Meath v Kildare

How long has Bray been about in the Meath squad ? What age is he

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 29/06/2014 20:22:44    1610990

I think Bray is 32.. But still has it and is a leader in that team now.Kildare lost one in Johnny Doyle.Bray is invaluable to Meath,even if he doesn't play brilliantly,he works his socks off..

He is around about 10 years or so..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/06/2014 20:30:43    1610994

kildares shooting kills them
they racked up around 10 wides i think before half time
especially when the sides were level at 6v6 they couldnt buy a point
but fair play to meath they could have had goals in first half before getting that penalty on half time.
meath seemed out on their feet in the last 20 minutes
and amazingly kildare somehow dispite still kicking wide after wide reeled them in to 4 points
and blazed 3 wides in a row before meath weathered the storm and stopped the rot.
be interesting to see how kildare respond to this
they have goos record in the qualifiers so could yet make it back to the last 8

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2014 20:40:59    1611006

No Ziggy not one poster wanted Bray dropped that's a lie man and you know it. What I and others wanted was him to be used as a impact sub, he clearly hasn't 70 mins in him anymore (unfortunately) even today he tired. Now because of injuries there was no choice but to start Stephen, but you can't tell me he has full game in him. Yes he still has the brilliance that he always has for 50 or so minutes but we have to be realistic too and not play him into a injury, would you not agree? . but dropping him? Not a chance. BTW Ziggy you must have been impressed with the defending of biggy today, great all rounder. Now I do recall someone calling for him to be dropped for not defending enough, egg and face are words that come to mind.
Best wishes to Kildare in qualifiers, I'd love to see at least 3 Leinster teams in quarters if nothing more than to shut brolly and Spillane up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2014 20:44:30    1611011

Thomas O connor is agh very intelligent player who always wins possesion and brings others in to play. Definitely should have been on earlier. Well done Meath.. Some squad

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 29/06/2014 20:46:48    1611014

MOD needs to get more out of biggy.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1831 - 29/06/2014 20:52:55    1611020

Only thing is,I beleive Kev Reilly would have had O'Connors number,but then again nothing else was working.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/06/2014 20:56:08    1611021

royaldunne

YES THEY DID.....

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/06/2014 20:57:08    1611023

Royaldunne

Yes dropped from the team not the panel.. Impact sub?? Many players younger than Bray got tired today.Bray kept going till the end.the ball didn't come into him for a period..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/06/2014 20:58:44    1611027

RD

Are you kidding again?? I was on the lower hoganstand side,Biggys workrate and tracking was poor.He let men walk past him,very umimpressed with him today.He would be benched if others were fit.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/06/2014 21:00:49    1611033

Ziggy you need them glasses changed man. Watch the game in full on TV he was throwing himself into every tackle. Granted he tired but set up some lovely scores his distribution at times was phenomenal.
That all been said I'd prefer him playing closer to goal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2014 21:19:04    1611070

Completely wrong

Excellent performance from Meath

Well done

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/06/2014 21:25:22    1611085

Jimbo was it not you that set up Meath for Leinster thread? Have more conviction in your gut feeling earlier in year man :).
Anyway looking forward to final

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2014 21:38:28    1611111

Bray was immense today. Anyone saying he shouldn't have started, injuries or no injuries, or should be an impact sub needs their head examined. By the way Bray was u21 in 2001 so must be at least 34 by now. Incredible player to be still going and putting in performances like that. As for not getting 70 minutes, pure nonsense. When Meath were on the ropes at the end, he was still flying over and back looking for the ball and kicked a great pass into David Bray at the end.

As regards Graham Reilly, I thought he had a good game. I would say there were probably better performers on the Meath team, including Bray, Carroll and Tormey in the forwards, but he done alright. I wouldn't say he was flying into the tackles any more than anyone else.

By the way of Bray didn't get man of the match, then it would have went to Damian Carroll who also coming in for a lot of stick from Meath supporters this year. He was outstanding.

Kildare have regressed a lot since McGeeney left going on today's performance. They looked very disorganized despite finishing the game very well. They should never have got rid of McGeeney.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 29/06/2014 21:42:19    1611116

Bray very greedy today

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/06/2014 21:47:19    1611123

Ziggy - I would probably agree with you. Graham Reilly would struggle to get his place with everyone fit. I don't think he's playing as well as he can but not only that - there are plenty of options there. I think Meath currently have enough options to be able to deal with all the injuries but it's the impact from the bench that's probably suffering most. I don't want to get carried away after beating an ordinary enough Kildare team, but if Meath had everyone, they could have the likes of G. Reilly, Wallace, Tobin, Meade and Harnan coming in. That's assuming that O'Sullivan, Gillespie, Newman and Dalton would all get starting.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 29/06/2014 21:54:25    1611134

Moving on, Jim wouldn't say very greedy, but needs to look up a bit more absolutely, I think its more to do with old dog new tricks thing than greed, Bray was part of the forward line of himself cian ward Joe sherridan, that trio were still in the old Meath vein_ head down take your own score _ but mod has changed that dramatically. So just more awareness of teammates is all that's needed.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2014 08:10:21    1611149

What a shambles by Kildare in the first half Build up play in the first half was terrible,get to 30/40 mts out and then stop and the man on the ball start looking around Gaelic football should be played at a fast pace , especially when attacking , Kildare in the first half done the opposite,slow build up and give Meath every chance to get back to defend.
At least when Meath attacked they looked dangerous and could have got a few goals in the first half.
Think Meath will get a good team yet, 2/3 years down the line.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 30/06/2014 09:16:39    1611181

Congratulations to Meath. When they were good they were very very good. That 10 minutes after half time was heartbreaking. At least we rallied after that but would have been a real smash and grab to snatch something then. Our bench was always going to see us finish stronger I think but that was no reason to let certain things go when things were clearly going wrong much earlier.

Hopefully they bounce back up in Newry now and get back to Croker. This young side clearly needs as many games and as much experience as is possible.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 30/06/2014 09:18:44    1611183

Indeed dh . best wishes to you and lads in newry. It could be ideal game. I'd start or bring TOC on early. He got every ball when introduced.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/06/2014 09:45:49    1611221