Pre-match brawl

through*

Whoops :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8754 - 09/06/2014 19:13:52    1601033

Oak how can you say it was armaghs fault? From the looks of it id say cavan were at fault. Regarding dunne i know a few lads who have finished up with hand injuries...it wasnt from them getting beat either

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 09/06/2014 19:15:28    1601034

If these lads were any good they would be playing hurling and not football. Hurlers hurl, footballers wrestle

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 09/06/2014 19:26:23    1601038

ormondbannerman 09/06/2014 17:05:30

So punches are bad and choking and giving headlocks are ok then?

Maybe you picked it up wrong, I wasn't trying to justify choking or headlocks, merely stating that that's what it mostly was. My point is that some people here are saying it was only handbags because there weren't many clear punches thrown. Why does that have to matter... Whether it was punches, headlocks, choking, tickling or whatever else it all comes under the same category in this instance.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 523 - 09/06/2014 19:46:41    1601051

Mike03, you mustn't have seen the row between cork and Waterford (hurlers) yesterday so, i suppose? Nothing manly about bating lads with sticks either!

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 09/06/2014 20:04:10    1601067

24 hours on and I'll give my two cents. Saw the RTE News and YouTube footage. The YouTube footage actually comes from members of the band. They were so shaken up all they could think about was recording it and uploading it onto the web. The YouTube videos are of when the row had died down. It was definitely more than handbags and numerous punches were thrown. I saw this first hand as it was close to me. Not sure on numbers as I was looking from one row to the next. Our captain started it by shouldering McKeever and then players from BOTH sides jumped in not just a couple Cavan lads. McKeever had actually asked the flag bearer to move and she refused. I didn't see Martin Dunne incident but at his size he should be well out of it. The worst culprit was a Cavan player who kicked Jamie Clarke a couple of times when he was lying on the ground scuffling with a Cavan player. A Cavan player did not have him pinned down and punched him. He gave as good as he got with the player on the ground. It was the Cavan player that came in with the boot was the disgrace. And it was not two players kicking him as some poster suggested. As for the game Armagh were miles the better team with Cavan unable to break the line. As for Csvan fans complaining Armagh targeted our best player, cop on. Some of us have being slating him for months and questioning his place on the team.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 09/06/2014 20:54:58    1601099

Sean Cavanagh pulled a player down and we seen the commotion that caused so surely they won t sweep this under the carpet.

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 09/06/2014 20:55:43    1601100

Nothing like a rant and loss of perspective on a Monday following an auld viewing of the SG ,this could be on utube and people might see us , this will drive people away from our game and straight into the welcoming arms of Rugby and soccer , were doomed were doomed its the end of the association , its a disgrace .
Yes Joe Duffy listeners alive and well on HS today ,
This is the blight and thuggery at the heart of the association that needs dealing with , well really ? Wheres the facts to back this up ? I attend club games every week from junior Bs to seniors , I have contacts in many clubs and Im not hearing anything anecdotally to say we have an epidemic on our hands , but hey don't let the facts spoil a good story , when was the last time you saw anything like yesterday in club or county ? What happened was rare , let authorities look at it if they decide action needs to be taken I hope both counties take it on the chin , but god can some of the posters lighten up and climb down from the pulpit , and remember next week black card and all you get to jump up on the pulpit all over again

Amen to that.

The games I watch today are much tamer than the ones I experienced 20 years ago and they were tame compared to the games my father talks of.

One point though - if a spectator reached in and hit a player then that is totally unacceptable and the supporter needs to be rooted out and banned.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/06/2014 20:57:06    1601102

Reading the match report, I would be suspicious of the Martin Dunne injured himself in the melee argument. Had someone like Kevin Tierney or Mickey Lyng came in and replaced him, I could believe it. But Killian Brady was his replacement. Givney went to full-forward and Brady to midfield confirming the belief that Terry Hyland still doesn't want to play two attack minded midfielders together. It all seems like it was part of the script to me.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 09/06/2014 21:00:52    1601106

Time to move on from this bull****....media looking for something to write about from a boring start to a championship...bar 2nd half tyrone and down we have yet to see a decent game.!!...we need a massive game in 3 weeks

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 09/06/2014 21:17:00    1601121

HandballRef

ormondbannerman 09/06/2014 17:05:30

So punches are bad and choking and giving headlocks are ok then?

Maybe you picked it up wrong, I wasn't trying to justify choking or headlocks, merely stating that that's what it mostly was. My point is that some people here are saying it was only handbags because there weren't many clear punches thrown. Why does that have to matter... Whether it was punches, headlocks, choking, TICKLING or whatever else it all comes under the same category in this instance.

