Dublin v Laois

good point by lilly white 1 . we are the worst fans in Ireland . before the Wicklow game i must have heard several time from laois people saying that Laois would be as well lose to wicklow as the Dubs will hammer them typical negativity . i might sound like a hypocrite but at least ill be in the stand to support our team , we have to be realistic do Dubs by 17 points

tawrificlaois (Laois) - Posts: 43 - 01/06/2014 11:37:11    1596163

Have toi say fair play to the Dublin posters. Ye have the best team in Ireland and ye deserve to be confident. really think leinster will be a non event. A bit like munster. Some people dont like cockiness but realistically there are only 3 to 4 teams who can compete with ye and none of them are in leinster.

Again i will say it.

Predicting a big win doesnt make someone cocky or arrogant at all.

Its merely confidence.

Nothing more.

Nothing less.

And i hate this idea that predicting a big winning margain is seen as arrogant and disrespectful. What a load of *****

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 01/06/2014 12:15:16    1596178

SamOnErrigal

Let's put it this way Dublin lads, if we really knew we were going to face Dublin I dare say JIM THE GENUIS will be drawing up battle plans. No better man If we meet Dublin can see plenty of road blocks in CROKE PARK. Also Donegal Fans won't be afraid to turn up , that is for sure.
I would like to know are Dublin any good playing BACKWARDS and SIDEWAYS. How many different plans would Jim Galvin have ::::::: plan A,B,C,D, E.??????
It might take them all to beat Donegal.
I have not seen this up on the board yet.
UP LAOIS.

Hopefully "Jim the Genius" will have a better plan than in 2011 when his bluff was called by Gilroy and he had no answer in the closing stages when the game was there to be won.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13825 - 01/06/2014 12:43:32    1596187

SamonErrigal.....

You say you'd like to see Dublin going sideways and backwards? 2011, blanket defence........ Donegal lost that.

Dublin are a far stronger outfit now. Dublin will eat Donegal alive if they meet. Dublin know what to expect, in 2011 Donegal had the element of surprise. They still lost. Jimmy McG will hog the limelight. Talk his team up, make out he's a tactical genius. Jim G will stay quiet, organise his team and send them out.

My big question to Donegal fans is.......how will you stop Dublin this time!? You can't block runners and drag people down!?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/06/2014 13:35:07    1596201

Dublin are a far stronger outfit now. Dublin will eat Donegal alive if they meet. Dublin know what to expect, in 2011 Donegal had the element of surprise. They still lost. Jimmy McG will hog the limelight. Talk his team up, make out he's a tactical genius. Jim G will stay quiet, organise his team and send them out.

Eat them alive??? Now that isn't arrogance talking, that's stupidity predicting something like that

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 01/06/2014 13:47:58    1596204

This thread is about Dublin v Laois. Please stick to the topic at hand anything off topic will not be posted. By all means set up a new thread but stick to the topic. Thanks, Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 01/06/2014 14:20:29    1596215

Dublin will play a lot of teams who play defensive systems. Laois will set up defensive against Dublin. Try keep things tight. Dublins first outing of the summer. Will be interesting to see Dublins starting 15. Funny enough Wexford would have caused significant problems for Dublin playing defensively. Now the admin commented that we should stay on topic. But the consensus on here is Dublin will give Laois a tanking. I disagree. Dubs will probably win by about 5. But Laois will make things difficult. And Donegal fans seem to think their defensive system is the answer to Dublin. Laois don't have Donegals panel, but Donegals panel is quite tight.

Dublin starting team vs Donegal 2011
Stephen Cluxton; Cian O'Sullivan, Rory O'Carroll, Michael Fitzsimons; James McCarthy, Ger Brennan, Kevin Nolan; Denis Bastick, Michael Darragh Macauley; Paul Flynn, Barry Cahill, Bryan Cullen; Alan Brogan, Diarmuid Connolly, Bernard Brogan.

McMahon, Mannion, Andrews, O'Gara, Costello, Rock, McCaffery, Daly etc. all coming into the Dublin setup. Different Dublin team playing a different style.

I think the teams likely to beat Dublin are teams who play openly and are free scoring. Because the black card won't allow teams like Donegal to foul, which that defensive system is based on.

