What has happened to Tipperary?

The tactics are all wrong. Several times yesterday when a tipp man had the ball there was 3 r 4 limerick men around him. Over reliant on Bonner and other forwards not showing up to kill off the game. Lack of substitutes yesterday wud love to have seen Jason forde or Shane Bourke come in and change d game.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 02/06/2014 12:33:05    1596677

Ahhh yes...

Where's thurlesblues these days?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/06/2014 12:53:09    1596686

What's this thread about? Seriously? Tipp lost by two points to the reigning Munster champs and people are asking ' what happened? Unbelievable! Tipp could and indeed probably should have won the game.Would we have this nonsense then ? Doubt it. Also do people not realise how tiny a margin 2 points is in hurling?
Tipp are still in the championship with every chance if they sort a couple of things out.How did they fare out in their first game in 2010?

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/06/2014 13:24:01    1596710

This thread is as disrespectful to Limerick as it is to Tipperary. Tipp played well yesterday in what was a terrific game. I think Loughnane got the analysis pretty close to spot on last night though. In the heat of battle, I always felt we were going to prevail. There's something about Tipperary that doesn't inspire confidence in me.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 02/06/2014 13:30:02    1596716

Barnowl94

What's this thread about? Seriously? Tipp lost by two points to the reigning Munster champs and people are asking ' what happened? Unbelievable! Tipp could and indeed probably should have won the game.Would we have this nonsense then ? Doubt it. Also do people not realise how tiny a margin 2 points is in hurling?
Tipp are still in the championship with every chance if they sort a couple of things out.How did they fare out in their first game in 2010?

That's kinda the point of the question.

Tipp are losing games that they could win. They've seriously regressed since 2009-2011.

The question wasn't what happened to Tipperary yesterday, rather what has happened ovet the last couple of seasons.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 02/06/2014 13:31:43    1596717

Treaty_Exile
County: Limerick

This thread is as disrespectful to Limerick as it is to Tipperary. Tipp played well yesterday in what was a terrific game. I think Loughnane got the analysis pretty close to spot on last night though. In the heat of battle, I always felt we were going to prevail. There's something about Tipperary that doesn't inspire confidence in me.

This isn't a thread that is disrespectful to Limerick.

Again, it isn't a question of what happened to Tipperary yesterday but as to why Tipperary have regressed back from 2009-2011 where they looked set to win another few All-Ireland titles.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 02/06/2014 13:36:17    1596720

Sorry MesAmis, I take that point. And yes, Tipperary have underachieved. To answer your question, I think Liam Sheedy's departure was a big blow to them. He knew how to get the best out of those lads.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 02/06/2014 13:40:23    1596723

Mes Amis... You're a shameful Limerick basher...

;)

Amazing how threads can get so twisted isn't it...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/06/2014 13:40:45    1596724

It's because some of us just don't read Jimbo :P I have to apologise to MesAmis because people jumping feet first into articles without reading is one of my pet hates.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 02/06/2014 13:47:56    1596731

Treaty_Exile
County: Limerick

No bother man. Limerick were excellent yesterday. When the game was there for the taking they took it. If it wasn't for a free taking horror show then they would've been in an All-Ireland final last year and will take some beating this year. I'd say yous would fancy another crack at the Banner in a Munster Final.

I thought this was more a Tipp bashing thread if anything!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 02/06/2014 13:50:50    1596735

Haha Treaty Ex

Fair play

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/06/2014 13:51:28    1596737

They say great teams win games they shouldn't win. I agree with that. I always would have had faith in Kilkenny to win 50/50 or 40/60 games during the 2006-2012 period (although I must admit they weren't pushed to that stage very often). Tipperary are as skilful as any team I've seen bar that Kilkenny team, but they really don't win those 50/50 or 40/60 games, do they? That's what's let them down.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 02/06/2014 13:52:29    1596739

Where is Thurlesblues more to the point!!! Lol

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 02/06/2014 13:59:03    1596747

Unfortunately for Tipp a few of their players lack the mental fortitude and steely character to win on a consistent basis.They have 3 or 4 weak links in the chain,and a few flowery fair weather players who only perform in patches.Winning hard 50/50 ball,especially in the air is a big downfall.Shane McGrath is a perfect example of where their at.Hasnt done anything since winning the All Ireland in 2010.Yesterday he had 5 plays in the whole game,giving his usual shameful fist pump early on for some nondescript free he won at a time when Tipp were getting beaten.Why has somebody within the camp not pulled him up on this sad carry on.Nobody minds a fist pump for some crucial score or brilliant piece of play that wins a vital free etc,but his constant fist pumping for nearly any free he wins,whether Tipp are winning or losing,is long gone past embarrasing.Tipp were cleaned out at midfield yesterday.

