Pre-match brawl

as usual when it comes to matters like this...the angry brigade get on their high moral ground...and there's a lot of nonsense about a pre-meditated act by armagh...armagh led by mckeever obviously did something to wind up cavan and they fell for it hook line and sinker..it was cavan players who threw the first dig, and from then on armagh had the game won..can't believe that cavan players were so daft to fall for the ruse...it's right up there with tyrone running to the hill in 84, and mayo doing the same in 06...dublin fell for the mayo trap in 06, but listen we didn't hear as much fuss about dublin or mayo antics that day..
at the end of the day this will be old news next week...nothing to see here lads...now come on..move along

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 10/06/2014 21:03:19    1601810

As a neutral it seems Armagh are trying to muddy the water with this cock and bull story about home sides or away sides on certain sides...hard facts Armagh went behind the Cavan Flag to provoke , intimidate & hurt Cavan Players...they succeeded in Nailing Dunne...what stunt will they pull in the semi final??

hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 870 - 10/06/2014 21:15:37    1601819

The BBC and UTV's coverage has been along the usual lines regarding this incident; exaggerated, mock indignation. Most of the time they try to push the GAA to the back of the bus as their lack of coverage shows but they love these sorts of incidents so that they can beat us with a big stick.

The amount of air time BBC gave it they could have used to show the Antrim game.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/06/2014 21:17:18    1601821

Hurler32 i have heard from a few that dunne injured himself when he was behind a player. Honestly how would you injure someones hand?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 10/06/2014 21:34:00    1601835

One other thing, everyone saying Cavan feel for the trick and lost the psychological battle, first blow for Armagh etc. The fact that Cavan got to march stand side behind their flag, would this not suggest that Cavan won that initial battle????? All downhill after that though. And I don't think Dunne was targeted. Most players were in the vicinity of the row. Fact is he's the smallest player on pitch so therefore most likely to get injured.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 10/06/2014 21:42:17    1601847

youngfella27
County: Armagh

1601254 Torcaill
County: Australia

as you don't no what you are talking about don't comment, Armagh were in the right position, as the cavan supporter said that McKeever asked the flag Bearer to change but didn't, cavan come In like a bull to a red flag. but its over leave it all done and dusted let it move on.

I presume you mean know!!!! :)

Why should the flag bearer change?

Why didn't Armagh just line up behind their own flag? Who cares what side it might be on?

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 10/06/2014 22:02:18    1601884

Torcaill
County: Australia

I presume you mean know!!!! :)

Why should the flag bearer change?

Why didn't Armagh just line up behind their own flag? Who cares what side it might be on?

You seem to know alot about this incident Torcaill, tell me what channel you watched the match on?

It was a storm in a teacup, both teams were to blame and the only people happy is happened are joe duffy, the bbc, utv, the independent and all the other unionists

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 11/06/2014 08:24:51    1601894

Storm in a teacup did a pivotal player for cavan not get injured during the melee before a ball was thrown in. Obviously had an effect on Cavan and possibly the result.
If stuff like that is acceptable....then this sport is fit for the dogs

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 11/06/2014 10:09:49    1601943

Ulsterman

1601519 Aaron Kernan in today's Daily Mirror insists that Armagh did not have any pre-match masterplan to wind up Cavan or deliberately start anything. He says Armagh lined up in the place where home teams always line up and that Cavan thought they were disrespecting them when they weren't........but he would say that wouldn't he?

or maybe that's just what happened? C Mckeever as another cavan fan posted asked for the flag bearer to switch - if their was a pre-meditated plan to cause a row then he surely wouldn't have asked (I was standing close and seen him ask her too). Cavan obviously thought they were being disrespected (unfortunate crossing of wires)and rushed in. Personally wouldn't have that band back at the athletic grounds, if it puts two members of the band so out of their way to move 5 yards. Its customary for the home to team to stand where Armagh lined out - just move when your asked!
As for Dunne, if your going to seek to injure a player I don't think you aim for their hand in a 'fight'. What do you grab and twist it till he submits? That was unfortunate and most likely an accident as the hoganstand article has said.

ArmaghAndProud (Armagh) - Posts: 48 - 11/06/2014 10:40:39    1601957

Not sure it is as innocent as some people make out.
I always felt a marker would laid down by a team at some stage of this encounter especially after last years result.
It accelerated far too quickly in my opinion.
I think suspensions/fines will be handed out - GAA needs to ensure it doesn't happen again and they need to be seen to act accordingly.

