Monaghan vs Tyrone

rua29

I don't think using the clones factor as a reason is fair. Had down bet Tyrone the match would have been in newry so it was the luck of the draw for monaghan really. Tyrone are well used to playing in clones and have a great record there too.

I don't think it's as big a factor as croker is to the dubs.

It has bound to be an advantage. There is one big thing that you overlooked and that is they will be playing armagh in clones and the ulster final in clones (if they get there). They practically eat their dinner on the pitch. Last year they played an ulster semi final there and the final there. It is ok to draw your first game there for home advantage, but surely the semis should be neutral?

Monaghan v armagh in breffni, omagh or in newry would be interesting.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 17/06/2014 11:47:03    1604939

17/06/2014 11:29:04
hutto
County: Monaghan

Game2halves; just to help you with your opinion, that was one of Monaghan's worst performances this year and still won.

Not even close hutto.

I saw Monaghan in Letterkenny against Donegal in the league & they were very poor. There is no comparison between the two performances.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 17/06/2014 12:36:26    1604974

The scourge,, Brendtheredhand.
I would not say that people on here are worried about Tyrone football , it's more or less a debate about where they are after Sunday.
And it's fair that we all can have a debate about any team we want to. Now last year and indeed this year at times a lot , and I say A LOT of people have and were debating Donegal. Writing them off as finished, especially after the two championship defeats last year plus the Div 2defeat this year.
Now if Monaghan had to have taken their goal chances they would have been well clear at half time So in all honesty I'd say Monaghan were at least 6 points better team than Tyrone on Sunday. Now Tyrone have been at the top for close on 12 years , and like Kerry who were also strong all along that period seem to me to be slipping down the ranks. Now that should be expected as both had great teams, both gave us a few fantastic All Ireland's and even though Kerry did not manage to beat Tyrone in the championship at that particular stage (03/09) they contributed big time to those games Loosing star players like both teams have done means it takes time to rebuild. It's possible people expect too much from Tyrone but to replace players like D hart, p Jordan B DooharThe Mcguigans O Mulligan is almost impossible As of now Monaghan look like top dogs in Ulster but and but again they can't take Armagh lightly It's a kinda of banana skin I should think they won't want to slip up nor should Donegal

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 17/06/2014 13:39:40    1605030

That was Monaghan reserves in 2nd gear you seen in Letterkenny but
well done on the victory.

bladecx (Monaghan) - Posts: 147 - 17/06/2014 13:49:15    1605036

17/06/2014 12:36:26
MuckrossHead

17/06/2014 11:29:04
hutto

Game2halves; just to help you with your opinion, that was one of Monaghan's worst performances this year and still won.

Not even close hutto.

I saw Monaghan in Letterkenny against Donegal in the league & they were very poor. There is no comparison between the two performances.

The thing is that I was at the game in letterkenny and monaghan had out a B team, and were only competitive in the 2nd half. We did our best, our very best to beat them which we did, but they are a very different animal now. I think that we have a much better chance of beating monaghan this year, in the front door or back, but it will depend on our tip top performance. Monaghan are looking very solid. They wont win the all ireland, but they are gunning in a serious way to get 2 in a row in ulster.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 17/06/2014 14:06:55    1605047

An example was on Sunday the "ball boy" dressed in black waving his arms behind the goal when the Monaghan penalty was taken - distasteful to be honest and some say planned in advance

I think it's a bit unfair to blame Mickey for that. Conor Clarke was acting as ballboy (and Morgan had spoken during the week about wanting ballboys to help with his kickouts) and probably just decided off-the-cuff to try to put off Hughes. Who said it was planned in advance?

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 17/06/2014 14:11:51    1605050

To be fair bladecx the team that day had a good few starters on it, but the performance was very strange alright. I've never seen the Monaghan defence as open under O'Rourke.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 948 - 17/06/2014 14:30:57    1605066

If you watch the replay of the pen Hughes never lifted his head once so it's ridiculous to say he was put off. I was more annoyed by the fancy two step run up, could have lost the game over that miss. Not good enough.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 17/06/2014 15:27:01    1605115

