Clare v Cork

So Tipp beat Clare in a league semi final, Limerick beat Tipp so therefore Limerick are way better than Clare......

There has been some rubbish wrote on this site over the years but this one is top of the list in my opinion. The league is made up of glorified challenges. It has no bearing on the championship. Going on league form, Limerick drew with Offaly, Tipp beat Clare. Limerick beat Tipp 2 weeks ago in the championship. So Offaly must obviously be better than Tipp and Clare

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 16/06/2014 13:37:14    1604482

Would that be the same Galway who beat Limerick handy in the league in Limerick Dissillusioned fan? Strange way of rating teams you have!
For me Clare are still champs and after KK are the team to beat. A good draw in the qualifiers and they will be up and running.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 16/06/2014 13:42:04    1604487

I don't know about that icehonesty I felt the player was going down before he was even touched

Yeah, You would say that being a Clare fan though wouldnt you ?

For me the free given for the first goal was perfectly legit, Even Ger Loughnane said as much on the SG and he is a Clare man.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 16/06/2014 13:48:07    1604493

Read the post lads banner boy mentioned the league. I was just using a barometer intriduced by banner boy

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 16/06/2014 15:25:32    1604570

Davy would want to catch a grip, laying the blame of an under par performance at the respective doors of the clubs in Clare and the county footballers. Didn't seem to affect Aidan Walsh yesterday...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 16/06/2014 16:29:25    1604610

I think Davy is right. It isnt possible to play both codes and I bet Walsh Cahalane and Cadogan will find that out. To have 3 dual players will certainly have a negative effect on one or both Cork teams before the year is out (heres hoping that starts on munster final day ha ah). Before league started I queired the wisdom of Podge playing both codes and was told by Clare posters that they had plenty of forwards to take his place. In my view on top form Podge would make any team in the country and no county Clare or anyone else have the calibre of forwards to replace him.

If Clare were challenging for something in football I could understand it. Anyway Davy is now saying that Clare will struggle in the qualifiers. So am I but for some reason Im getting a lot more stick for it ha ha.

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 17/06/2014 08:46:10    1604821

I think I recall Cork beating Clare by 8 points last year and look what happened. Clare WILL be back have no doubt about that.

Yes we got a couple of soft frees yesterday but they were not game changers. We were the better team on the day. That will count for nothing later in the year. Davy will have Clare primed for action.

Looking forward to a Munster final in the Pairc. Should be a great day.

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 17/06/2014 10:25:58    1604873

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=218535

Clare looking for a full enquiry into the match! I would agree that the ref handed out some dubious frees but thats a bit over the top!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 17/06/2014 10:47:52    1604890

If Clare are actually serious and are looking for an ivestigation regarding last Sunday's match then that is plan sad. Most if not all Clare posters here seem to agree that they were beaten by a better team & maybe their county board should just be like them & accept their defeat & move on.

dcb (Kilkenny) - Posts: 26 - 17/06/2014 11:33:42    1604926

Are they alluding to some sort of skullduggery before and after the game?

The HQ may have to do something, not so much to appease Davy and Clare but to maintain the good name of the association and referee..

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 17/06/2014 11:51:34    1604941

I hope Cork CB have the good sense not to get sucked into this. They promised last week that they'd comment on Loughnane's accusations about them trying to fix refs for the AI final. I'd now rather that they didn't. From the 'Little fishes' speach last year, to Loghnane's outburst about the Cork CB, to the changing of the rules the week before the game, to this nonsense. The whole thing is descending into a farcical pantomime. Cork officialdom should take a leaf out of JBMs book and maintain a dignified silence.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 17/06/2014 11:59:04    1604945

Ref gave Cork every decision from the first whistle to the last against Dublin in the semi final last year.

Cork do seem to get the nod for 50/50 calls and are given soft frees.

Question this and it's called sour grapes!

If we are honest Clare weren't at it the weekend, and Cork won and were deserving winners.

No need for enquiries!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/06/2014 12:01:39    1604947

I think Clare might be aggrieved by something that happened off the field as well it seems. There is no harm in every game being reviewed in hurling and football. The referees perhaps should make some statements about the frees that are given.

I guess it is a bigger issue, but Donal Og stated openly on the Sunday game(and Eddie Brennan acknowledged it),and numerous other times, that players are being coached to be cynical. Now neither Donal Og or Eddie would give away names (they would be fools to)but we can all see it. Referees need to be accountable for what they give frees for and coaches need to be accountable for what they coach. They both need guidance from Croke Park.

I agree with Davy about dual players. Jim Gavin also says it.

It will take its toll on Aidan Walsh.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/06/2014 12:02:43    1604948

To the Clare posters fairplay in coming out and saying best team won , dust yourselves down bounce back later in year , as for your county board Full investigation , shame on them , complete overreaction to some dodgy calls , christ we start having full investigations because ref,s get things wrong we,d never have a game .interesting that cost of getting a county team ready is mentioned Id hasten to add whats that got to do with anything as thats self inflicted , and if success and expenditure are linked well that was county boards decision .
Difference between teams from what I saw was a bit of pace , intensity , and I think Corks earlier games played a huge part in that , Liam Mc Carty is already shaping up similar to last year in that any team on their day can win or be vulnerable .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/06/2014 12:31:24    1604969

It is getting all very like 1998 again! Priests will be presented as evidence of over heard conversations next!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 17/06/2014 12:48:50    1604983

I've never heard such whingeing about a match in my life as this one. County board official now looking for a full review of the match. Cop on.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2575 - 17/06/2014 12:52:59    1604985

If it wasnt Cork would there a topic about it?

Every game will have questionable calls by the refs. He got some wrong ones for sure in this game but nothing that would have me going ape about it. Probably a Cork bias as much as anything. Had Waterford been the opponent and the same calls made would there be people saying the same?

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 17/06/2014 12:58:40    1604993

I say bring on the inquiry. Lets start with interaction of Clare management with ref and with comments printed in relation to penalty in Mondays papers.

Attempts to bully refs must be stamped out. While we are at it lets review 1B league final in 12 and LK W ford game in 11. One man common to all 3.

I for one am sick of this kind of behaviour am sick of the swearing and the aggression on the sideline. I bring my kids to these games n I think it is time the GAA did something

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 17/06/2014 13:14:08    1605009

If it wasnt Cork would there a topic about it?

Yeah Brianmac - the Dublin footballers would probably provoke the same whigefest! In fairness, Kerry and Kilkenny get their share of 'it's not fair' merchants as well. But overall, you're right. Whenever a 'big county' gets a decison or two, the whinge machine goes into overdrive. I was in Thurles on Sunday. I could see the off the ball antics. There's bound to be a few Cork camera phones that saw them as well. So how far does this 'full investigation' go? Is it just RTE cameras? Or every camera? Should the GAA call up the 28,000 witnesses? Cause I reckon if the game is 'fully investigated,' Clare mightn't be too happy with the results. It is my honest opinion that the were lucky to finish with 15 men.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 17/06/2014 13:21:49    1605018

It's sounding like 1998 allover again, Clare think they can get away with everything and when someone goes against their tactics the toys come out of the pram and no-one is safe, their popularity with neutrals won't be long disappearing

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 17/06/2014 13:28:58    1605025