Parnells

Joe Brolly wrote about this club in Dublin recently. What is the big attraction with them? They have several current and former county players on their panel. Surely this isn't good for the community spirit associated with most GAA clubs. I know that in Dublin it's a bit different what with people living there for work and all. But other Dublin clubs would field mostly born and bred Dubs on their teams wouldn't I be right in saying?

On the other hand the Parnells hurling team are apparently the polar opposite. Tremendous underage work has led them challenging at senior level now and all with young players from the area. Would there be rivalry and even resentment towards the "blow-in" footballers?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9772 - 02/07/2014 11:13:07    1612506

It is all about money....

They have too much of it after selling land a while back.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4262 - 02/07/2014 11:32:44    1612527

Parnells are a disgrace.

Stephen Cluxton is a man from the Parnells area, playing for the club all his GAA life and even he has become disillusioned with the amount of "outsiders" coming in to the senior Parnells panel and replacing guys who are from the area, Hence why Steo doesnt play with the senior Parnells side.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/07/2014 11:38:29    1612531

Received big bucks from land Sale http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=...

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2878 - 02/07/2014 11:51:30    1612539

Never knew that about Cluxton wayno. Does he play for their intermediate or junior team then or what's the story?
Fair enough they must be loaded after that land sale. Is it the case then that they can offer salaried jobs such as GAA coaches to these "stars" that other clubs couldn't possibly afford? I know every man has to earn a crust and all but surely the likes of an Armagh warrior like McKeever could never fully commit to their cause in the same way as he would have at Cullyhanna?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9772 - 02/07/2014 12:04:32    1612553

wayno - Who does Cluxton play his club football with?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11582 - 02/07/2014 12:06:19    1612554

They are the 'Na Fianna' of 20 years ago....modern version!!

Yes, all Dublin clubs and senior teams have 'outsiders' and this is no problem!
We live in a democracy where a man is free to join whatever club he likes and if good enough be selected for the senior team....simple as!

Other clubs dont 'approach' or 'sign' any player at all or offer any 'perks' (and thats the difference, hence no resentment from local lads), but by the same token the rule of law says we cant discriminate against anyone who wants to play ball for the club!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 02/07/2014 12:07:37    1612556

The €22m is gone (according to the grapevine) and there are serious financial concerns within the club. The taxman took €100k from them recently too. They have a fantastic clubhouse and are doing a good food trade all week with a staff of between 25 and 75 (depends on who you talk to!!).

The number of players from outside the county now with Parnells have made the club the butt of many jokes, particularly when they have not achieved much success with them. I have great respect for Cluxton for taking the stand he did and play Div 4 with his "team mates" rather than Div 1 with the various inter county players.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 02/07/2014 12:16:11    1612566

wayno - Who does Cluxton play his club football with?

YT,

He still plays for Parnells, But he isn't happy that people like Begley etc came in from other counties and players he played with all his life where ostracized from the senior squad in favour of these "inter-county stars". So he decided not to play with the senior team. Its either Junior or Intermediate he plays with now im not 100% sure, Either way, He is remaining loyal to the guys he grew up playing with and soon as they where dropped, He dropped with them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/07/2014 12:23:35    1612572

Actually Torcaill that rings a bell with me, He no longer plays D1, He plays D4.

Not sure if he plays outfield for them or not.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/07/2014 12:26:06    1612575

Cluxton plays with Parnells intermediate team.

Parnells now have
Ciaran McKeever,Andy Mallon(Armagh)
Darren Rooney,Colm Begley(Laois)
Conor Mortimer(Mayo)
Andrew Shore,Ruairi Quinlivan(Wexford)
Tommy McElroy(Fermanagh)

They are managed by Micheal McDermott by former Clare manager who still commutes from Clare

MJ Tierney,Colm Parkinson(Laois),Aindreas Doyle(Wexford)Johny Murtagh(Armagh) played with them in the last few years and have since transferred back to their home clubs

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 02/07/2014 12:26:28    1612576

waynoI

1612575 Actually Torcaill that rings a bell with me, He no longer plays D1, He plays D4.

Not sure if he plays outfield for them or not.

He plays wing back for Parnells

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 02/07/2014 12:27:31    1612577

I thought that Gael but i wasn't 100%

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/07/2014 12:28:46    1612581

What an honourable gentleman Cluxton is!....Compare him to the outsiders who came into the club for their 30 pieces of silver!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 02/07/2014 12:36:08    1612585

Yet another reason wny Cluxton is an absolute legened

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 02/07/2014 12:37:08    1612586

He played wing back against our inter team earlier in the year , he told our inter manager after the game that he just wanted to play out field for the club and he wouldn't of been good enough for the senior team so that's why he's with the second team. Nothing else in it as far as I know, he's good friends with Begley and co so I don't think that's true Wayne.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/07/2014 12:39:05    1612588

1612588 He played wing back against our inter team earlier in the year , he told our inter manager after the game that he just wanted to play out field for the club and he wouldn't of been good enough for the senior team so that's why he's with the second team. Nothing else in it as far as I know, he's good friends with Begley and co so I don't think that's true Wayne.

I believe that he would be good enough for the senior team. I also believe that it isn't his style to wash his laundry in public, hence, perhaps, the reason for his comments to your manager.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 02/07/2014 12:48:19    1612594

Clondalkin

I know he is good friends with the lads, Not saying he has anything personal against them. And you could well be right that part of the reason he isnt playing D1 is cause he wanted to play outfield, But its my belief thats only half the reason.

Being from the Coolock area myself and knowing people with close ties to the Parnells club, (despite living in Meath) I have it on fairly good accord that cluxton decided to opt off the senior team (Who he can play in goal for and still play out field for the team in D4) because lads in the club who live and grew up in the area where furious with the fact more and more or them where being dropped to accomodate outside inter-county players. Stephen felt that was unfair on the lads he played with through the grades at club level and they where treated with discontempt and so made himself unavailable for Senior duty.

My understanding is Stephens issues are with the club itself and their disrespect of players who have grown up through the ranks with the Parnells club, rather than the guys who've been transfered in.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/07/2014 12:55:26    1612600

Bit of a joke this lot. Signing county players left right and centre and still getting dumped out in round 1 or 2 of teh championship.

The hurlers are going much better fair play. 1 or 2 impors there to though butthe majority comingthrough the ranks/area

Serios question. Wahts the point in having a juvenile section if your just going to sign players in from other counties to play? Whats tehre for the kids to aspire to? And there can be no argument about it not being down to money because if it wasnt then why go to a club who achieve nothing when 10 minutes either direction you have Ballymun and St Vincents the top 2 clubs in the city?

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 02/07/2014 13:13:18    1612614

Exactly Brian, Exactly.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 02/07/2014 13:46:35    1612633