Munster hurling final venue

Would love to go to cork cos I think it would be v close n either we would win or we would lose by point or two n that would benefit our lads hugely.

However Munster final is second biggest show piece of our game n everyone who wants to go should be accommodated. Take it to thurles n compensate cork for loss of revenue or send it to G Grounds and we owe cork 2 games in their new stadium.

I'm not a big fan of home n away as it happens. I think Clare n Waterford have a big advantage cos they never have to play on another county's back yard.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 19/06/2014 19:44:31    1606221

Limerick is ok except for that Mackey stand. If you get tickets for the centre section, you better hope that the front rows are all filled by dwarves. It has the most unnatural shape I've ever seen. The long walk out from the city centre isn't too bad, it seems an awful lot longer back if your team has lost.
P.Ui C is ok as long as it is properly stewarded. Seats in the uncovered stand are meant for those you'd hope would occupy the front rows of the Mackey. Atmosphere is great when full as it is like an amphi-theatre. Real problemes arise on the terraces if the stewards are not doing their jobs. Simple rule is : keep the yellow passageways clear, everything then is quite comfy.

jerryp (Cork) - Posts: 104 - 19/06/2014 19:45:43    1606223

1B hurling doesn't appear to have done any of the finalists any harms anyways whatever about the venue.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8880 - 19/06/2014 21:22:41    1606254

I'm v please with supreme confidence being shown by some cork lads on here. Media hype obviously doing its bit for us.

Last year I couldn't see lk losing Munster final ( think all pundits bar none agreed afterwards that they would regardless of sending off)

This year its far too close to call. Too many intangibles. Firstly will dual players hold form , can cork forwards fire against a back line that dominated last year can lk forwards get into gear ( didnt really against tipp) can we hold Walsh will cork believe media hype and will home advantage swing it corks way.

Takes either a brave or stupid man who thinks he has answer to all of those imponderables. I can't wait. Him de treaty county.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/06/2014 10:04:29    1606321

Lads let's be honest. The Gaelic Grounds is a decent stadium on 3 sides. But for all those 3 sides are decent, it is far outweighed by how miserable and awful the Mackey stand is. It is easily the worst stand in the country, bar none. The thing barely has any slant, is like sitting in the middle of the North Pole most days and if you are anywhere further than 20 rows back you are sitting in darkness. The back row should be where the roof is and maybe then you might get an acceptable view but even then you would have to hope you aren't sitting behind one of those great big white things that are about a meter wide.

Awful awful stand.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 20/06/2014 11:42:20    1606375

The Bull sounds like a Tipp supporter and not a Cork supporter. I have always found Cork GAA people to be friendly and not arrogant like our other neighbours. All stadiums have their setbacks. Limerick is really easy to get to now with the motorway passing Caherdavin and lots of carparking with the new housing estates there. ( "It amazes me how the Munster Rugby folks tell us how accessable Thomond Park is yet the Gaelic Grounds is seen as hard to get to" ). The uncovered stand is excellent but Mackey stand is too low. Thurles "old stand" is excellent, but the new stand is full of pillars and blind spots and also getting out of that carpark ( a field ) by the stadium is a nightmare. Cork was in poor condition 10 years ago so I dread to think what its like now, also only one long way out to it and its more then 15 minutes. All in all parents bringing children to the Munster final, should be able to do it in comfort and safety so Munster council need to move it hold it in Thurles or Limerick and compensate Cork county board.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 20/06/2014 12:05:54    1606390

In fairness, I accept that the Park is basically a dump, even though when it's full, it's bowl like construction certainly generates an atmosphere like no other.

It is hard to get to, 'cause there's a river on one side of it, but I've never understood the whole 'cul de sac' argument. There are unpteen ways in and out of the Park. Have people not heard of maps? Google Earth? The problem is that Cork is quite a big city (in Irish terms) but people don't know it very well 'cause, unlike Dublin, they'd have no reason to ever travel there. So they just head straight into town, park up, and walk down Centre Park Road.

