We definitely need to tighten up though Bluewave.
1st half we were all over the place defensively - far too loose.
I think Ger Brennan will be a great addition when he is back fit, and hopefully Kevin Nolan will get another run out shortly.
Attacking wise we are a joy to watch though.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 09/06/2014 14:48:07
Wayno
Spot on, the amount of times this panel turns defeat to victory is incredible I really don't think we'll see the like of it again for many a year so I'm savoring every minute of it. Really loved seeing Rock getting a chance at some placed balls yesterday so refreshing to see one of our forwards kicking off the ground. If Ger is fit should he start against Wexford ?
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 09/06/2014 15:02:22
Wayno
Spot on, the amount of times this panel turns defeat to victory is incredible I really don't think we'll see the like of it again for many a year so I'm savoring every minute of it. Really loved seeing Rock getting a chance at some placed balls yesterday so refreshing to see one of our forwards kicking off the ground. If Ger is fit should he start against Wexford ?
I agree. Its not even the fact they keep digging it out, Its the fact you know they will come back and win and thats that. Nobody panics. From the touchline, To the players on the pitch, to the fans in the stands or watching at home. No nerves, Its simply a case of when, Not if when you watch this side.
As for Ger Brennan - Simple answer, Yes - I'd start him against Wexford.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 09/06/2014 15:27:26
Bluewave County: Dublin Posts: 516
Really loved seeing Rock getting a chance at some placed balls yesterday so refreshing to see one of our forwards kicking off the ground.
Not alone was it refreshing to see one of the Dublin forwards kicking off the ground, it was refreshing to see any Dublin outfield player kicking off the ground!!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/06/2014 15:29:13
Lads I just see from JG that Ger might not make the Wexford game but Denis Bastick likely to feature at some stage. Jim reckons BB will be ok, but if in doubt I definitely wouldn't risk him - K Mac/Rocky/Mannion may take his place.
Cormac in for Paddy Andrews I reckon for sure.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4340 - 09/06/2014 15:37:30
Well done our lads! Munnelly was class.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2014 15:44:57
Lads I just see from JG that Ger might not make the Wexford game but Denis Bastick likely to feature at some stage. Jim reckons BB will be ok, but if in doubt I definitely wouldn't risk him - K Mac/Rocky/Mannion may take his place.
Cormac in for Paddy Andrews I reckon for sure.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 09/06/2014 15:46:00
Was following the match on the hoganstand here in Queensland Australia.. At half time i turned the tv on and the game was on chanel 7. Only 20 mins behind. Nice surprise. Nice if Laois had Zac Tuohy Cahir Healy and Quigley back.
crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 09/06/2014 15:47:53
Just looking at the scoring stats from yesterday.
Dublin had 14 different scorers and that is after a pretty poor first half.
Great to see just a spread amongst the team and subs.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4340 - 09/06/2014 16:28:03
All depends with Brogan
Early reports saying it's not as bad as first feared
So give it a wee bit of time if it feels good and he's training well...
Then it'll be grand to start him versus Wexford... he could do with some game time
But sure all depends... the cover is there
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/06/2014 16:31:58
Fionn County: Dublin Posts: 1413
1600875 Just looking at the scoring stats from yesterday.
Dublin had 14 different scorers and that is after a pretty poor first half.
Great to see just a spread amongst the team and subs. _________
That's excellent.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/06/2014 16:32:37
Fionn In the first half Paddy Andrews was the one Dublin Forward who was causing Laois problems
dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 09/06/2014 18:33:29
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2622
1600807 Bluewave County: Dublin Posts: 516
Really loved seeing Rock getting a chance at some placed balls yesterday so refreshing to see one of our forwards kicking off the ground.
Not alone was it refreshing to see one of the Dublin forwards kicking off the ground, it was refreshing to see any Dublin outfield player kicking off the ground!!!!
