Monaghan vs Tyrone

Take your beating Mickey Harte and Tyrone.

Well done Monaghan, thoroughly deserved.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 15/06/2014 15:39:00    1603802

Sad to see Mickey Harte letting himself down.

It wasn't the referee's fault that Tyrone lost, they just weren't good enough.

Congratulations to Monaghan, worthy winners.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 15/06/2014 15:39:20    1603803

11/06/2014 11:22:58
TheGateKeeper

Tyrone's 2 games against Down have them battle-hardened for this one.
Are Monaghan ready for what Tyrone bring to the table?! Probably not,
this is no 'tired' Donegal team, this is Tir Eoghain.
Tir Eoghain abu

What a ridiculous comment.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 15/06/2014 15:40:28    1603805

Not sure what Mickey Harte is so angry about. Not enough injury time?

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 15/06/2014 15:40:54    1603806

Not a great game overall. Error strewn and constant fouling made it a very difficult game for the ref.
Monaghan are a decent outfit and this will bring them on.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 15/06/2014 15:42:00    1603809

Congrats to Monaghan they staggered over the line, but well done. But god some of the most woegious kicking I've ever seen at this level. As for Cavanagh a really clever way he pulled the tackler down must spends hours perfecting it and then Harte has the neck to burst a blood vessel at the end of the game!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 15/06/2014 15:42:52    1603810

Ah well Monaghan were the better team. They could've had a few goals so well done Monaghan.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 15/06/2014 15:43:00    1603811

Bad sign for Tyrone looking for advantages that were not there. Cavanagh no point talking about him any more he can do what he likes it seems. Best team won even though we panicked.
Next

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1079 - 15/06/2014 15:44:18    1603814

If Mickey Harte was complaining about injury time he has a point. There were lots of stoppages and time-wasting in the last 15 minutes and the ref also took a couple of minutes to talk to the linesman and decide on yellow/black cards

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 15/06/2014 15:53:50    1603825

Congrats to Monaghan should have won easy Tyrone are a poor side and that was a terrible game so boring.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/06/2014 15:54:47    1603826

What has happened Stephen O Neill he looks a shadow of his former self.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 15/06/2014 15:56:47    1603828

westkerry

What has happened Stephen O Neill he looks a shadow of his former self.

Age has happened to Stephen O'Neill.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8819 - 15/06/2014 16:02:29    1603830

He's too old for 70mins of championship football in Ulster. Still useful if given supply and opportunity.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 15/06/2014 16:04:23    1603831

Good game to watch, was not boring despite what another poster commented. Give me a one point day fought tooth and nail any day to watching non events.

Re Tyrone, they almost got a deserving draw, just falling short at the end. The ref had a good game, I thought there would be plenty of black cards before the game, there were 3 and that shows that the refs are not afraid to use them. What they should factor in is injury time. There should have been at least 4 if not 5 minutes of it rather than the bare 2. I cant understand the decision making about injury time sometimes, other than that the ref did well..

As for monaghan, they are ulster champions and will be rubbing their hands together now at the prospect of playing armagh. I think armagh will likewise be doing the same. monaghan may not be bookies favorites yet, but they wont be far off it after today to retain ulster.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 15/06/2014 16:05:11    1603833

KingdomBoy1

Lads I have a question for ye, when mcCurry was taking a free in the first half he soloed the ball twice before kicking it over the bar, technically when he soloed the ball had he not taken the free and couldn't he be tackled?

I agree, he should be fair game to be tackled. He has struck the ball with his boot therefore the ball has brought into play. Don't think the ball has to travel a specific distance after it's kicked before it's deemed to be in play.
---------------------------------
Wise up the 2 of ye. That's just the way he readies himself before the kick. Wise up ffs!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 15/06/2014 16:06:28    1603835

Realdub - Age catches up on us all but you'd still expect a score or two
or a play making role. I don't think you can blame age Pirlo was playing last night at 35.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 15/06/2014 16:09:01    1603837

Just on Sean cavanagh he does hit the ground to easy in my book, but the way he wins frees by holding onto arm of defenders is brilliant it's blindside of ref and it's very clever we were told to do that growing up loads of players do it I don't have a problem with it and I am not from tyrone

knowtherules (UK) - Posts: 181 - 15/06/2014 16:09:49    1603839

The snapper
Have we uncovered something I wonder, the next time he does it some1 should tackle him and see what happens :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/06/2014 16:18:45    1603845

On the run of play for the game Monaghan just about deserved their victory so well done Monaghan and good luck in the rest of championship. Monaghan guilty of time wasting and deliberately fouling to slow things down near the end and Mickey Harte was right to remonstrate with ref,there were so many stoppages at Monaghans behest that there simply had to be more time added. Dick clerkin and other players made the game look like a massage parlour on numerous occasions,getting legs rubbed and sprayed. Although Sean pulled Clerkin down near the end it was clear he was targeted cynically or whatever euphemism ye want to use to stop him near the end about 4 times. If Sean was guilty of holding as he went down then he is to be castigated for that too. The whole time wasting and poor officiating,Mc Curry should never have walked and Cavanagh quite possibly should have,must stop as it's ruining games. These refs are not good enough or fit enough to keep up. Ye need 2,of them on the pitch at this level and time keeping should be out of their hands altogether. Monaghan did well overall and it's hard to be magnanimous at times when games are riddled with such unsavory moments and poor officiating although I do think the Monaghan boys deserved their win in spite of such incidents today. Good luck Monaghan.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 15/06/2014 16:21:08    1603847

seanie_boy

KingdomBoy1

Lads I have a question for ye, when mcCurry was taking a free in the first half he soloed the ball twice before kicking it over the bar, technically when he soloed the ball had he not taken the free and couldn't he be tackled?

I agree, he should be fair game to be tackled. He has struck the ball with his boot therefore the ball has brought into play. Don't think the ball has to travel a specific distance after it's kicked before it's deemed to be in play.
---------------------------------
Wise up the 2 of ye. That's just the way he readies himself before the kick. Wise up ffs!

When the free from the hand was brought in, there was definitely a rule that you couldn't hop the ball before kicking it. I think that was removed a few years after that. There might be something still there in the rules. If anything it would be a free the other way as technically he played it to himself.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 15/06/2014 16:22:31    1603850