Pre-match brawl

Martin Dunne's ban is fair.

Mallon's is too.

Can't see enough evidence to justify the other bans. Fergal Flanagan seems to do more to prevent conflict than anyone else - albeit by pushing/holding Armagh players, so maybe that's why.

McKeever should be banned also.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5249 - 12/06/2014 20:51:16    1602868

i think its time to draw a line under this now and for both armagh and cavan to move forward there was rights and wrongs on both sides lets hope it never happens again also would like to wish armagh best of luck in the semi final on a lighter note in answer to previous poster we are not that mean in cavan in fairness to us we bring great support to all matches regardless of price

cavan.wanderer (Cavan) - Posts: 82 - 12/06/2014 21:00:06    1602872

cavan.wanderer

i think its time to draw a line under this now and for both armagh and cavan to move forward there was rights and wrongs on both sides lets hope it never happens again also would like to wish armagh best of luck in the semi final on a lighter note in answer to previous poster we are not that mean in cavan in fairness to us we bring great support to all matches regardless of price

Well said and best of luck to both teams.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 12/06/2014 21:19:08    1602877

Yes, time to move on, even if lads get their appeals through.

Interesting however how so many posters stuck the knife straight into Armagh saying they targeted Dunne before knowing ANY facts. Wouldn't like to see u on jury if I was on trial. A little Northern bias perhaps?

Also those sensationalising it and calling for teams to be thrown out. Thank god you are not in control or there would be no teams left! Thank god there are those in control who let the dust settle and deal with things sensibly.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 12/06/2014 21:42:55    1602893

Best of luck to Cavan against Westmeath. Though this will go to appeal still hoping Donaghy and Toner are both cleared.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 12/06/2014 21:46:02    1602895

On a lighter note, Fair play to Armagh on an excellent and deserved victory.

I felt they didn't deserve to be relegated from Division 2 this season, and had seen them play a couple of game in which they played well at times. I think when the Championship is over this year, many people might look back and admit Division 2 was much stronger than some would like to admit.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 12/06/2014 21:48:16    1602896

I didnt jump to conclusions on Sunday evening or Monday morning , I said let the authorities investigate and allow process to take its course , this has happened now I hope counties take it on the chin and we move on , of course if someone feels hard done by there is an option open , personnaly would like to see us move on .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 12/06/2014 21:55:37    1602905

Armagh posters

with all due respect it was very easy to pick the Armagh players out as they were the ones with the Halos over their heads.

One poster even suggests that their is now no hope of them beating either Tyrone or Monaghan. Really! there was never a hope of Armagh beating either of them. Cavan were desperate on the day, Armagh were slightly better (Still poor however).

At least with the suspensions you have the excuse that with the players you should have beaten whichever team you end up playing. Ye clearly were not any of the Armagh supporters I was beside at the game as to be fair they had a good touch of reality as to where their team is at.

offtheditch (Cavan) - Posts: 171 - 13/06/2014 08:45:39    1602917

I think donaghy Mallon and Dunne should accept their suspensions

Feel toner and Flanagan are hard done by.

McKeever is very lucky.

5k is harsh and doesn't really effect either squad of players or mgmt. not really the deterrent required to prevent a reoccurrence. Perhaps a suitable punishment would be to give Westmeath and Monaghan/Tyrone home advantage next time out. Hurts the county boards and puts those involved at a disadvantage.
(Tho I presume Monaghan will get the home advantage anyway if they win)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5249 - 13/06/2014 10:58:26    1603012

thought this was a brighter take on a nasty incident

http://ballsology.wordpress.com/2014/06/14/brawl-erupts-after-armagh-player-drops-50cent-coin/

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 14/06/2014 08:43:35    1603360