Pre-match brawl

From what I saw one Armagh player definitely threw a punch without question.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 09/06/2014 14:14:37    1600689

09/06/2014 14:07:40
ballydalane
County: Kilkenny

It was hard to make out all the perpetrators as there were so many bodies flying all over the place. People trying to write it off as "pushing-and-shoving" and "handbags" are downplaying the seriousness of the incident. There was a lot of wrestling and the like but there also looked like there were some punches thrown. The GAA would need to study a slow-motion replay of the incident and study each player involved to see which guys threw punches, which guys threw kicks, which guys were trying to break it up etc.

As a GAA fan I find these incidents embarrassing. I can think of no other sport where there would be a mass brawl BEFORE the actual event, never mind during it.
09/06/2014 14:07:41

Off top of my head boxing and ice hockey nice bit of hows your father before both sports

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/06/2014 14:15:09    1600692

TheGateKeeper

Just out of interest, what did the cameras miss regarding the 12 apostles?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8754 - 09/06/2014 14:16:19    1600695

I think it's mostly the Ulster muppets saying it was only handbags. They are well use to seeing nothing but pushing and pulling during the game so why not let the lads at it during the parade too.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 09/06/2014 14:17:23    1600697

Is there anything to be said for another mass

LKGael (Donegal) - Posts: 234 - 09/06/2014 14:19:02    1600700

Someone ring Joe Duffy...

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 09/06/2014 14:25:24    1600711

Lol @ LKgael

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8754 - 09/06/2014 14:27:22    1600714

daytona11

1600697 I think it's mostly the Ulster muppets saying it was only handbags. They are well use to seeing nothing but pushing and pulling during the game so why not let the lads at it during the parade too.

And people insist it's paranoia.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12359 - 09/06/2014 14:30:47    1600719

The tit for tat between the two counties posting here with the other jackasses promoting brawls obviously are hurlers on the ditch who don't promote our games. Yesterdays scenes were a disgrace to the Association & do massive PR damage to our games. New people thinking of having their kids play our games looking at this will think there are no rules or discipline. We are in major competition with soccer & rugby for players. Watch their pre match & you don't see brawls or players been taken out. All this talk of it's a mans game is rubbish. Brolly from Monaghan what if your son was in the band parade & was struck & injured. Would it be a mans game then ? You would be on here giving out. Real men can control themselves & their discipline & do their talking on the field. As for no punches thrown, wake up & look at it in slow motion, punches were thrown by 3 players & 1 supporter. What if one of the children in the band was struck or injured or one of the kids in the stand. Who would be responsible, who would pay. What if your child was assaulted. Keep condoning these things & brushing them under the carpet as the GAA do will eventually lead to a serious incident & the courts, I'm afraid this is what it will take for us to take action. The dismissal of it by the Sunday Game panelists was very disappointing. The GAA will talk tough dish out a few suspensions, fines to the county boards & all will be reversed in a couple of weeks when it's all blown over. The irony is the same county boards nationwide that appeal these fines & bans are charged with maintaining discipline at club level, no standards. Take decisive action now & ban those involved & set some example. I am aware that this post will be castigated by many, but we have seen what happens in this country if people do what they want & nobody stands up & says stop. If this had gone out on Sky & viewed worldwide we would be a laughing stock. If you think it's a laugh & great scene for YouTube, then you don't really don't have the good of the Association at heart.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 09/06/2014 15:01:39    1600763

daytona11

1600697 I think it's mostly the Ulster muppets saying it was only handbags. They are well use to seeing nothing but pushing and pulling during the game so why not let the lads at it during the parade too.

Says daytona11 sitting in his wee frilly knickers!!

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/06/2014 15:07:18    1600776

Uimhir.a.3.

1600763 The tit for tat between the two counties posting here with the other jackasses promoting brawls obviously are hurlers on the ditch who don't promote our games. Yesterdays scenes were a disgrace to the Association & do massive PR damage to our games. New people thinking of having their kids play our games looking at this will think there are no rules or discipline. We are in major competition with soccer & rugby for players.