--------

Tickling.?....what do ya's be at in donegal.?..;)

.tribute (Cavan) - Posts: 360 - 09/06/2014 21:23:16    1601128

A very honest analysis doratheexplorer

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 09/06/2014 21:25:00    1601130

I think yiz are getting too soft lads, too much tikme behind computers or whatever it is you do. A soft oil row, youd see seven or eight worse every weekend

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 09/06/2014 21:28:41    1601135

Former_Poster

Reading the match report, I would be suspicious of the Martin Dunne injured himself in the melee argument. Had someone like Kevin Tierney or Mickey Lyng came in and replaced him, I could believe it. But Killian Brady was his replacement. Givney went to full-forward and Brady to midfield confirming the belief that Terry Hyland still doesn't want to play two attack minded midfielders together. It all seems like it was part of the script to me.

Martin Dunne was replaced by Jack Brady.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 09/06/2014 21:42:12    1601149

Doratheexplorer very well said even if a bit hard on your own team.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 09/06/2014 21:49:53    1601151

it was a set up by Armagh an Cavan fell straight into the trap.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 910 - 09/06/2014 21:58:53    1601166

doratheexplorer

24 hours on and I'll give my two cents. Saw the RTE News and YouTube footage. The YouTube footage actually comes from members of the band. They were so shaken up all they could think about was recording it and uploading it onto the web. The YouTube videos are of when the row had died down. It was definitely more than handbags and numerous punches were thrown. I saw this first hand as it was close to me. Not sure on numbers as I was looking from one row to the next. Our captain started it by shouldering McKeever and then players from BOTH sides jumped in not just a couple Cavan lads. McKeever had actually asked the flag bearer to move and she refused. I didn't see Martin Dunne incident but at his size he should be well out of it. The worst culprit was a Cavan player who kicked Jamie Clarke a couple of times when he was lying on the ground scuffling with a Cavan player. A Cavan player did not have him pinned down and punched him. He gave as good as he got with the player on the ground. It was the Cavan player that came in with the boot was the disgrace. And it was not two players kicking him as some poster suggested. As for the game Armagh were miles the better team with Cavan unable to break the line. As for Csvan fans complaining Armagh targeted our best player, cop on. Some of us have being slating him for months and questioning his place on the team.

That about sums it up perfectly. And that's coming from a Cavan fan. I was saying that two men were punching Clarke and one was kicking him. I take that back after seeing a replay as it was just the one of them who was on top punching him, while the other was kicking him. When Clarke got up, he threw a number of punches, so he was at it as well.

As I've said before, if Martin Dunne injured his hand, isn't it just as likely that he did by punching someone or just in the general scuffle that took place rather than someone going for his hand of all body parts.

This idea that it was set up by Armagh is nonsense. If the flag holders were standing where they were supposed to or switched when they were asked, Armagh wouldn't have been behind the Cavan flag, meaning Cavan wouldn't have needed to come over to stand behind their flag and the flair up wouldn't have happened.

PatrickArmagh (Down) - Posts: 42 - 10/06/2014 09:29:19    1601206

As an Armagh supporter I was at the match in the stand in front of the row, all in all there was very little happened, have to say tho maybe Armagh did go to the wrong flag but does that matter the 2 flags could have be changed very handy, Plus a Cavan player kicked Jamie Clarke on the ground 3 times which is a joke, I know that Armagh was in it to but Martin Dunne punched out that's how he hurt his hand and run to get into the middle of the row cant really say he was singled out for punishment like. AND to the Tyrone 1s writing on this about it they have short memories when the row up in Omagh, if they need players suspended to beat Armagh then its not a good sign, but it was all blown proportion like it wasn't that bad..... Bring on the Ulster Semi Final

youngfella27 (Armagh) - Posts: 110 - 10/06/2014 09:35:04    1601208

youngfella27
County: Armagh

1601208 As an Armagh supporter I was at the match in the stand in front of the row, all in all there was very little happened, have to say tho maybe Armagh did go to the wrong flag but does that matter the 2 flags could have be changed very handy, ..

Could they not have just lined up behind the correct flag?

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 10/06/2014 10:16:05    1601226

Former_Poster

1601106 Reading the match report, I would be suspicious of the Martin Dunne injured himself in the melee argument. Had someone like Kevin Tierney or Mickey Lyng came in and replaced him, I could believe it. But Killian Brady was his replacement. Givney went to full-forward and Brady to midfield confirming the belief that Terry Hyland still doesn't want to play two attack minded midfielders together. It all seems like it was part of the script to me.

Jack Brady replaced Martin Dunne and Dunne took a full part in the warmup and was kicking points moments before the parade, so it would appear he was injured in the melee.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12359 - 10/06/2014 10:24:16    1601236