Meath v Kildare

NorthKildare

Ya that is true,the only difference is,is that Kildare were expecting to miss most of those..Whereas Meath were not.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/06/2014 17:53:36    1608436

Yes meath always expect to win. You are right it is a attitude thing and given half a chance they will take it.
Its not just fans it is team and management too. We never go out expecting to be beat or try to limit games to a good show. We go out to win them all. And I would be shocked if any meath player or fan arrived in dublin on sunday expecting to be beat. Yeah some play the cute hoor card but we all know not one of us thinks we will be beat by kildare. We expect to win cause that's part of been a meath supporter. I'm not old enough to remember 80s but for my generation they put down foundations that can never be broken.
We want to win every game even obyrne.
Its are the injuries and such so bad that they hinder us winning and the answer is yes but who knows what future royal gaa star will be born in hq on sunday. We not only think this will happen we will be shocked if it doesn't. That's the attitude of meath , we are never beat.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 24/06/2014 18:21:53    1608448

Jimbob

Have we being unlucky? I am not sure if you can be so unlucky with so many injuries.I wonder if players have being pushed to hard,or come back from injury too early..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/06/2014 18:24:27    1608449

im still hopeful that we can win if the likes of biggy and bray play out of their skins but tbh my gut feeling tells me it could be too big of an ask to beat this Kildare team with all the injuries we have.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 24/06/2014 19:12:26    1608462

Amazing - Kildare in to 8/13 now and Meath out to 13/8. That's some swing from both being evens a couple of weeks ago.

Kildare still 11/1 to win Leinster though and Meath out at 16's which puts both roughly at 7/1 to beat Dublin if they do make the final. Crazy stuff!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/06/2014 20:11:24    1608505

Obviously punters are backing Kildare now given our impressive injury list.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/06/2014 20:19:37    1608520

Expecting Meath to win this game, and I might have some of that 16-1 on them to win Leinster.

In saying that, Kildare were a tad unlucky to get relegated from Division 1 in the end. Just think Meath have a bit more grit about them than the current Kildare side.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 24/06/2014 20:30:44    1608542

GaryMc82

Expecting Meath to win this game, and I might have some of that 16-1 on them to win Leinster.

In saying that, Kildare were a tad unlucky to get relegated from Division 1 in the end. Just think Meath have a bit more grit about them than the current Kildare side.

Jaysus I'm liking that post, get that man a drink!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/06/2014 20:35:01    1608547

Htaem

GaryMc82

Jaysus I'm liking that post, get that man a drink!

I was seriously Impressed by Meath last season, they were disciplined and were confident in themselves against Dublin and Tyrone. Watched them in league this season, and I think they are possibly 2 or 3 players away from being serious All Ireland challengers.

In saying that, Meath probably already have those players within their current squad, and just need them to develope further with a bit more top level experience. Everytime they play a big game, more and more players will start to step up to the plate.

16-1 would be a good bet for any man, as I think Meath are one of the few teams who could clip Dublin this year.

If your buying, I'll have a pint of the black stuff.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 24/06/2014 20:59:01    1608571

GaryMc82

Ye I agree with you, I think we are only maybe 3 talented players short of challenging for top honours but that's when everyone else is fit, so I think this year the best we can do is try and make the last 8, which I still think we can do. As for beating Kildare, I still think we can do that aswell but it will take a big effort from some of the less experienced players, sure only time will tell.

Black stuff it is :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/06/2014 21:18:56    1608585

Problem is ,the players that impressed last season are not available.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/06/2014 21:31:33    1608603

Would also agree we only 3 players short of a team that could win all ire.
And maybe just maybe they may com on sunday. Yep one of the new kids that hasn't played yet could be the diamond we need. And v kildare is his chance.
An mhi abu.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 24/06/2014 21:34:39    1608604

Three players short of the winning the All-Ireland?

Well hopefully Marvel's Avengers have no baddies to fight next summer so and assemble for Meath.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/06/2014 21:57:56    1608631

Hahahaha, deadly, who's next, Keoghan maybe? Ah ye I'd say Keoghan is good enough to get injured next. I wonder how good the Junior team is because we'll ne raiding it for players soon enough!

Htaem, seems like you've jinxed him. He's a doubt also...

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/06/2014 21:59:00    1608632

ziggy320001

1608449 Jimbob

Have we being unlucky? I am not sure if you can be so unlucky with so many injuries.I wonder if players have being pushed to hard,or come back from injury too early..

Different Injuries than what they were out with originally so you couldn't say they were coming back from Injury to early. In regards to been pushed to hard, it's a hard call. All Top teams are training like pros so maybe that is the case but i really think its just Bad Luck. Either way i still fancy our chances of toppling Kildare on Sunday

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 25/06/2014 08:40:51    1608643

Peter Kelly out with Hamstring injury now as well

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 25/06/2014 09:50:27    1608674

24/06/2014 16:06:06
doublehop

Colm O'Rourke had done well before he was injured though. Shane O'Rourke would not have a great record against Kildare or Dublin before or after in

Dh I agree on first part slightly, although he was pivotal in the 5 goal drobbing of dubs in 10 and before that against Kildarein in a oprevious championship. As for after? Well thisis his gfirst time back so neither of us can say he won't play well o

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2014 10:00:38    1608681

I blame Fianna Fáil for all these injuries. If they hadn't screwed up the economy, everyone would be fine!
Seriously, hope all the lads that are injured make a speedy and full recovery. Opportunity for new players on both teams to get in and show what they can do. Still very much 50/50 I'd say, will probably come down to quality of subs in 2nd half. I'm banking on a draw.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 486 - 25/06/2014 10:03:30    1608685

moylagh

And what you backing in the replay??? Serious Fence sitting going on in your neck of the woods

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 25/06/2014 10:43:43    1608719

Is every good team not 3 players away from challenging? When you say 3 players how good do have to be cause if a Tomas O Se Dara O Se and Gooch type players came through surely most good teams would be challenging then?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/06/2014 11:01:54    1608733