Pre-match brawl

What is about Ulster, Parades and Flags?
If there is a parade, the home team gets to march on the side closest to the crowd, at least that's my understanding. So strictly speaking Armagh were entitled to be there. Can't excuse the "row", but it was mostly pushin' and shovin', you'd get hit harder in handball. Move along people and let's not make an issue out of something this trivial. It's not the first time we've seen this and it probably made what sounded like a pretty poor game more interesting. Cavan have Westmeath in the qualifiers at home so they should be well able to advance further. They may even get another crack at Armagh as they have the winner of Monaghan/Tyrone next.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 486 - 09/06/2014 09:58:33    1600342

Looking at it again it was hard to see any real punches throwing. More of a wrestling pile up!!

Problem today this stuff will make the news as it sells.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 09/06/2014 09:59:48    1600343

There was a similar brawl just after the penalty save in the cork Waterford hurling game, but this has attracted no media attention. One standard for football, and a different one for hurling?

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 09/06/2014 10:17:27    1600368

It sounds like it was all caused by the flag bearers unfortunately getting their positions wrong.
Have to say though, it wasn't really that vicious, (more unsightly than anything else)
To be honest, I don't think it had any real impact on the outcome of the game.
Cavan actually scored the first 2 points of the game, so you could hardly say it unsettled them.
Armagh were simply the much better team on the day.

Monagael (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 09/06/2014 10:23:46    1600377

I'm probably going to get in trouble for saying this , but I think it's great, remember the great brawls of years gone by. Well done Cavan and Armagh hopefully we'll see more of it in the coming weeks ahead.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/06/2014 10:24:58    1600380

During the dust up, how did Martin Dunne injure his arm, which made it impossible for him to play the game.?

As a neutral I wasn't impressed with Grimley in his interview after the game...

It definitely all worked out to Armagh's benefit it has to be said though.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4250 - 09/06/2014 10:26:18    1600382

Having watched it again on the Sunday game I didn't see a single punch being thrown, though the cameras were not showing everything that happened. Definitely it was handbag stuff - on a grand scale admittedly.

It didn't cost us the game - we were very poor and playing at League pace while Armagh played at Championship pace. Cavan supporters were there in thousands as usual and are getting fairly disgusted with this slow ponderous game over and over again. We have sorted our defensive problems out but that's only a fraction of the game so its high time to move it on and develop the rest of it.

That said I agree with Monaghan posters that Armagh seem to have a history of this. It was well orchestrated in 2004 against Monaghan in the quarter final. They did the same against Cavan in the semi that year but we had a fairly tough mature team at the time and we were ready for them having seen what happened in the previous game. But as other posters have said, there's no place for naievity in the modern game and it's up to mentors and players to be prepared for this kind of thing. If both teams were thrown out of the championship it would end this problem once and for all. How could you suspend individual players in that kind of circumstance?

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 09/06/2014 10:34:14    1600394

Would someone please think of the children

royalfan1316 (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 09/06/2014 10:35:08    1600395

Martin Dunne injured his hand…….hmmmmmm…..during a brawl you say?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13801 - 09/06/2014 10:36:33    1600399

I'm probably going to get in trouble for saying this , but I think it's great, remember the great brawls of years gone by. Well done Cavan and Armagh hopefully we'll see more of it in the coming weeks ahead

+1

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/06/2014 10:37:33    1600402

Hahaha you have to laugh at all the Armagh posters playing the innocent card. Both sides as bad as each other. Don't play the poor aul Jamie Clarke ticket either, he gives as good as he gets and is well able for it.

Well done Armagh, better team on the day!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12359 - 09/06/2014 10:42:14    1600411

The poor children will be traumatised so much that they'll not be able to play call of duty for a few weeks!!

FFS catch yourselves on, royal dunne like a few others with their supposed outrage/shock are pursuing their own agendas!

Derrytresk all over again anyone!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/06/2014 10:42:39    1600412

The amount of lads involved and proximity to crowd made for the OMG of it all , but Ive watched again and theres a massive amount of pushing , holding, jostling and some throat holding , but I didnt see punches closed fist , be better for games image had this not taking place , but all in all wasn't as bad as I was expecting , it was the most vicious handbags Ive ever seen ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/06/2014 10:43:03    1600414

No way, we dont want to be seen by the outside world as the fighting irish. Sky are on board now, and for the rest of the world to be tuning in rubbing their hands to see the paddys brawl would set us back to the days of the punch magazine.

I think that sense will prevail, there will be a couple of token punishments handed out, like fines, and that will be that.

We have got to cop on though. We are all up tight about refs not doing their jobs properly in enforcing the black card for trips and the like and then when a mass brawl breaks out, we are out of our seats cheering the players on (some of us at least)

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 09/06/2014 10:46:07    1600419

Damothedub

Agreed - totally blown out of proportion, I seen more actual punches thrown in the WWF. It was all about nothin, a few head locks and a bit of grappling but thats it. No big deal, you would think it was uppercuts all round if you had listened to the media report.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 09/06/2014 10:48:08    1600423

Individual bans are hard to implement in this case but there are examples where its possible. Cavan 11 and Armagh number 2 (not fully sure but think it was 2) they can clearly be seen trying to restart the row after it was separated. Also the first cavan man in could be banned as it was petty and uncalled for and started this big melee (from what I have read it sounds like this may have been cavan goalkeeper but I didn't see that from the footage iv have seen, I was seen a good few cavan people running in). On top of that both Teams should be given hefty fines. Not quite sure of what way the flags work but if it is a case that the home team and normally on the crowd side then Armagh did nothing wrong until they all joined in which is always going to happen.

In typical GAA fashion they will either sweep it under the carpet or go overboard with bans though

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 09/06/2014 10:48:49    1600424

Why our people making a big deal out of this, does anyone serious think the band members where or our going to be scarred by this the kids will be telling all there mates about it today in school. It should not have happened but It did as did in the hurling after cork missed a pen these things happen get over it.

knowtherules (UK) - Posts: 181 - 09/06/2014 10:55:19    1600431

Grand so,

People's opinion on here seems to suggest that we're all in favour of a good wrestling match before a game.

Strange football people it has to be said.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 09/06/2014 10:56:58    1600433

Bit of a disappointment in all honesty, it was built up as a major bust up and it was just headlocks, pushing, shoving and I saw two players making a bit of 'contact' with each others face but nothing major.

So basically the home team gets to line up on the outside, but the Cavan flag was there, ok fair enough ask them to switch the flags, job done. Looks to me like Armagh didn't really go out to wind up Cavan but Cavan got it into their heads that they needed to lay down a marker and win the psychological battle, congratulation you won the psychological battle but you lost the match!

If Cavan just shrugged their shoulders and dismissed this 'non-incident', then they probably wouldn't have lost Dunne (can't see where he got injured anyway) and the game might have been closer.

Ps, finally parading before an Ulster QF is completely stupid anyway, why not just parade before the Ulster final?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2014 11:01:57    1600442

daytona11

Grand so,

People's opinion on here seems to suggest that we're all in favour of a good wrestling match before a game.

Strange football people it has to be said.

Ah come on, who doesn't like a good bust up, always gets the crowd going, that's why the International rules done well for many years, when they toned it down it lost a lot of popularity, now that may not be a morally right thing to say but it is true.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/06/2014 11:09:45    1600444