Clare v Cork

Aside from all this nonsense, Clare are still a powerful team with great players. Will they believe that they are being victimised and let it affect their future performances, or will they buckle down, acknowledge where they went wrong, and try to rectify it the next day?

I had my doubts when Davy was appointed manager, whether he was the right choice to get the best out of those Clare players. Many Cork football supporters believe that Conor Counihan stifled a golden generation of Cork footballers with his tactics. Is Davy on the way to doing the same with Clare? With Counihan, it was a lack of change; with Davy, it appears to be too much change. Or, don't fix what isn't broken.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 17/06/2014 13:53:47    1605037

If you look at Ger Locks comments on McGrath getting the replay last year ahead of Johnny Ryan at Corks say so and then this latest outburst with McGrath in charge they're up to something.

Theres no doubt about it, a referee needs to be liked by the big guns before they'll get the big days out but are Clare at the old adage, throw enough muck and some will stick.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 17/06/2014 13:57:10    1605039

Can't beleive how much crying Clare are doing its really pathetic and if it wasn't for a ref playing more injury time than he should have they wouldn't be al Ireland champions now stop crying and move on,they are a great team and will have a big say this summer but stop with the crying

Corkny (Cork) - Posts: 16 - 17/06/2014 13:59:20    1605042

The ref was completely one sided it's only right his performance is looked into, honestly any team who gets that many frees in there favour is always going to win.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/06/2014 14:08:39    1605049

Jaysus christ you gotta laugh at people saying the ref is on corks side and all that 50/50 calls and nonsense like that going to cork..yea maybe cork got a few decisions our way in the last 3 clare cork matches..looking at it from my albeit quite biased eyes clare got a monumental 50/50 decision go their way in the all ireland final last year..which decision was that..the one where the ref was either going to blow up for full time or let play go on for an extra 40 seconds..id gladly take that particular decision going our way and let ye get all the so called bias from the referee and 50/50 shouts and big fish crap..but this is not sour grapes cuz the replay was an unbelievable game and im glad it happened.just asking for some sence from people..and about the foul count last sunday..in fairness cork dominated and were fantastic so obviously if a team is on top they will attack more and hence more fouls.

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 17/06/2014 14:41:50    1605074

Never heard such rubbish in all my life. Limerick got far more frees than tipp for same reason cork got far more than Clare i.e. they were better team and poorer team was forced to concede frees.

Only difference tipp were man enough to take their beating .

Fair play to ref he wouldn't be bullied as few others did before him

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 17/06/2014 14:45:42    1605077

The better team won on Sunday no doubt about it Cork deserved to win. But Christ almighty the referee was poor and he should be looked at by his bosses. End of discussion.

Clare are man enough to take their beating you bitter end of a bell. Take your hatred elsewhere. You're outrageously against Clare

Apparently we are not even in the top 6 Hurling teams in Ireland. For that comment alone you can't be taken serious.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 17/06/2014 15:02:43    1605095

Lads calm down.

Simple facts

1 Better team won
2 Clare will improve and are a better team than Cork overall.
3 Ref had a bad game.

Maybe just maybe he is evening it up for what he did to Horgan last year in the munster final. He made the correct call that day, "ah poor Patrick has no divillment in him at all you know" go on away and pull the other one.

Can't wait for the 13th of July.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 17/06/2014 15:13:48    1605106

I like limerick they have good supporters but every now and then there is someone like you.....you are so jealous of Clare and that comes out in all your messages. your name should be changed to deludedfan

The league has no baring apart from preparation to championship, but Clare lost the semi to Tipp and to Dublin. We actually topped the table. Can you please stop talking nonsense about PERFORMANCES when the facts are contradiction to your tripe. So we lose one game against a strong Cork team who would be Munster Champions if the referee didn't mess it up for them last year, and all of a sudden you're right and Clare below Limerick. Hahahaha

Clare are with Kilkenny, Cork and Dublin as the top FOUR and a blind man could see that. All the so called expert pundits on the tv tell that......oh no but not you sir..... But maybe not a delusional one won't see that. Just wondering going on performances when was the last time Limerick beat a Cork, Kilkenny or Tipperary in Croke Park in an All Ireland Quarter, Semi or Final???????

