Meath v Kildare

Fionn

Htaem - in all seriousness, do you think Meath will win on Sunday.??

Nah I think Kildare will beat us easily enough in the end ;-) But there should be a good crowd, Dublin will turn up in big numbers and I'd be disappointed if Meath and Kildare don't travel, Wexford probably won't bother as much.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/06/2014 17:07:53    1607878

Htaem

Nah I think Kildare will beat us easily enough in the end
;-)

You haven't relations from Kerry by any chance, with that cute hoorism... lol :o)

Hopefully the weather will remain good and we will have 2 fast flowing games of football.

I have to say it is all very low key from the 4 teams at the moment.

Not a lot being said from the official lines so far anyway.

Really looking forward to the 1st game and reckon the atmosphere will be excellent on Sunday.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4410 - 23/06/2014 17:17:40    1607886

Looking forward to this game massively, even more than the Dubs game which is a first.
Just seems like it is a real 50/50 game and should be a hard fought battle.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 23/06/2014 17:20:45    1607892

Fionn

Nah no relations in Kerry, I just don't think we have a realistic chance against Kildare :-)

It has been strangely low key from all sides so far but I'd expect things to really pick up this week, really looking forward to both games myself, be great if the weather hold but who cares if it doesn't.

Us Royals don't get too many trips to Croker these days unfortunately so we'll have to make the most of it, starting with the tummy liner in subway then off to Quinns to get rat arsed, love the Croker days out, C'MON THE ROYAL!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/06/2014 17:35:55    1607899

This is the game everyone is looking forward to next weekend. The Dublin Wexford game won't tell us much but this has all the makings of a humdinger.

Gillespie's absence is a big loss to Meath and for that reason I give a hesitant vote to Kildare.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/06/2014 17:55:34    1607908

When people are saying that neither of the first two games would tell us anything I think they're wrong. Certainly Ryan won't have learned a lot looking at the Carlow game but if MOD looks at the Louth game I think he'll learn a bit. How Kildare bunched for kick-outs and burst to the wings to receive the ball was a tactic we hadn't really used before. It really flummoxed Louth but Meath will now be ready. Same as the late introduction of Fogarty for O'Connor. That's the kinda stuff Meath will have been able to keep in reserve but we weren't taking any chances against Louth.

The hope will be that Ryan can continue to innovate his tactics and with a bit of competiton now in the squad change things up to keep Meath guessing. I have to say I normally start off before a game nervous and then become a bit more confident the closer it gets. For some reason this match has been the opposite. Feckin Meath. They never let you relax.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/06/2014 19:50:02    1607980

Mickey Newman injured? Any Meath posters know the story?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/06/2014 08:17:57    1608053

Hahaha dhop. I'm the same but also this time its opposite .
It is the game of the weekend and let's hope it lives up to that billing.
There won't be any blanket defenses, it will be man to man and attack at pace. And that should make for a great game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/06/2014 08:36:19    1608057

I'm not sure if it'll be game of the weekend. Wexford could cause the dubs some problems. Won't win but will put it up to the for 55 mins or so anyway.

I fully expect us to come through this game with at least 5 points to spare without ever really being pushed by Meath. A little one sided more than likely.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 24/06/2014 09:37:13    1608079

I Newman doesn't make the game we can forget about it, he's worth 3-6pts per game for ud and we'll need every score we can get to beat Kildare. Have to say that this is potentially very deflating news, takes a lot of interest out of the game from a Meath point of view.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/06/2014 09:52:57    1608086

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=219026

That's that my roayl friends. Stay at home.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 24/06/2014 09:58:28    1608089

This is like two bald men fighting over a comb. While Marouane Fellani stands in the background chuckling away to himself.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 24/06/2014 10:04:06    1608091

Can it get any worse??? Bus crash on the way to Croke park on Sunday maybe??? It really is time for lads to stand up and be counted. Loads of injuries but this is a squad game. I agree that 5 or 6 of our starting 15 will be missing but lets see if someone can really make a hero of himself on Sunday and bring Meath football forward.

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 24/06/2014 10:07:22    1608092

Hahahaha, deadly, who's next, Keoghan maybe? Ah ye I'd say Keoghan is good enough to get injured next. I wonder how good the Junior team is because we'll ne raiding it for players soon enough!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/06/2014 10:09:49    1608095

Meath missing too many players to win this game IMO, even with everyone fit they mightn't win but now I don't give them much hope especially with Newman out now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/06/2014 10:17:19    1608102

There is a last minute winner written all over this game. I cant call it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 24/06/2014 10:18:54    1608106

sure look it was only a matter of time before newmans hamstring went plaguing him for years its gonna be a tough one

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 24/06/2014 10:23:34    1608118

Michael Newman will be a huge loss lads.

Meath don't seem to be having much luck with injuries currently.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4410 - 24/06/2014 10:34:39    1608123

This has a Kildare victory written all over it. The royals better hope Kildares old bugbear comes along - getting the yips in front of the posts - then maybe turn it into a scrap Meath style. I'm going for a 2 point Kildare win.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 24/06/2014 10:35:55    1608124

Don't all panic..just evens it up a little bit as we're without our top scorer for the game as well.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1730 - 24/06/2014 10:44:29    1608135