I was walking in from Mahon one day, when I met a woman who stopped the car to ask where it was. I told her to park the car up off Skehard Road (near Bessborough) and walk in the old railway line (15 minute walk). She clearly thought I was nuts, asked me where the city centre was, and then took off on what could easily be a 20-30 minute drive through traffic, followed by a 30 minute walk to the park. Stop moaning, and look at a map before you come. Simples....or simpler anyway...that pesky river is still a problem!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 20/06/2014 13:02:39    1606419

Which neighbours are these now Clubgaa!!!! Kerry , Tipp , Clare ????

Meaning of arrogance - having or revealing an exaggerated sense of one's own importance or abilities.

Just curious as I dont see much in your point regarding that piece of your post.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/06/2014 13:13:05    1606429

Hoover78
County: Limerick

Our support, i don't think Limerick's support for the success we manage can be questioned. Limerick travel in massive numbers. Probably second to Cork and per ratio of population the best supported team in the country, the prosecution rests its case.

Now onto the other point.

The difference last year was ye had a gale in the first half, made no use of it and were beaten by 9 points by the better side, added to that bar one really nice score Horgan was shackled with ease by the limerick defense. Ye were lucky it was only nine. We will bring the curtain down on PUC on the 13th against this very much over hyped Cork team.

Oh and he deserved to see red, you know and i know he was so far off it was untrue but the cute Cork boys went out with the "ah poor Patrick is a fine chap and would harm no one lark", balderdash.

Seriously were you after drink when you wrote this post.

What gale??? It was one of the hottest days last summer ???? barely a puff of wind.
Shackled hoggie ????? between hoggie and harndey ye were lucky not to conceed 2/3 goals in first half.
A 14 men cork team stayed with limerick till the 60th min and then literally ran out of steam which is no surprise given the heat that day.

So answer me this did you even see the game were you at it or were you basing this on the readings of the back pages on monday. Everyone knew that hoggie shouldnt have been sent off every limerick supporter in here said it limerick players appealed at his appeal my god man you seem clueless in relation to that matter ???? prosecution rests ???????

We lost our best scoring forward our free taker and lost be nine points on a blistering hot day i for won saw no shame in that loss. Then we went on a summer adventure that lasted till september where as clare ripped ye apart on yer next day out.

I love limerick. Basic reason was my first ever intercounty game was early eighties cork v limerick in limerick . Ye won that day too lol
But one thing i hate in here is people coming in with no knowledge of the game or what there talking about and making sensational comments "prosecution rests" jasus almight what ya think you are even genuine limerick supporters in here were embarrassed at that one

so ill tell you what either watch or go to the next game. Firstly it will allow you see exactly the weather conditions that way you wont look foolish discussing GALES secondly you might actually learn about the game its self cause you can only learn so much from reading the sports pages

To my limerick friends best of luck on the 13th i hope we win obviously but i hope its a cracking game with on one sent off on either side

rebels abu

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 20/06/2014 16:01:50    1606535

Ritchie I agree and disagree with some of what you said. I stated here before that the match last year could have been over at half time if Cork had taken their goal chances. The Limerick fullback line was tore asunder for 35 mins and Nickie Quaid had the worst half ive never seen him play. Horgan should never have been sent off. Not to go back over it but I can see why the ref did send him off as harsh and all as it was.

But this is where I disagree with you. It was level when Horgan got sent off and while they wasn't a gale, there was a strong enough wind. It was a 3 or 4 point wind so I don't think the sending off had a big bearing on the result. It just took away from Limerick's win which was unfortunate because it meant they didn't get the recognition they deserved.

