Pre-match brawl

Handbag stuff.

Look we all know Armagh are useless but Cavan are even more useless. And these lads thought they could seriously win Ulster?
I got a good laugh out of yesterdays result anyway.

Dessie_Cross (Armagh) - Posts: 145 - 09/06/2014 11:16:30    1600448

Like many others hear I was shocked when I saw the footage last night.

After the build up all evening and trial by internet I was expecting a bit of a spectacle and instead all we get is grown men pushing each other and wrestling to the ground.

Society has become seriously sanitised these days!

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/06/2014 11:23:00    1600456

Only one clean punch I seen was thrown by Armagh number 8 sprinting in and landing on Cavan number 8 at the start.. Mostly men trying to choke each other and in headlocks! But why are people worried about whether punches were thrown or not?? As if this makes all the difference in whether to hand out suspensions or not!! If there's no suspensions handed out by the GAA it is a joke...

I don't mind seeing the odd dust up now and again at club games but I can't get my head around some people on here who are genuinely disappointed that there were not more punches thrown!! It beggars belief

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 523 - 09/06/2014 11:24:08    1600458

HandballRef

Only one clean punch I seen was thrown by Armagh number 8 sprinting in and landing on Cavan number 8 at the start..

Ye saw that myself but I looked over it a couple of times and you can see the Cavan no.8 swing his hand into the Armagh no.8's face before the Armagh fella reacts with a 'punch'. But neither the Cavan player's swing nor Armagh player's half hearted punch are really worth talking about, they looked like pretty soft incidents.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2014 11:34:22    1600472

Not condoning it any way but the whole "melee" was as tame as they come in comparison with some of the violence you see in rugby brawls. This has been discussed before but there is an obvious and undeniable double standard in the reporting of these incidents.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12359 - 09/06/2014 11:38:57    1600475

rté's 9 o clock news showed punches being thrown by the armagh no 4 as he pinned cavan n0.20 on the ground along the fence and a supporter in a white shirt on the outside of the fence threw a punch at cavan no.4......see at exactly 15 minutes into the clip below

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10291173/

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 09/06/2014 11:48:10    1600485

KingdomBoy1

1600380 I'm probably going to get in trouble for saying this , but I think it's great, remember the great brawls of years gone by. Well done Cavan and Armagh hopefully we'll see more of it in the coming weeks ahead.

Agreed! Bunch of owl ones on this!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 09/06/2014 12:32:10    1600530

ConnollyDub

KingdomBoy1

1600380 I'm probably going to get in trouble for saying this , but I think it's great, remember the great brawls of years gone by. Well done Cavan and Armagh hopefully we'll see more of it in the coming weeks ahead.

Agreed! Bunch of owl ones on this!

+1
More boxing please.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/06/2014 12:50:01    1600556

I am not sure guys,I mean Cavans best forward couldn't play because he broke something in a pre-match parade! Fairly serious if you ask me..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 09/06/2014 13:18:32    1600596

Marty Duffy should have just swapped the flags around, although granted that was after most of the handbag stuff had ended.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 09/06/2014 13:19:24    1600600

There is thuggery , there is cynical injuring of an opponent , and theres stupidity , which category does the brawl fall into ? Well for me downright stupidity , big grown men and their handbags , but thats all it was , Ive seen far worse in off the ball and supposedly badly timed tackles , were lads were well and truly done .
Mayo v Meath have a look back now THAT was a brawl , as for how this will be perceived abroad , thats just a little self important for me , we don't matter that much lads .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/06/2014 13:19:50    1600602

I remember a fine brawl between kerry and Cork in the late 80s early 90s? Their were separate well contested fights all over the field.

Laois and Louth provided one of the most entertaining brawls with a Tracksuited Louth sub making a daring cameo.

Nobody could forget Colm Coyles one man mission to punch almost the whole Mayo team,After landing a nice shot he rushed on to his next victim like a busy waiter.

The quality of the GAA brawl has steadily declined over the years so it was very heart warming to see those enjoyable scenes in Armagh.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 09/06/2014 13:23:01    1600611

ziggy320001

I am not sure guys,I mean Cavans best forward couldn't play because he broke something in a pre-match parade! Fairly serious if you ask me..

+1.

The GAA need to investigate this. The two key issues here are

1: Why did Armagh line up behind Cavan's flag? And
2: How did our best forward end up with an injury that forced him out of the game?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/06/2014 13:23:38    1600615

Ned_Stormcrow

2: How did our best forward end up with an injury that forced him out of the game?

Do yous really want him suspended as well as injured?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13801 - 09/06/2014 13:25:38    1600619

Ned_Stormcrow

He probably fell on his arm, as the brawl was mostly all pushing and shoving.

The Armagh from back in the day wouldn't have been involved in any such girlie pushing, they would have dished out a proper ass kicking.

The GAA should leave the players alone now, and ban referee Marty Duffy for failing to rectify the flags position.

Armagh and Cavan should now train their men to "Man up", this pushing and shoving carry on is embarassing. Hell even Kerry did it with Cork one time, that's how physical it is.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 09/06/2014 13:57:43    1600670

Ned_Stormcrow

1. Armagh lined up on the outside as they were designated to do. The flag was in the wrong place.

2. So of all the body parts and bones that could have been broken, Martin Dunne injured his hand. Not his face, his jaw or his body, where people aim for when punching.
Don't people break their hands when they punch people? Just saying.

PatrickArmagh (Down) - Posts: 42 - 09/06/2014 13:58:55    1600672

2: How did our best forward end up with an injury that forced him out of the game? [/I]

I think the key issues are:

1: Why did the Cavan players take a 10 yard charge at the Armagh line
2: Why did one of Armagh's best defenders need treatment for bleeding from a head wound?

The video footage clearly shows Cavan instigated this. It's a joke that you are trying to make out Cavan are a totally innocent party. I find it suspicious that it was a hand injury that forced Dunne off, we all know the easiest way to suffer one of those in a brawl.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 09/06/2014 14:04:02    1600678

It was hard to make out all the perpetrators as there were so many bodies flying all over the place. People trying to write it off as "pushing-and-shoving" and "handbags" are downplaying the seriousness of the incident. There was a lot of wrestling and the like but there also looked like there were some punches thrown. The GAA would need to study a slow-motion replay of the incident and study each player involved to see which guys threw punches, which guys threw kicks, which guys were trying to break it up etc.

As a GAA fan I find these incidents embarrassing. I can think of no other sport where there would be a mass brawl BEFORE the actual event, never mind during it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 09/06/2014 14:07:40    1600682

Having just watched the 'brawl', I'd be very disappointed if any actions are taken by the CCCC. Also, people talking about 'the kids' at the match - they are at the wrong game if they thought they were going to see grown men snuggling.

The lessons to be learnt are that strict rules should be put in place about where each team should position themselves in the parade, similar to the rules allocating where each team should warm up before a game following the 'brawl' between Mayo and Dublin when the Dubs and Mayo both warmed up at the Hill 16 End in 2006.

There's a certain resonance here with the Derrytresk knee-jerk fiasco a couple of years ago, the big bad Nordies demonised by certain parts of the media, especially given the 'brawl' in the hurling game yesterday wasn't even mentioned in the news coverage.

muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 09/06/2014 14:07:41    1600683

Pity one of the kids in the band didnt give one of the players a wallop of an instrument.Now dat would have been a sight to behold.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/06/2014 14:13:20    1600686