In fairness he had a good teacher :)
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8790 - 09/06/2014 19:33:13
loved the way John O loughlan dragged Mcauley around like a rag doll .The only way to beat Dublin is get them out of croker in fairness if liverpool or evan man utd had home advantage every week there would be a lot of titles won . Kildare looked good yesterday
tawrificlaois (Laois) - Posts: 43 - 09/06/2014 20:50:28
well as i expected it would be laois would come out with nothing to lose a game under their belts and play good football stay with us for 50 minutes and then we would pull away i said all week the pdds were ridiculous and the talk of dublin only having to show up was ridiculous dublin traditionally never come out on fire in first game of championship and after a six week break since the league final that was exactly what happened very rusty in the first half just like last year against westmeath some of the passing was very poor going forward but at the same time we could have had 4 or 5 goals only for the post,crossbar and some great saves. second half was a marked improvement and played some good football when you kick 2-13 in one half you have to be pleased with 14 differant players on the score sheet is very good sign. one major problem though was last years player of the year mccauley. he was not at the races throughout the league and only in the second half against cork and the final against derry did he perform, yesterday he should have been taken off before half time he was getting hammered all day and didnt look fit even as he couldnt chase back at all. was dissapointed to see cian o sullivan be taken off instead as apart from the flukey goal he got mccauley was by far our weakest player. thaught jonny cooper was outstanding both in defence and on the attack. the much criticised full back line was our best line and thats despite ross munnelly having a brilliant game for laois. in attack I thaught connolly found himself far too deep when wing forward and didnt get into the game until he was switched to full forward. I thaught costello took his chance when coming in but may well be used like kev mac as an impact sub this year as he can do a very similiar job. hope bernards hamstring aint serious . good start as was good test and an 11 point win after being 2 behind at half time shows good resolve
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/06/2014 21:03:45
tawrificlaois
ah come on man dont be a sore loser will ya home advantage come on what home advantage is there most of the teams playing at home have lost in this years championship dublin won the match because they were the better team end of story. laois played really good football a lot better than they did in any game all year it would seem. so dont play the home advantage malarky stuff sure dublin would have had 90% of the attendance in portlaoise just like the league match on a saturday evening in 2012. if anything if the match was in portloaise on saturday night dublin would have probably came out all guns blazing and not been inclined to be complacent or rusty like they did for the first 35 minutes
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/06/2014 21:30:28
dont see any neutrals mentioning the clear black card laois should have had in second half in the hill16 cusack stand corner when connolly was third man tackled when going for a run through for a return pass he was hauled to the ground linesman saw it stepped onto the pitch to inform ref then changed his mind and did nothing. also philly mac had a shot that was a clear 45 came off defenders hand some very one sided neutrals watching on hoganstand it seems
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/06/2014 21:51:28
tawrificlaois loved the way John O loughlan dragged Mcauley around like a rag doll .The only way to beat Dublin is get them out of croker in fairness if liverpool or evan man utd had home advantage every week there would be a lot of titles won . Kildare looked good yesterday
That is the thing. Playing in croker was always going to, and will always favour a comeback from Dublin. Wide, fast pitch, in great nick. Well used to the surroundings etc. Compare that to the mayo - Roscommon game for instance. A tight, heavy pitch. The groundsmen 'forgetting' to cut the grass. The fans down on top of you, most of them not your own and passionately willing you to lose. The pitch very open to the strong wind on the day. There is a big difference there. Who is to say that Dublin would have came out of the traps so well in in the second half had they been in a situation like this? Maybe they continue to stutter and laois rally. It is far easier to stay cool and composed when you are in your back garden with all your fans behind you.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/06/2014 09:46:55
tawrificlaois County: Laois Posts: 10
1601098 loved the way John O loughlan dragged Mcauley around like a rag doll .
He played well alright.
Pity he was nowhere in sight when the Rag Doll crashed one home into the Hill to secure the win!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13825 - 10/06/2014 10:01:21
10/06/2014 09:46:55 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 11313
1601212 tawrificlaois loved the way John O loughlan dragged Mcauley around like a rag doll .The only way to beat Dublin is get them out of croker in fairness if liverpool or evan man utd had home advantage every week there would be a lot of titles won . Kildare looked good yesterday
That is the thing. Playing in croker was always going to, and will always favour a comeback from Dublin. Wide, fast pitch, in great nick. Well used to the surroundings etc. Compare that to the mayo - Roscommon game for instance. A tight, heavy pitch. The groundsmen 'forgetting' to cut the grass. The fans down on top of you, most of them not your own and passionately willing you to lose. The pitch very open to the strong wind on the day. There is a big difference there. Who is to say that Dublin would have came out of the traps so well in in the second half had they been in a situation like this? Maybe they continue to stutter and laois rally. It is far easier to stay cool and composed when you are in your back garden with all your fans behind you.
Total respect Master you may be a one trick pony , but you never tire , Ive seen Duracell batteries give up quicker , Ive seen jack russells let go of a bone quicker , but not you , same old chestnuts , now if we stay on this long enough your going to bring out your big guns FAIR and ENTITLEMENT , Newsflash we could have played that game on the moon and we still would've won , for one reason alone Laois aren't in our class , now if I was you Id fast track it back to your own page as from what I saw of you lot you have far more important matters close to home to attend to .
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/06/2014 10:09:19