Dublin v Laois

Hill,

I never suggested the match would be easy.

I said we have superior players and a superior bench, Both of which are true.

I said we would win by 10 or more, Thats not saying we will go in and just beat them easily. We beat Kerry by 7 last year and where in a game right up until injury time, So just cause i said we will win by 10+ doesnt mean it will necessarily be a walk in the park.

Similar to previous games this year, I believe we will just have to much in the tank and if we have a 3 or 4 point lead headin into the last .. maybe 20 mins or so, Id expect us to push on and do damage against a tiring Laois side.

I know you are very positive and ive been very cautious and negative in the past, If you go onto the Dublin thread you will se that ive a changed mentality on how i view games now in Damo's most recent thread. Go take a look man.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 30/05/2014 19:22:45    1595846

hill16no1man

Ritchie is the title of this thread not Dublin v laois ?
I'd imagine then both Dublin and laois would be very popular talking points

If you see much talking about Laois going on here then you have better eyesight than me.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 30/05/2014 19:27:18    1595850

The 5 in a row is on now let's stop the silliness of Laois giving us a game it ain't going to happen Dublin will beat every team they play this summer by at least ten points.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/05/2014 19:52:18    1595857

Laois are strong enough from midfield up especially if O'Loughlin (who must be the most underrated player in the country) is in the centre of the park. Munnelly, Kingston and Meredith are all top forwards. Colm Begley and Darren Strong aside though I wouldn't rate the backs and that's what you need against Dublin.

If Cluxton nullifies O'Loughlin (which he will) and Dublin get their heads up (which they will at some stage) then Laois look primed to be overrun. The troubles they caused Dublin previously were under McNulty who was an expert at solidifying teams and soaking up pressure. That's not how Ó Flatharta has them set up, their full back line is exposed and just not able to handle it. Could be a long day for them.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 30/05/2014 20:29:45    1595863

Yes let everyone get a flag with 5 in a row written on it.
But I recall a mere 2 and a half years ago seeing Gilmore for taoiseach posters, that didn't go as planned though :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2014 20:36:14    1595865

Richie / gatekeeper

Best you get used to it

This Dublin team is going to be around for quite sometime yet

There's going to be a lot of talk about this team

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/05/2014 20:53:54    1595872

At last; the Dubs are dropping the cute hoorism
crap and giving us what we want, urban bravado!

Let it all out lads; its been bottled up for too long! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 30/05/2014 21:57:22    1595889

This game ain't going to tell us anything about Dublin but would still expect Loais to stay in the game right up to the middle of the second half. How much Dublin will win by is anybody's guess Then again they might not win by that much. Nothing worse than one sided affairs and I hope Laois turns up and try to make a game of it. But if I were Dublin fans I would not count Dublin home and hoisted as regards Sam. Come August /September there will be a couple of teams around that won't be easily beat.
Another post I saw on here that this present Dublin team would beat Micko's team out the gate 1978/1986. Different style of football but Micko's sides done the business back then how would you Dublin fans compeer this Dublin team with Kerry04/09 or Tyrone 03/08. IMO games between them would be hard to call The result of this years All Ireland lies with how the likes of Mayo /Donegal /Kerry/Cork /Tyrone or Monaghan perform if they meet Dublin , nothing but the best would be required. , have luck on your side , don't give Dublin any soft goals , take any chances they get and anyone of them could pose a serious treat.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 31/05/2014 13:45:01    1595972

Sam.....

Current Dublin bunch would beat all vintages from all counties. Similarly Dubs 2020 team should be a better bunch than current crop down to numerous factors, tactics and science.

The game is ever evolving. Mayo's current crop would beat all vintages of Mayo. It's just progression.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/05/2014 14:10:57    1595980

Am you make valid point. Until you included , donegal and tyrone , dublin would tear either apart.

foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 31/05/2014 14:28:25    1595983

SamOnErrigal
This game ain't going to tell us anything about Dublin

I have to agree.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 31/05/2014 19:22:36    1596076

Laois will need to score a number of goals to keep this close

Something similar to what Kerry achieved last year

Except Laois will have to outscore Kerry's 2nd half tally / outperform Kerrys 2nd half fitness levels and be capable of introducing better impact players compared to Dublin

If they can do that then they have a great chance

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 31/05/2014 19:32:24    1596079

It looks like Laois wont even turn up for this game- their fans that is. There is no mention of this game on their forum.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3036 - 31/05/2014 19:39:07    1596082

Let's put it this way Dublin lads, if we really knew we were going to face Dublin I dare say JIM THE GENUIS will be drawing up battle plans. No better man If we meet Dublin can see plenty of road blocks in CROKE PARK. Also Donegal Fans won't be afraid to turn up , that is for sure.
I would like to know are Dublin any good playing BACKWARDS and SIDEWAYS. How many different plans would Jim Galvin have ::::::: plan A,B,C,D, E.??????
It might take them all to beat Donegal.
I have not seen this up on the board yet.
UP LAOIS.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 31/05/2014 21:31:56    1596115

Dublin should account for Laois fairly easily one would expect. Still, I'm going go be optimistic and go for a draw ;)

Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 31/05/2014 21:39:38    1596118

Have toi say fair play to the Dublin posters. Ye have the best team in Ireland and ye deserve to be confident. really think leinster will be a non event. A bit like munster. Some people dont like cockiness but realistically there are only 3 to 4 teams who can compete with ye and none of them are in leinster.

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 01/06/2014 10:07:08    1596136

I think Dublin will account for Laois. However I'm sure Jim Gavin has reminded them of what happened to Donegal last year. They were firm favourites to win another all Ireland, as nobody could seem to figure out a way of beating their brand of defence. However that all changed. I'm sure team will have plans to deal with Dublin's attacking style this year. Its going to be an a very interesting championship.

Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 01/06/2014 10:21:27    1596139

Dublin by eight

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 01/06/2014 11:08:16    1596151

Dublin by 12, no contest.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 01/06/2014 11:26:35    1596157

Not much hype in Laois about this game their fans will travel but not in great numbers ...

A lot of Laois fans support both codes and have spent a lot of money on the hurlers in the last five weeks bringing a big support to London and have a big game against Galway today.

Living in Laois I have seen them a few times this year they have some nice footballers but are missing probably their two most effective lads and arguably the only two that might make the Dublin team former Aussie rules player and man mountain Brendan Quigley who always done well against Dublin ..also Cahir Healy who tied up Bernard Brogan two years ago and is one of the best markers in the country.

Both are away..their regular full back is injured and his replacement is suspended which adds to their woes.

A number of Top Portlaoise players have opted off the panel again which is always a problem here..

Their league form was strange and the team was a mixed bag.

I can't see anyone getting close to the Dubs this year and think they will comfortably win Sam and certainly this Laois team won't cause them much problems

Maybe the first day out might be. Factor and Laois who have some great talent in the forwards might stay with them for 55 mins or so but hard to see it after that.

I hope Laois players go with belief that they deserve to be on this stage and enjoy the occasion they are better than the Westmeaths Offalys and Louths in the forwards so maybe they can put a decent score on the board .

Best of luck to them I will travel up and am looking forward to the double header in croker

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 01/06/2014 11:32:37    1596160