Meath v Kildare

bryanadams

To be honest,Meath were not concentrating on goals,it was just so easy that the goals were there.Carlows whole defence disappeared in that second half. Kildare would have put up a similar score-line

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/06/2014 11:29:54    1604351

doublehop

Ya Meath do not have that firpower on the subs bench.If we had Wallace and O'Sullivan available,we could match that.I would be worried about our energy in midfield.Meade and O'Rourke did ok against Carlow,but both got very tired,and find it difficult to match runs while defending.This will be essential for Kildare.If Menton is fit,I would play him midfield for that game.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/06/2014 11:32:44    1604355

What's Carroll like at wing back? I'm surprised to see him there in the Championship.

Obviously he'll be fine with the ball in hand but if he was to be moved from the half-forward line I thought it would be closer to goal not further away!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 16/06/2014 11:51:02    1604381

realdub

1604083 Kildare look a far superior outfit, be very surprised if they don't send the royal packing!

Would be interested to know what that opinion is based on? You have obviously seen alot of Meath and Kildare games this year to come out with such a definitive judgement on the quality of the two teams? Personally I wouldn't be able to call it so easily because I don't know enough about Kildare and would find it hard to assess them based on the one game I have seen them play (the Louth game).

Royalio (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 16/06/2014 11:53:53    1604384

I base this on the league and what I saw V Louth, Kildare looked like they can compete and were only getting their act together with Ryan and a couple of young lads, Meath on the other hand, looked like their usual selves, rubbish in a lower tier. That joke yesterday will certainly not help ye either. Ye will punch above your weight when playing us or Kildare, after than, the only way is down.

I think Kildare are a far better side and definitely think they would have a much better chance of beating Dublin than ye! Tis my opinion and that is all, sorry you don't like it :)

I can't be at every game but I do read a lot of reports, watch a lot of highlights and get to chat with people in those circles.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 16/06/2014 12:35:59    1604427

I would have to agree with realdub, I honestly can't see us beating Kildare, they are a far better team than us at the minute and under Ryan I'd expect them to account for us with 5 or 6 to spare. Hopefully we can keep it close though, for the sake of our young players a hiding wouldn't be nice or constructive either, but when it boils down to it, we won't beat the Lilies.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/06/2014 12:54:09    1604437

There will be plenty of shadow boxing from here on in till these two sides meet. Looking at bookie odds it's split down the middle. Dublin are the big winners so far as they had the toughest test to date playing Laois. Louth and Carlow melted. It will be close as always regardless of injuries. Kildare are a young team looking for a bit of experience and consistency. Meath are similar. Both teams have a few experienced campaigners too. Both managers are driven and desperately want to make a breakthrough. Very evenly balanced.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 16/06/2014 13:06:02    1604447

Doublehop

Not a fan of Carroll at wing back,infact he was moved ot the half forward line yesterday and he performed better...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/06/2014 13:06:27    1604448

Very hard to call and i expect goals will be key. Meath more likely to get them i think and that could be the difference but I'll go for a kildare win by a few points but i still think meath would give dublin a better game in the final, can't see kildare getting within 10 points of the dubs.

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 16/06/2014 13:12:51    1604455

Royalio

Listen, anyone who pays any notice to what I say on here will know that I like to have a pop at Meath, it's mostly banter but I do think Kildare will beat you. I'm giving to ye whilst I can, and I expect to get a kicking whenever ye rise to the top again, and it will happen, not too soon hopefully, but it will happen, then it's your turn :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 16/06/2014 13:19:44    1604466

Very hard to call and i expect goals will be key. Meath more likely to get them i think and that could be the difference but I'll go for a kildare win by a few points but i still think meath would give dublin a better game in the final, can't see kildare getting within 10 points of the dubs.

The Dubs ?

Do we not have a semi final to play no ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 16/06/2014 13:49:26    1604494

Real Dub

Ah no i wasn't having a pop, sure I know its only banter, I was genuinely looking to see why alot of people fancy Kildare so much. As I said, I would struggle to call this one as I have not seen enough of Kildare and I don't think forming an opinion bsed on the Louth or Carlow game would hold much weight. Last time they met in the Championship, no one outside of Meath gave Meath any chance (even Paddy Power himself got it wrong by gifting us 4/1 in a two horse race).

Royalio (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 16/06/2014 14:15:21    1604515

Indeed Royalio, contrary to what many think the bookies sometimes do get it wrong and were certainly way out in 2012. I think it will be a very close game. Neither Kildare or Meath have learned much from their respective games v Louth and Carlow.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 16/06/2014 14:43:51    1604536

Impossible to call. It is like first game for both.
I'd still expect meath to just shade it as they have some players who are futher down the line.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 16/06/2014 17:03:54    1604631

Meath and Kildare had facile wins. Only difference is Louth are a good bit better than Carlow.

Meath and Kildare both missing a lot of first choice players plus they lost a few to retirements and Australia.

Kildare played div 1 football which will have brought their young lads on big time.

Meath had a decent league but a division below. All in all this makes for a cracking game and will likely be very close.

I'm going for a Meath win but if I was from Kildare I'd be backing them.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/06/2014 17:55:08    1604656

Nobody seems to be asking the key question here.

How fit are Meath?

After all, some would have you believe that's been pretty much the only reason we've beaten them in the past.

So on a scale of Offaly hurling to Dublin football; the former still training like it's the Dark Ages and the latter apparently enjoying every unfair advantage under the sun, just how fit is this Meath team?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 16/06/2014 18:21:38    1604673

If In doubt

Ha,that question will be answered the next day. We have players who played yesterday,that have had injuries in the last month or so.Brian Meade(only back from a cruciate injury) doesn't look fit enough for Croker..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/06/2014 18:39:40    1604684

None of us except the Meath players and management can answer that. The rest of us will fine out in 2 weeks time.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/06/2014 19:01:54    1604700

Carlow are far better than Louth so I expect a Meath win given the hiding Meath dished out on Carlow

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1831 - 16/06/2014 19:15:21    1604711

Would agree Division 1 has been good for the young players over the last two seasons but I mean Meath drew with Donegal, should've won and had they won it they would've went up. Donegal have beaten Derry, Monaghan have beaten Tyrone, even Louth beat Westmeath. So the gap between Division 1 and 2 isn't all that great.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 16/06/2014 19:24:35    1604719