Meath v Kildare

derfil1
We've better players 1 to 15 and by far the better squad. Could count on one hand the amount of times they've been us at any level over the last decade. Even with McGeanny we beat them 7 times out of 8 and he didn't really know what he was doing. A good man now in charge so be surprised if Meath got within 6 points of us.

You've a great 1-15 and squad alright. Keep counting on that one hand of yours how many times you've bet us in the last decade and use that one figure to count how many leinster finals you've contested in that time. This thread is fun to read now haha.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 586 - 29/06/2014 15:43:33    1610757

Delighted with that win considering the injuries and then losing McMahon and Reilly, lost momentum midway in second half but held firm, great to see the tank Burke make a telling contribution, well done all

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 29/06/2014 15:48:08    1610762

Not only the last 15 realdub, they last 30 minutes Meath went asleep, well let's be honest complacency set in big time, 12 points up coasting and end up winning by 5, plenty to work on, but Meath minus 4 was 5/1 so let's put it in perspective, that was half the Meath team and some of them were patched up and out of position, few lads back and we might give dubs a game. A win is a win, if anyone had told me this morning Meath would win with 5 to spare and not play for a half hour I'd have sent men with white coats in. Plenty to work on, if we recreate the first 40 minutes into 70 we will be dangerous. Well done to all the lads, hard luck to Kildare and best wishes in qualifiers.

Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2014 15:48:49    1610764

Not only the last 15 realdub, they last 30 minutes Meath went asleep, well let's be honest complacency set in big time, 12 points up coasting and end up winning by 5, plenty to work on, but Meath minus 4 was 5/1 so let's put it in perspective, that was half the Meath team and some of them were patched up and out of position, few lads back and we might give dubs a game. A win is a win, if anyone had told me this morning Meath would win with 5 to spare and not play for a half hour I'd have sent men with white coats in. Plenty to work on, if we recreate the first 40 minutes into 70 we will be dangerous. Well done to all the lads, hard luck to Kildare and best wishes in qualifiers.

Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2014 15:48:50    1610765

what a poor poor team Kildare are and to think they shafted Kieran McGeeney because he could not bring them on, i have never seen a team to go back so far so quick, me thinks there will be a few red faces leaving Croke Park

Ger.say (Laois) - Posts: 130 - 29/06/2014 15:54:18    1610769

Still RD, with the injuries ye had it was a good win!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 29/06/2014 15:54:38    1610770

Ger.say
County: Laois

what a poor poor team Kildare are and to think they shafted Kieran McGeeney because he could not bring them on, i have never seen a team to go back so far so quick, me thinks there will be a few red faces leaving Croke Park

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 29/06/2014 16:04:59    1610779

Ger.say
County: Laois

Well Ger, you obviously haven't been keeping tabs on another Leinster team namely Louth.

Leinster final in 2010, hammered Laois by 10 points in O'Moore Park last summer in the championship but now heading down division 4 way.
Annilated by Kildare and Tyrone this year, and only won one competitive game in 2014 against Westmeath.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 29/06/2014 16:17:17    1610782

Yes realdub your right. What's really annoying me as I sit and it watch the opposition next time, is if we hadn't so many bloody injuries we would have a shout against you or Wexford. Its so annoying. But we lacking strength in depth.
But happy we into last 12 regardless. Again well done to all management and team

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2014 16:17:47    1610783

When Spillane said Kildare have the 'better more potent forwards' I had to hit the rewind button on my remote just to make sure I didnt mishear what he said and he did indeed say it.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 29/06/2014 16:26:55    1610789

RD what ya think of Stephen Bray he was unbelievable for most of that game he's still a key figure on this set up! Still buzzing thrilled with the win and looking forward to another shot at the leinster final :) hard luck kildare but for the few fans who didn't think we'd get within 6/7 points of yee when will yous learn? ;)

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 29/06/2014 16:31:23    1610790

Beautiful.Meath

RD what ya think of Stephen Bray he was unbelievable for most of that game he's still a key figure on this set up! Still buzzing thrilled with the win and looking forward to another shot at the leinster final :) hard luck kildare but for the few fans who didn't think we'd get within 6/7 points of yee when will yous learn? ;)

I believed that you wouldn't play that well today because there was no indication that you would or that Kildare would be that bad, so fair play to ye!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 29/06/2014 17:55:19    1610864

Beautiful Meath. I'm absolutely thrilled for Bray. Great to see and long may he continue.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2014 18:48:16    1610896

Congrats and well done to Meath on a truly deserved victory today, the scoreline does not reflect Meath's total dominance of the game from start to finish.

Well done lads and best of luck in the Leinster final.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/06/2014 19:26:05    1610915

Well done Meath.

Disgrace of a performance by the kildare players as far as I am concerned. They lacked heart and pride in the jersey and that's not good enough.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/06/2014 19:38:05    1610926

Well done to Meath. Have to say I am most disappointed with management decisions, or lack of, today. 5 mins into the match everyone could see our full back line was in big trouble. Meath exploited that and could have had a few goals before half time. Second to every ball and of course we reverted to the old backwards basketball again....very disappointed. I give Meath a lot of credit including Mick O'Dowd who easily out manoeuvred Jason Ryan and co in the tactical stakes. Why did Ryan take so long to makes changes?? And then he puts on Thomas O'Connor for 5 mins at the end and he wins every ball coming in. Not good enough.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 29/06/2014 19:40:16    1610929

bryanadams

Congrats and well done to Meath on a truly deserved victory today, the scoreline does not reflect Meath's total dominance of the game from start to finish.

Well done lads and best of luck in the Leinster final.

Thanks Bryan and I do hope Kildare recover in the qualifiers, still think Ryan can do a job with ye

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 29/06/2014 19:41:35    1610930

Well I think it's clear Mick Foley's best years are behind him as Kildare posters have been saying here over the last couple of years. Why weren't there changes made at half time? Heard Jason Ryan saying on Kfm if he could of made 11 changes he would of but made none. Meath had to kick 1-4 without reply at start of second half before he made a move. Couple of positives in performances of Callaghan, Lyons, O Neill, Moolick and Fogarty. Anyway best wishes to Meath in the final

butters1990 (Kildare) - Posts: 262 - 29/06/2014 20:15:01    1610975

To think that some Meath posters wanted Bray dropped........................

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 29/06/2014 20:19:49    1610986

Butters if Ryan said that he wouldn't of made any changes well that is deeply worrying . This has bad news written all over it.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 29/06/2014 20:20:34    1610987