Lets ask the other hurling fans??? Are Clare only 6/7th best Hurling team in Ireland???

I agree the referee was not to be blamed for us losing Sunday, WE WERE!!!!! Cork deserved to win and if you all calmed down and actually read the posts of the Clare supporters, we agree with that. BUT the referee was very poor on Clare and that's true. That's a FACT. I think just like players are analysed by their managers and coaches. Referees need to be analysed by their bosses.

As a Clareman yes I will say that about the foul but I've seen them given the other way too, no consistency with the man on Sunday that's my gripe. Best of luck to Cork in the Munster Final, ye were robbed last year. Maybe this year might be different for you.

I am sick of the bitterness of one individual who is incredibly jealous of Clare.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 17/06/2014 15:27:02    1605116

Banner boy this is just more of the Clare victim complex.

My post was aimed at poster who said that ref was one sided. If u think demanding reviews or back handed comments are taking ur beating then we have a very different definition in limerick as do the rest of the top hurling counties it would seem.

Now for this top 6 comment that has struck a nerve. Clare's no 1, no 4 , no 5 ( deserved able all star n a legend must be down to burn out) wouldn't make any of the top six teams. As for midfield total wash out. I'm not saying Clare don't have hurlers cos they do but winning an AI takes a lot out of a team n particularly the work load that Clare put in last year. Also agree with Davy on podge n football.

Clare deserved their AI but it has taken too much out of them to be contenders this year IMO.

No more of this bitterness nonsense now. Deal in facts if u r able cos name calling does nothing for u or ur county

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 17/06/2014 15:34:57    1605125

Do I notice a fair bit of Limerick begrudgery?! Its not your fellow-minnows fault you serial-choke when it really matters

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 17/06/2014 15:49:45    1605135

Deludedfan, not at all, the utter nonsense I have to read from you. So now you're saying because we won the All Ireland last year well 9 months ago we are not even in the top 6 Hurling teams in Ireland because that took a lot out of us????? Please god give me strength.

Can I ask you then over the next 5 years who do you see achieving more.......Clare or Limerick??

I respect ALL COUNTIES even yours, I do not come on here to slag or attack anyone's county, my own County Clare are 1000000000000% one of the best Hurling teams in Ireland....this I feel is absolutely without question a FACT!!!! If you don't think Clare are currently one of the best Hurling teams in Ireland then I feel you need to stop watching or talking about hurling. That's like me saying Cork aren't or Kilkenny aren't. How you place Limerick above Clare is utterly crazy. I think I'm disillusioned listening to you.

We lost ONE game against a very good Cork team. Who were better on the day, deserved their win. But call us washed up and finished is outrageous. We will see, oh we will see.

Best of luck to Cork and Limerick in the Munster Final. The All Ireland is a different competition and we now concentrate on that, maybe we might just have a say in the rest of this championship.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 17/06/2014 16:12:21    1605162

Deludedfan you have picked 3 players out of 15 who you say wouldn't start for the top teams????? Hahahahahahahaha WE ARE A TOP TEAM!!!!!! Dillon is brilliant and he would walk into Limericks side for a start, so would Bugler. We got cleaned at midfield for the FIRST TIME in a long time and I have to read this nonsense and accept it. Nonsense. Surely losing ONE match does not need an I told you so from you??? At the end of the day, when was the last time apart from the Munster win last year and way back in 2007 when Limerick proved they were a TOP TOP TEAM? Not slagging Limerick its just you now have be intrigued as to how you judge your top hurling sides??

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 17/06/2014 16:28:57    1605169

As regards the Munster final last year, we weren't robbed. Limerick were by far the better team that day. As it came up to half time, I just couldn't see any indication that Cork might come back (and I'm usually very positive on Cork's second halves). When Horgan got sent off, I thought we might as well go home. I stayed on anyway, as I have for many a worse day.

