Parnells

I don't see anything wrong with outside players coming in. I do see an issue with clubs chasing guys, yano getting the info their moving to wherever and making it their business to track them down. I don't think it should be a fault of the players either. It doesn't suit all players to remain with their clubs back home and you can't exactly turn a guy away who expresses an interest in playing for you either.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 02/07/2014 13:50:55    1612635

Dont think anyone is blaming the players crossfield ball.

More the club itself. I dont think what they are doing is right, There are young lads who aspire to play club football at senior level for Parnells but sure what hope have they got if Parnells are just going to keep on bringing in Inter-county players from all over the country. Parnells are one of the only sides who do this with such regularity. Its something that doesnt sit right with me, And it doesnt sit right with Stephen Cluxton which is one of the main reason why he is choosing to not play for the senior team.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/07/2014 14:02:24    1612649

I lived in Dublin for years but never once did it cross my mind to join a club there. I did play a couple of junior matches which might not have been strictly legal though!

I think it's a case of a fool and his money are soon parted. To me, from the outside it looks as though the people running the club need to take a long hard look at themselves and if they can honestly say the great ethos of the GAA is at the heart of their thinking or not.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9771 - 02/07/2014 14:07:58    1612654

I agree with you Waynol,

Its not right but at the same time if a player moves into that area we can't be stooped playing for that club.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 02/07/2014 14:28:13    1612662

Wayne, Cluxton is playing senior club football with Begley Rooney Mortimer etc the last ten years , do you honestly believe after playing with them all that time he now has the hump about outsiders playing?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2014 14:38:01    1612667

crossfieldball,

I think you are picking it up wrong!

We are a friendly lot here in the clubs in Dublin and dont turn anyone away who comes to us to play ball.....'Free Country'!!!

The gripe is this:
The clubs who look to 'sign' a player with or without 'honeying the pot' for them!
The players who look for a 'honeyed pot' ONLY and wouldnt consider the poor aul club just beside the gaudy bejeweled pimp club even though it is probably a lot closer to him!

My own club has a small few 'outsiders' on the senior team, just regular lads playing ball like everyone else!.....Grand!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 02/07/2014 14:46:56    1612673

Snufalufagus

crossfieldball,

I think you are picking it up wrong!

We are a friendly lot here in the clubs in Dublin and dont turn anyone away who comes to us to play ball.....'Free Country'!!!

The gripe is this:
The clubs who look to 'sign' a player with or without 'honeying the pot' for them!
The players who look for a 'honeyed pot' ONLY and wouldnt consider the poor aul club just beside the gaudy bejeweled pimp club even though it is probably a lot closer to him!

My own club has a small few 'outsiders' on the senior team, just regular lads playing ball like everyone else!.....Grand!!

I agree with everything your saying here Snufalufagus, .

A Club offering any kind of Incentive to attract a player is wrong, likewise players shouldn't be allowed to sign for clubs because of Incentives.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 02/07/2014 15:40:22    1612692

Dublin is Cluxton's club :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 02/07/2014 16:40:52    1612724

GaryMc82
County: Derry

I agree with everything your saying here Snufalufagus, .

A Club offering any kind of Incentive to attract a player is wrong, likewise players shouldn't be allowed to sign for clubs because of Incentives

Knowing it is one thing and proving it is another.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 02/07/2014 17:33:47    1612758

If Cluxton doesn't play for the Parnells senior team then who was the guy stood in goals in Parnell Park last year when Parnells were playing St. Judes in a quarter-final?

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 02/07/2014 17:40:11    1612764

It isnt just Dublin that "carry on" happens, i know one former intercounty player looked well after, on his own admission, when he switched clubs, in another country, its all cloaks and daggers

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 02/07/2014 17:45:50    1612771

02/07/2014 17:40:11
Former_Poster

If Cluxton doesn't play for the Parnells senior team then who was the guy stood in goals in Parnell Park last year when Parnells were playing St. Judes in a quarter-final?

Cluxton played senior last year and intermediate this season

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 02/07/2014 18:00:30    1612780

There both as bad as each other
Parnell's and the country guys
You cannot say that guys who are going to a club who achieve no success and go just for money or cars are not to blame as Parnell's wouldn't have them unless these guys wanted that too

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/07/2014 18:10:13    1612785

Gael85

02/07/2014 17:40:11
Former_Poster

Cluxton played senior last year and intermediate this season

I don't think he was regraded (by county board) and didn't play club championship this year. He is playing Div 4 league, when available.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 02/07/2014 18:13:45    1612788

Former_Poster

"Last year" being the key words there.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 02/07/2014 18:51:12    1612817

My admiration for Clxton has gone up in leaps & bounds. It takes a very special kind of person to do what he has done & I applaud him for it.
Big money & the GAA have always been uneasy bedfellows & tears has usually been the result.
Where stands volunteerism & "the love of the game" when all this is going on.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/07/2014 19:50:24    1612861

They're not the only ones at it though.

Why did Emlyn Mulligan transfer to St Brigids when he works in Longford?
Why did Enda Ledwith join Na Fianna when he was living in Swords?
How many of these Parnells imports live in Coolock or Kilmore?

Its been going on for years and unless someone says "stop" they'll continue.
It didn't do Na Fianna any favours but at least they won something - how much more will Parnells spend on the pursuit of the Championship?

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 02/07/2014 20:12:33    1612878

Most Dublin suburb counties have a hint of these mainly through re rooting and job changes-Moorfield in Kildare with Jack O'Connor sons are an example.
Also Pats and Bray in Wicklow would have a few "outsiders"

I'd have more respect for outsiders than other cases of big clubs taking best players from smaller clubs in same county. Eamonn Fennell scenarios, Donie Kingston and numerous Blessington players in Wicklow.

HomerJay (Wicklow) - Posts: 369 - 02/07/2014 20:22:42    1612884

Whatever about the players who you would imagine are at least working in Dublin, McDermott is some mercenary commuting from Clare. His milage expenses must be absurd. You wouldnt mind if he was having any success. I seem to recall he touted himself around for every job going after Clare got rid of him. What has he ever won bar a Clare club title?.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 432 - 02/07/2014 20:55:24    1612903