of brookes concerts way out of proportion there was 10-15 of them on clonliffe road on sunday thats not the majority and most of them people would have had tickets for the gigs or worked in the local buisnesses they are not anti gaa in that are the fact is the gaa have been very disrespectful to the local residents for a few years now over local issues mainly the community centre and then they agreed only 3 non gaa events and they were getting away with four but what did they do throw 5 more nights at them thats totaly unfair by croke park officals
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2014 18:36:12
With all the hoopla over Brooks and the 50 million that has left the country. It is a pity half these people did not make as much a song and a dance over the 64BILLION that was used for the banks and bond holders. Shows where people in this country's brains are really.
Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 08/07/2014 18:45:45
Htaem County: Meath Posts: 5487
1615983 Naysayer
The GAA have a lot to answer for by going ahead and organizing the concerts when an agreement was in place regarding how many concerts could be held.
Ye but I thought the agreement was that the Gaa can hold 3 concerts a year no questions asked and any additional concerts were then subject to approval, but they weren't actually limited to 3 and that's it. I could be wrong but I thought that was the arrangement, maybe someone can clear that up?
Htaem thanks for that view and that would certainly make things different in my view if that is the agreement.
For me Croke Park should be used as often as possible for as many events as possible within the limits of not compromising the playing surface or the staging of Gaelic games. I think its use should be maxed out and the funds raised continue to be distributed around the country.
Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 08/07/2014 18:54:17
tom1916
thats not true there was only between 10-15 protesting in favour of brookes 5 minghts going ahead on the bottom of clonliffe road on sunday and they were more then likely ones with tickets or part of the local buisnesses the media are blowing this up to something it is not the vast majority of the residents refused to be bullied and stood up against the injutices being placed on them
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2014 18:54:44
I can't wait until this is old news. If I hear another person mention the banks, bondholders and Garth Brooks in the same sentence I might bang my head off the wall. 3 concerts per year, that is all, goodnight.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 08/07/2014 18:59:27
Ah well...
Pity that at least 3 of the concerts couldn't go ahead
BUT Brooks & co would have already invested millions, purposely built stage arriving by boat... think of the various costs attached to such
It's an expensive business.. Brooks & co probably increased their staging budget to accommodate for 5 concerts
There was probably profit to be made at 5 concerts
NOT 3... hence no more concerts.
Wise up folks, it's not about him sticking to his word.
They invested big, tried to protect their projected profits based on 5 concerts by threatening to pull out altogether but really they were just getting their excuses in early, because this is a business decision
Hopefully the GAA have finally learned their lesson
Because they have been made to look foolish because of years of mismanagement with the local residents
And now... it's cost them millions
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/07/2014 18:59:45
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 8002
1616002 tom1916
thats not true
I got my figures from the residents petitions (both pro and anti-GAA) handed to Dublin City Council not from the numbers protesting on Clonliffe Road. The figures show that the anti-GAA residents were outnumbered nearly 4 - 1.
Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 08/07/2014 19:03:02
This whole thing was farcical from the very beginning.
I have the utmost sympathy for the 400,000 fans of Garth Brooks who miss out on seeing him perform live. Hopefully every single one of those fans get their money back. For those travelling from over-seas, Hopefully not all of them will cancel their flights/hotels and still come over for the duration of their booked stay and at least try and enjoy some of our hospitality which in my opinion is still very good.
This scenario has covered nobody in glory. From the organisers/promoters, Garth Brooks himself, The GAA, Croke park and the residents committee. Everyone has blame attatched to them. What i will say however is that all events in any stadia around the world are subject to license, So with that in mind there is always a chance that these kind of things can happen.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 08/07/2014 19:12:43
Well do we the ordinary members of the GAA start to question who these unelected people are who are running our organisation. I have a long list of grievances about the way my organisation has gone and this has put the tin hat on it. These well paid officials have made a complete dogs dinner of the cocerts. A friend of mine who lives beside Croke Park has told me stories about the arrogance of some of these people. It is time the ordinary members of our great Association took Croke Park back from these demie-gods. It is our Stadium!! It is our Association !!
BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 08/07/2014 19:14:12
Flaker- Banks,Bondholders,Garth Brooks!Go easy on that wall now pal.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/07/2014 19:20:58
I wonder what all this means for the Croke Park villas scheme, which the GAA had committed to spending €11 million on to try and improve the local area. I would suggest that there would be a lot of clubs who would gratefully receive this money, rather than spending it around the Croke Park area.
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/07/2014 19:21:52
Naysayer
Well apparently the Gaa did agree back in 2009 to only hold 3 concerts per year but that dated back to a decision made by An Bord Pleanala way back in 1992, so surely that itself needs to be reviewed.
I agree with you to a degree in that I think Croker should be used a lot more for concerts because of the revenue it can generate for our economy but a new arrangement should be drawn up with the residents.
Either way this a mess that should never be allowed to happen again, I think 5 was always too many, 3 would have been fine so Aiken and the Gaa have to take a large portion of blame for that. But equally I'd love to know what the majority of residents actually thought of the 5 nights, I'd hate to think that only a small percentage were able to cancel a massive event like this.
Here's a link to the agreement according to a journalist:
http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/music-news/croker-locals-reject-500k-garth-brooks-legacy-offer-30391457.html
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/07/2014 19:24:23
From a football and hurling point of view its a great decision as the pitch was due to be taken up and a whole new pitch meant to be relayed less than 24 hours before the all Ireland quarter finals on the bank holiday weekend
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2014 19:36:31