Tyrone will still be a force to be reckoned with in the qualifiers...I wholeheartedly expect to see them compete come the end of August. Ulster football is a dogged afair, and as an ulster gael, prob the worst provincial championship of the four to produce pretty football. Every team in Ulster is a fierce rival and I dont care what anyone says, all teams will do 'anything' in order to get one over on their neighbouring county. I believe its not until Ulster teams get out of Ulster that they are properly tested in every way, guts, stamina, passion, heart, determination, skill, experience...I could go on! For that reason I totally expect to see, Monaghan, Donegal and Tyrone battle it out until the semi's...after that anything could happen! Mickey Harte and Tyrone will take a lot out of Sunday's fair defeat against Monaghan...they will recover and they will make an appearance in Croke Park at some stage this summer! With the exception of Laois, Meath, Louth and Galway, Monaghan's only real contenders before their championship game with Tyrone were Ulster teams (Division 2 was like a battle of Ulster) Tyrone only had Derry to contend with! Their Division 1 campaign wasn't excellent, but wasn't terrible either! Unfortunately Ulster teams will still continue to be dumped into the qualifiers, and putrid games like sunday will continue to appear! However, on a lighter note Monaghan v Tyrone All Ireland Final 2014 - what odds would you get on that! Just putting it out there!

TYSAM14 (Tyrone) - Posts: 15 - 17/06/2014 15:31:58    1605120

17/06/2014 15:27:01
Brolly

If you watch the replay of the pen Hughes never lifted his head once so it's ridiculous to say he was put off. I was more annoyed by the fancy two step run up, could have lost the game over that miss. Not good enough.

Agreed Brolly, when I seen him step up I wasn't very confident. Has he taken any penalties for Monaghan before? I can't remember any but I remember Darren scoring a good one a while ago(can't remember who against), hard and low into the corner. I think McManus takes them for Clontibret aswell so I was surprised to see Kieran step up.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 948 - 17/06/2014 16:01:14    1605148

Don't think so patk.. Had to be Darren or Connor in my opinion. Think Keiran was in World Cup mode for that run up. Can't miss those and expect to win silverware. I'm sure malachy will have the right man lined up for Armagh game!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 17/06/2014 16:40:25    1605179

seanie_boy
You seem to be a no nonsense sort

Now that the game is over and the hoodoo is gone, would it be possible to ask a question about the Tyrone team without sounding as if I,m having a go
It seems to me that there is an element in Tyrone that thinks they were hard done by including M Harte, when the truth is that they were beaten by a better team
Both Hughes and Mc Manus were injured for the entire second half dont forget. Anyway would you not be worried that instead of admitting he was beaten by a better team M Harte will go on a crusade with a team depending on older players that are past it. S O Neill made Drew Wylie look like a cross between Mick Lyons and your own great Cormac Mc Anallan RIP.
What happens when O Neill, Gormley, Mc Mahon and the two Cavanaghs retire en masse probably at the end of the season.
The question is if Tyrone are not to win SAM this year (and thats all they can win) would you not be better building for the future never mind living in the past? Home game against Louth a perfect opportunity (no offence meant to Louth its just about team building)
I cant figure out why Coney is not nailed in a 11 or 14
-----------------------------------
I have no problem admitting that we lost to a better team on the day. I think Mickey Harte would say the same. That being said some refereeing decisions were bad enough or questionable enough to warrant complaint. That's the case in this game and before against Down from a Tyrone point of view. I'm sure as the year progresses there will be other incidents because in all honesty many of these refs are just not good enough ,too often,and it would certainly seem that there needs to be 2 of them on the field with time keeping duties taken from them altogether at county level. I hope we can go on a run through the qualifiers as I believe we have the players to do so,it's just picking the right team to play together a bit more cohesively that seems to be the problem. I hope Mickey and his team can do that. Anyway,good luck to Monaghan.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/06/2014 19:53:01    1605271

Well done Monaghan and hard luck tyrone. To play badly with some players still not fully fit and win was a great result, im sure u will be some bigger and better performances this summer

Malachy o rourke is a smooth operator.

Totally no need for harte to loose the coll at full time not very sportsman like!!!

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 17/06/2014 20:23:06    1605286

bladecx

That was Monaghan reserves in 2nd gear you seen in Letterkenny but
well done on the victory.

I take it you weren't at the game bladecx
Nobody was in second gear & it was a full blooded encounter with plenty of hard hitting.
As for the reserves thing, rubbish. Check out the team listings. Lots of familiar names including Mone, McManus Wylie, Beggan, Malone, McGuinness, Kelly................