McGrath did not relent afterwards. To this day he thinks he still made the right decision. And probably from his point of view, he did.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 17/06/2014 16:35:06    1605172

Flack I accept ur point on choking and I don't think u r bitter or have any hatred.

I don't expect Dalo to say things need to change if Dublin get beat or I don't expect Dublin CB to look for a review.

Banner boy says he is intrigued I have been intrigued all year as to how ppl think Clare are favs. It's an opinion based on hurling and one that based on the one game they have played worth a damn has been proved right. If banner boy or you flack can pick a hole in my argument please do but don't resort to name calling.
As for having a go at limerick work away its well deserved IMO. I won't call u names.

I'm not looking to say u told u so. I'm just gobsmacked at how ppl are surprised cork beat Clare. Clare simply cannot be as good this year as they were last year. They haven't done the work they did last year n the AI win took a lot out of this team in terms if energy levels n appetite. So far only Colm Parkinson from the media has called Clare's potential in my view.

Here's an idea how about we accept someone's idea without calling him names. Particularly since so far there has been no evidence they are wrong.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 17/06/2014 17:01:20    1605198

Banner boy u asked for other hurling fans opinions. Do u now accept middletons view point on last years Munster final. Or is he filled with bitterness hatred n jealousy as well?????

In your own time now please ha ha

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 17/06/2014 17:07:45    1605202

I do have a slight query regarding the fatigue levels of Clare after winning the all Ireland. Cork played against them in both all Ireland's and last Sunday looked like they could run for another 20/30 mins. I don't think prep had anything to do with Clare's defeat. I think two things caught them. They were very indiciplined. The free won by corks no.11 is the only free cork shouldn't have got after watching the game while there were a few the cork backs should have got that they didn't . So when Clare are finished with their investigation the will see the free count should have been higher and that the no.4 should have been sent off and not for sticking the butt of the Hurley in to cadogen but for everything else he did for 35 mins.

Secondly like I said earlier their game plan. Ellis barely pucked a ball Sunday but his contribution to cork was huge. He filled the spaces that were free last year his intelligent running was fantastic. Clare need a new game plan. Their star forwards from lady year will be well marked their space will be cut off .

While disillusioned fan has rattled a few cages the facts are there to be seen. Clare have gone backwards not because their players have but the way they play has been analysed to death and teams will know how to set up against them. Last year they were the surprise package that won't be the case this year. Cork have gone forward the new players have made a big difference and most of the players from last year have upped it a level.

The five point victory Sunday flattered Clare and truth be told cork were a long way ahead of the in hurling terms. While Clare are giving out about the ref I would contend the fractured nature of the game ment the cork forwards didn't get a chance to truely express themselves

I don't think Clare are sixth but I do think after the latest range of games it's

Kilkenny
Cork
Limerick
Dublin
Clare
Galway

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 18/06/2014 11:35:59    1605443

Ps....Richie....so that table you have come up with is based on the last result of each county? I can accept that because we lost against Cork we are not the "form" team, but we can beat all the four teams you have above us. So that can change pretty quickly. We will see. The point I was making and STILL making to say Clare are not a top 6 Hurling side and Limerick are is hilarious.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 18/06/2014 12:49:41    1605490

I would not get riles Bannerboy, Clare will be there and there abouts final few games this season. A fine outfit.

Hoover78 (Limerick) - Posts: 865 - 18/06/2014 12:59:19    1605496

BannerBoy2013

I better quantify me table

Kilkenny were awesome against a very poor offaly so we will learn more about them this weekend
Cork were dominant in last sundays match and look like a side that have gone up a level from last years all ireland final
Limerick beat tiperary fairly well but there are still alot of question marks over them we will learn more in the munster final
Dublin looked like when they opened up in the second half the were powerful and will be a handful
clare beaten comprehensively by cork but will have a kick in them
Galway were poor against laois but always start slow

thats is where my table comes from and as you know it could all be different next month

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 18/06/2014 14:09:53    1605554