Yeah let them play rugby where they are much more likely to get punched, gouged or spear tackled than be in involved in a brawl whilst playing GAA.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12359 - 09/06/2014 15:17:50    1600792

I agree Naysayer, too many Ginny Annes on here!

Go away and play hockey/soccer if you want non contact sports!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/06/2014 15:28:48    1600805

was at the game and was not impressed with brawl it was ridiculous to say the least but a lot of untruths been put up here have watched the videos and coverage on rte news several times and can assure you the goalkeeper did not start this carry on couldnt see jamie clarke been kicked on the ground saw serveral players from both sides wrestling pulling each other on and off each other am sure the video coverage will checked through very carefully on the news armagh number 4 was on top of a cavan player that was the only number you could see clearly but again thats just the piece they used six of one and half a dozen of the other maybe the parade should only be at an ulster final

cavan.wanderer (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 09/06/2014 15:41:45    1600824

Why did the armagh players line up behind the cavan flag??? This seems was purely just to rattle the canav players. This in my opinion was the first strike in all this. Hell its not like the flags arent big enough ?? The melee was a direct result of this and i hope action is taken to ensure that no team in the future does the same.

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 09/06/2014 15:44:37    1600828

This is quite simple. The seeds for these were sown last year with Cavan's rough treatment of Jamie Clarke, he was pulled and dragged and flung around the place and the ref done nothing. This year Armagh were prepared and when Cavan came over all big men mad for fight in the parade it was time to let them know who's boss and lay down a marker.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 145 - 09/06/2014 15:48:08    1600835

Armagh lads, no harm but you are absolutely fooling no-one with the "innocent victims" card. Not even yourselves.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12359 - 09/06/2014 15:52:12    1600838

Dessie_Cross
County: Armagh

1600835 This is quite simple. The seeds for these were sown last year with Cavan's rough treatment of Jamie Clarke, he was pulled and dragged and flung around the place and the ref done nothing. This year Armagh were prepared and when Cavan came over all big men mad for fight in the parade it was time to let them know who's boss and lay down a marker.

Ye targetted some of our players yesterday so dry your eyes and just be pleased with your win. Why the need for a sympathy vote?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12359 - 09/06/2014 15:54:31    1600841

LKGael

1600700 Is there anything to be said for another mass

Brilliant.

This whole thing has been totally blown out of proportion. Some people calling for bans and teams thrown out etc!! You'd see worse handbags in a cricket match.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 09/06/2014 15:57:28    1600846

Dunne should call the police and press assault charges. This is total bulls**t and completely unacceptable but if it is just left to the GAA to deal with, it will be swept under the carpet as usual.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1034 - 09/06/2014 15:58:11    1600849

Uimhir.a.3, that is a very good post, and I'd agree with all of it.

To say 'there weren't that many punches thrown' is to turn a blind eye to those that were. To say that 'none of the children in the band were hurt' is to dicount the probability that on another day at least one of them would have been injured. And to say that 'it is a contact sport' ignores the fact that the game hadn't even started.

This sort of rubbish is still too prevalent in our games, as are those who dismiss it as being part and parcel of the sport. Excluding Ice-hockey (a sport on its knees in terms of market share in the US), you don't get this type of behaviour in any other top sport with the regularity that you get it in the GAA. Yet despite this ongoing problem, we are told that the biggest blights on our organisation are refereeing inconsistency and blanket defences. This is nonsense. It is this thuggish, 'one-in-all in', psuedo-machismo behaviour that we really need to stamp out. The engaging in behaviour that, off the field, would land lads in court, yet is defended by fans and squirmed out of by county boards and club committees the length and breadth of the island. I hope the GAA finally make a start by dishing out a handful of suspensions and a couple of large fines to both counties.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 09/06/2014 16:11:09    1600859