Playing a defensive style limits you against Dublin as they have the tools to beat it. Again I think Kerry, Tyrone, Cork and Mayo are Dublins biggest threats.

They play a dynamic enough game and move the ball quickly. Dublin look fragile defensively. Unfortunately Laois don't have enough up top to hurt Dublin. Dublin are lacklustre in early championship games. If Laois go for it early on and score a couple of goals it will make the game interesting.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 01/06/2014 14:44:51    1596220

Fair play to you tawrificlaois.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3036 - 01/06/2014 15:52:20    1596237

I cant wait to watch the Dubs next week and for us to play well and look focused , Understandably we've been built up by some very good performances of late but without Connollys late point against Tyrone we wouldn't of seen the 2 games against Cork and Derry. Also this is championship different ball game.In 2012 Longford bet laois in leinster and I had to listen to a couple of Lads mouth that we would teach Laois a lesson when we drew them in the AllIRELAND quarters, we only got over the line in a poor match against them, now I expect us to win next week, we definetly are way ahead of laois even since 2012. but nothing in Sport is a foregone conclusion we could hammer laois or we could be poor. . Jim gavin played on the team that got out of jail in 1999 with a draw in leinster championship, Cluco ,A brogan and Brian Cullen were on the team that got beat in 2003. We should give Laois the respect any inter county team deserves because of commitment put in by players and then go out and show why we are AllIreland Champions.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 01/06/2014 16:08:59    1596245

Backward, forwards, sidewards, we play football, catch us if you can :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8790 - 01/06/2014 21:35:58    1596489

Well the Laois hurlers didn't have much time for Galways fav tag yesterday did they...

Will their footballers follow suit... and put in such a performance against the Dubs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/06/2014 18:33:49    1596961

Hopefully laois can push on the way their hurlers did yesterday and make a good game of it. V unlucky v galway, and im sure their footballers will not be there to make up the numbers.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 02/06/2014 18:43:48    1596970

Yes great effort from the Laois hurlers, must surely give hope to the county in both codes, fair play, expect their big ballers to come out bursting with county pride and belief on Sunday.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8790 - 03/06/2014 10:51:49    1597146

Thread title should be Man City v Laois. City to win well.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 03/06/2014 12:31:32    1597213

waynoI
And i hate this idea that predicting a big winning margain is seen as arrogant and disrespectful. What a load of *****

Then why don't managers come out and say it? Imagine Gavin coming out today and saying "We will hammer Laois"

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11656 - 03/06/2014 12:49:51    1597227

Man City buy their players from all over the world ffs our players are born n bred Dubs. It's posters like you are the reason we love to win even more with posts like that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/06/2014 14:32:13    1597325

The match may well be a mismatch, Dublin are a class outfit and are a step above most teams and certainly have a panel that is stronger than Laois. Every factor in the game points to Dublin winning easily but that doesn't mean Laois will go to Dublin to play to the match just to make up the numbers, every county deserves respect and I feel the true Dublin gaels will respect Laois before and after the match.

Dublin should win by 12pts+ .

Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 03/06/2014 14:42:56    1597335

As a Laois Fan I am expecting Laois to give a good account of themselves on sunday. Unlikely to be good enough to win but laois won't fear the dubs. Since 1999 there has been alot of close games between the two counties (exception of 2006). Everyone is going on about how dublin has improved in the past two years and thats true but IMO Laois have also improved especially in the forwards, we know we are not at dublin's level but we are not like other leinster counties (exception, Meath, Kildare and a lesser extent wexford) who lie and roll over playing the dubs.

Ben (None) - Posts: 108 - 03/06/2014 15:28:03    1597379

cant see Dublin been stopped this year, no disrespect to Laois, maybe Meath might have other ideas, think they are only team in Leinster who will put it up to the Dubs, maybe Kerry, Cork,Mayo, in Ulster i believe Monaghan would give the Dubs a great game,with nothing much in the game, but overall its hard to see Dublin stopped this year for Sam.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 03/06/2014 20:17:32    1597583

Its not arrogant to state that your county will win easily, but it is the way you say it that can be arrogant.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 04/06/2014 10:29:50    1597705