I hope in 3 weeks we get a game that has a decisive winner and that a win isn't questioned by a sending off, disallowed goal etc etc. Its a tough one to call. Cork will be a lot more streetwise and show more bottle than Tipp as well as having a hell of a lot of hurling. To counter that you would have to say in Cork's 3 matches I don't think ye will have come up against the physicality of what Limerick will bring. Cadogan is having a good Summer so far but he marked a lad making his debut against Clare and likewise against Waterford. He will be meeting a total different proposition in Tom Condon. All over the field Limerick will bring an intensity I don't think Cork will have encountered so far.

There are so many ifs and maybes ahead of this one and I think it is a 50/50 game. Really do. How the bookies have it priced up as they do I have no idea

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 20/06/2014 16:23:52    1606552

mike 03

brilliant post . I agree again with most you said. On the 13th i too would like a definitive answer to the question we both asked. Please god no sendings off on EITHER SIDE unless they are well and truely merited . Personly i didnt really feel the wind your talking about in the stands but ill take your word for it but i think we can both agree there was no gale. I think cork are better than last year but then again limerick obvious superiority against tipp would mean they have improved on last year as well. Im looking forward to a cracker and may the best team win and may the craic between cork and limerick supporters continue well into the future

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 20/06/2014 16:41:02    1606564

Ritchie cork totally owned the ball in first half. They had wind n were it not for limerick backs winning every positional battle cork woulda had it won at half time. Got into argument on this here already. If u google game an examiner report will confirm that limerick backs were well on top.

We have a v underrated defence n I'd have no worries about them managing a cork forward line when to date Cronin harnedy n lehane have done v little ( all 3 have been subbed I think). I'd back Wayne all day against cooper n I think we will manage Horgan again from play. Cadogan sullie n frees will be where scores come from IMO

My big concern is midfield a dominant Walsh could be our undoing but there wasn't one single pundit last year who said result swung on sending off not one.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/06/2014 16:45:16    1606566

Apparently Richie our full back line was well on top in the first half last year despite being taken for 7 points. Imagine what ye would have done to us if we weren't on top........

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 20/06/2014 16:57:48    1606576

2 choices lads believe mike or google limerick cork 2013. I know mike thinks he has more knowledge than google but at this stage I doubt anyone else does

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 20/06/2014 18:38:31    1606611

Ritchie
Just two things
(1) Everything that could go wrong did go wrong against Clare , we missed a string of frees, conceded a fluky goal and had a seemingly obvious penalty turned down when Mulcahy was apparently fouled in the first few minutes. You say they ripped us apart . they beat us by 7 points, they beat ye by 6, after conceding at least one very soft goal.
(2) On the day we lost Seamus Hickey in the first in the first few minutes, ( we saw what an influential player he can be V Tipp the last day and that while playing his first competitive game in ten months) we had Sean Tobin, Paudie O'Brien. Kevin Downes and Shane Dowling all carrying injuries leading up to that game. So if can bring a fully team to Pairc Ui Caoimh we might offer a much better than you think.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4500 - 20/06/2014 19:45:31    1606634

typo errors
Last sentence should have read 'If we can bring a fully fit team to Pairc Ui Caoimh we just might offer a much more serious challenge than you seem to think'

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4500 - 20/06/2014 20:20:51    1606651

Still no word on the ground yet i thought we'd have heard something by today??

paddyirish (Limerick) - Posts: 15 - 24/06/2014 16:20:06    1608374

Well know tonight.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/06/2014 17:06:37    1608402

could this be a marketing ploy by the gaa
hold off naming the ground
in a plan to build interest
well about time they started doing some sort of marketing

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/06/2014 17:46:41    1608432

Ritchie, just a note, i was in the city end terrace as i always am when open and i can assure you there was a very strong breeze going down the pitch. Cork did not take their chances and for you to waffle on about Horgan makes you look silly, better team won on the day, suck it up lad.

Now for you sat in your stand to question me on the breeze is a bit silly as you are unlikely to feel it in your little comfy perch.

Everyone has agreed with me re the wind so your post looks fairly silly right now.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 24/06/2014 20:00:24    1608492