Its not all bad though.They have given us some memorable games over the last 4/5 years.They have some fantastic players are great to watch when in full flow.However i think the few narrow losses to the stripeymen,especially this years league final,really knocked the confidence out of them.I thought they looked a devestated team coming off the field that day.Maybe they havnt recovered.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/06/2014 14:34:51    1596780

Umm,theres nothing wrong with Tipperary. They won the AL in 2010, contested the final in 2011, contested a semi final in 2012 and had a bad year in 2013 as teams do from time to time. This year they reached the league final and narrowly lost out to the defending Munster championships

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 02/06/2014 14:37:59    1596783

Barnowl94

1596710 What's this thread about? Seriously? Tipp lost by two points to the reigning Munster champs and people are asking ' what happened? Unbelievable! Tipp could and indeed probably should have won the game.Would we have this nonsense then ? Doubt it. Also do people not realise how tiny a margin 2 points is in hurling?

Barnow194

100% agree with you with respect to the poster who started this thread maybe its the supporters that cause some of the problems,a little perspective please they were beaten by a good and fired up limk team by a puck of the ball whats the crisis?

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 02/06/2014 15:08:28    1596813

For a proud hurling county like Tipp this is a setback, make no mistake about it. Imagine if for two years running they exit the championship at the first opportunity O'Shea will be gone in a heartbeat.

They really haven't done anything of note since 2010, the AI semi they did contest in 2012 was an embarrassment to hurling and the name of Tipp hurling. They haven't recovered since.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 02/06/2014 15:09:43    1596815

I apologise i got it wrong i thought it was a tipp poster that started this thread i was wrong,but to elaborate i think the tipp public are putting huge pressure on their team

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 02/06/2014 15:14:19    1596819

Only 8 of the 15 that started against Kilkenny in 2010 started today. Corbett came on as a sub.

Cummins and Fanning have retired. Kelly, Corbett, Curran, Bonnar, Gearoid Ryan and Paddy Stapleton are not long back from injury and John O'Brien seems to be out of favour.

We put it up to Kilkenny when everyone else was fast asleep. That whole saga has probably taken an awful lot out of the team. It's hard to keep it going year in year out. That team gave us trophies for 5 seasons in a row and now when things aren't going as well everybody wants to dance on our grave. I had great days out following the team and I will again in the future. We just have to take our beating like men now and hope the good times aren't too far away.

The likes of Barrett, Barry, Forde, Bubbles, O'Meara etc will come good but they are only learning their trade.

Brendan Maher, Cahill, Bonnar, Shane McGrath and Conor O'Mahoney showed plenty of leadership yesterday. Everything that can go wrong seems to go wrong at the minute. Player confidence seems to be on the floor. We are on the ropes again but if we can find a win the next day it could kick start us like the win over Dublin in the league.

As for Limerick, there is no one in Tipp being disrespectful to them. James Ryan ran the show in midfield, O'Mahoney and McCarthy were rock solid and the other 4 backs were very good. In the closing stages Limerick were much more accurate than us and that was the winning and losing of it.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 02/06/2014 15:37:27    1596839

RebelCork - what about ourselves. I don't think Cork people are in any position to critise Tipperary.

My own view, for what it's worth, is that Tipp players basically want to go out an play hurling, 15, against 15. They don't want to have to be bothered with tactics and systems. Unfortunately for them Cork are about the only team left that like to play that way, also.

I heard that Sheedy had a massive job keeping Tipperary focused on the job on hand in 2010, and was rather drained as a consequence. I don't know if he'd be willing to take on the job again, but if Tipp continue to falter he may be persuaded to come back.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 02/06/2014 15:47:31    1596849