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 18/06/2014 09:04:49    1605351

I agree Muckross, as I said previous it was far from our second string with over half our first team playing. But surely you'd admit there was something a bit off with how we played that day, the way yous walked through the centre of our defence to score goals in the first 20-25 minutes was most unlike our defence under O'Rourke, haven't seen that before or since. Thankfully it didn't cost us in the long run for promotion but it was a far cry from our other league performances, even allowing for the fact it was our toughest fixture.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 948 - 18/06/2014 09:23:43    1605358

I don't think people should be too critical of Mickey Harte's end of game blowout. The pressure on these guys is immense. I do think though that there is valid criticism of his selection policy. I don't know why Coney isn't a starter. He's looked good in one of the games against Down. A bit in and out but he can kick the ball over the bar. Maybe now that some of the spotlight is off Tyrone he'll give some of the younger players a bit of championship experience. They'll need it if they are to challenge for Ulster next year. There has to be lots of good players in Tyrone given their under-age success. It's up to the management to bring them through. Harte's done it before. But it's either that or move over, I think.

Anyway, I though Monaghan were great. Even with a half fit McManus and an injured Kieran Hughes in the second half, plus missing Lennon in the middle they still managed to win. They'll be a tough proposition for anyone now. They have some other forwards on the bench that didn't get much of a run out on Sunday, I wonder will we see them against Armagh? They'll need to get some game time because the championship will open up a bit as the summer goes on.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 18/06/2014 10:12:07    1605390

I'm amazed at the huge focus been given to Mickey Harte's reaction at the end of the game and all the negatives people are able to read into it. It's hardly the first time a manager has had an angry word with a referee after a game and he had every right to question the extra time added.
It is really tiresome at this point to see the huge negative microscope Tyrone seem to be under with some sections of the media where every little incident is blown up into something huge. At this stage the RTE panel do not even attempt to hide their huge dislike of Tyrone, it seems an anti Tyrone agenda is considered acceptable now. I have no problem with Tyrone been criticised objectively, but what really annoys me is how the same negative spot light is not applied to most other teams. If you want to go into that level of detail you could pick faults in every team in Ireland. If a Tyrone player had behaved like Darren Hughes did after the game I wonder what the reaction would have been? The blatant rugby tackling by Monaghan during the game was brushed aside as justified after last year. I'm not criticising Monaghan specifically as they are no different from any other team and were fully deserving of their victory. All I would like to see is objective analysis and journalism. If you want to direct this level of scrutiny on Tyrone, it is only fair you do it to all teams.

johnboy7 (Tyrone) - Posts: 79 - 18/06/2014 11:23:25    1605436

When M hart arrived as Tyrone manager He had with him a very good group of players from u21/u18. He had overseen their development at under age and it gave him a great start to his senior county management. Plus he had a few old heads( senior players) there but He moulded them into a brilliant team. I would imagine it would be more difficult now to start again and build a championship winning team. But Tyrone has had a lot of success over the last 12years so if I were Tyrone people I'd be patient as I'm sure they will come back with a good team again.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 18/06/2014 12:13:16    1605470

One more thing worth mentioning here is that Mickey Harte had every right to be upset about the way Kinsella ended that game. He blew it up after Tyrone won a hop ball and were trying to engineer an attack. From my recollection it's nearly always the case that the ref lets the play continue until the team in possession lose the ball,are put on the back foot,or the ball goes out of play. Why did this ref not do that in this instance? It seemed he was too eager to end the game right there. It's not a gripe against Monaghan in any way,the complaint would be as legitimate regardless of the opposition. I think most Monaghan people would agree that if yez went all the way and won Sam that many Tyrone people,Mickey being one of them,would come down and welcome yez home with the prize. We remember the reception ye gave our lads and would be only too glad to reciprocate the gesture. It's a complaint about the ref and his officiating.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/06/2014 13:10:39    1605503

micky harte gave out about the injury time that was played but if you notice morgans free kick at the end it took him 1 minute to step up and take it. if he had of scored tyrone would have been happy to end the game but he missed and the ref played his 2 minutes and even added on 18 secsonds. monaghan fully deserved the win and will be a tough team to beat this year.

fullbackline (UK) - Posts: 10 - 18/06/2014 13:39:57    1605530