The fan who threw a punch at the Cavan player definitely needs to be identified also. Disgraceful act.

And I am not just being all high and mighty here either...!
People talk about worse happening in club games etc, but if it is allowed to happen at an Inter County game, then there is no hope of such actions being eradicated from the club scene.
I am all for a bit of physicality in games but for heavens sake - during a pre match parade.
Make a ruling on which team lines up where, make some fines to county boards or whatever, but do something about it.
After the Dublin v Mayo incident a few years ago, a ruling was then made on who comes out first and to which end.
It is not rocket science. Easy to sort.

End of rant... :o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4250 - 11/06/2014 10:42:30    1601958

Big win for the its a disgrace brigade , hysteria brought about by the what ifs , one poster puts did we need a 10 year old to lose an eye before we changed , well that just about sums it up , he probably things 10 year olds use real solitars unlike the big soft balls they actually use , oh and then a ten year old with that technique , nothing like ignorance and opinion to stir things up , and thats what this was all about , I posted numerous times can anyone provide DATA not OPINION regarding injuries ? It wasnt as forthcoming , but the doomsday merchants persisted .Now we have a new interpretation of rule , in a way Im glad as what happened on Sunday clearly coulnt continue either , as to if the balance has shifted to cynical defending or not , Id hold fire and see how games turn out , make for an intresting weekend all right .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/06/2014 10:58:48    1601970

Reading todays Angleo Celt who spoke to the flag bearer she blames McKeever for the way he spoke to her. He told her to move and when she said pardon he roared at her to move to f*****. She said she was not moving from the position she was as she was not going to accept been verbally abused by him.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 11/06/2014 11:10:45    1601977

Jaysus so a stubborn woman started the war - its a modern day Homeric epic!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/06/2014 11:41:23    1602002

Was the bands fault then

Armaghgeddon (Armagh) - Posts: 539 - 11/06/2014 11:47:45    1602013

All Im saying is that if this happened in a game in Kerry or cork or even Dublin there would be no word of it I think that ppl have taken it out of context, a few wee punches we aren't soccer players we have grew up being able to take a hit and the pride in the jersey and not taking a step back this happens in matches all over, soooo I think we should get over it and continue on with the cship.

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 11/06/2014 11:48:15    1602014

woops

Storm in a teacup did a pivotal player for cavan not get injured during the melee before a ball was thrown in. Obviously had an effect on Cavan and possibly the result.
If stuff like that is acceptable....then this sport is fit for the dogs

Perhaps he shouldn't have got involved in the melee then woops, as the man says he didn't get it for saying his prayers. It had divil all affect on Cavan as they got off to a better start to the game than Armagh.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 11/06/2014 11:50:34    1602020

Reading todays Angleo Celt who spoke to the flag bearer she blames McKeever for the way he spoke to her. He told her to move and when she said pardon he roared at her to move to f*****. She said she was not moving from the position she was as she was not going to accept been verbally abused by him.

If nothing else does this mean we can put the "Armagh pre-meditated this" argument to bed?

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 11/06/2014 11:51:24    1602024

Youngfella,

What about the supporter caught hitting the player?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/06/2014 11:51:42    1602025

Damothedub

Big win for the its a disgrace brigade , hysteria brought about by the what ifs , one poster puts did we need a 10 year old to lose an eye before we changed , well that just about sums it up , he probably things 10 year olds use real solitars unlike the big soft balls they actually use , oh and then a ten year old with that technique , nothing like ignorance and opinion to stir things up , and thats what this was all about , I posted numerous times can anyone provide DATA not OPINION regarding injuries ? It wasnt as forthcoming , but the doomsday merchants persisted .Now we have a new interpretation of rule , in a way Im glad as what happened on Sunday clearly coulnt continue either , as to if the balance has shifted to cynical defending or not , Id hold fire and see how games turn out , make for an intresting weekend all right .

Ha ha , this should be on the Nash page , course no noticed , wonder if anyone actually reads posts

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/06/2014 12:13:12    1602039

He told her to move and when she said pardon he roared at her to move to f*****.

F*****?

Farney?
Fermoy?
France?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/06/2014 12:13:59    1602041