Monaghan vs Tyrone

Looking forward to this one, head is saying Monaghan victory, it really is now or never for them, this is their best chance in a long long time to beat a team they always struggle against. I think Monaghan are stronger up front, and Tyrone have looked leaky at the back. The Clones factor won't be an issue for either team, Monaghan at home, Tyrone view it like a second home.

Nah, I'll stick with a draw.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 12/06/2014 19:25:02    1602836

I heard Lennon is still injured,anyone know the story there?

yaladya (Monaghan) - Posts: 27 - 12/06/2014 20:15:40    1602856

Heard tommy freeman is also injured

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 12/06/2014 20:28:33    1602859

The whole team are injured at this stage!
Yis need a bit of practice at the cute hoorism lads!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 12/06/2014 20:52:10    1602869

Well Lennon and McManus are named as subs so they must not be fully fit. With that in mind suppose its predictable enough, maybe Mcguinness and R Wylie unlucky not to start. Some good subs to bring in though.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1079 - 12/06/2014 21:26:16    1602879

1.Rory Beggan
2.Colin Walshe
3.Drew Wylie
4.Fintan Kelly
5.Dessie Mone
6.Vinny Corey
7.Kieran Duffy
8.Dick Clerkin
9.Darren Hughes
10.Paul Finlay
11.Pauric Donaghy
12.Paudie McKenna
13.Dermot Malone
14.Kieran Hughes
15.Jack McCarron

McManus and Lennon on the bench , along with Wylie and Christopher McGuinness , Strong Bench

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 12/06/2014 21:31:13    1602881

12/06/2014 21:26:16
mhunicean_abu
County: Monaghan

Well Lennon and McManus are named as subs so they must not be fully fit. With that in mind suppose its predictable enough, maybe Mcguinness and R Wylie unlucky not to start. Some good subs to bring in though.

I wouldn't pass much remarks to the 15 named, any of those 4 you mention could well start, I'd expect at least a couple of changes before throw-in, he might be giving Conor and Eoin an extra couple of days to see how they are. The fact the two of them are named as subs show they will probably play some part which is good news in itself.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 948 - 12/06/2014 21:37:37    1602890

Something tells me one or even two from the bench will start but it won't be McManus.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1915 - 12/06/2014 21:40:45    1602892

Tyrone Senior Football Team v Monaghan 15th June 2014
1 - Niall Morgan - Éadan na dTorc
2 - Aidan McCrory - Aireagal Chiaráin
3 - Justin McMahon - An Omaigh
4 - Ronan McNamee - Achadh Uí Aráin
5 - Ronan McNabb - An Droim Mhór
6 - Mattie Donnelly - Trí Leac
7 - Peter Harte - Aireagal Chiaráin
8 - Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
9 - Conan Grugan - An Omaigh
10 - Martin Penrose - An Charraig Mhór
11 - Sean Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
12 - Ciaran McGinley - Aireagal Chiaráin
13 - Darren McCurry - Éadán na dTorc
14 - Stephen O'Neill - Clann na nGael
15 - Ronan O'Neill - An Omaigh
16 - Michael O'Neill - Cluain Eo
17 - Dermot Carlin - Coill an Chlochair
18 - Kyle Coney - Ard Bó
19 - Mark Donnelly - An Charraig Mhór
20 - Conor Gormley - An Charraig Mhór
21 - Peter Hughes - Eiscreach
22 - Plunkett Kane - Oileán a'Ghuail
23 - PJ Lavery - Cluain Eo
24 - Connor McAliskey - Cluain Eo
25 - Danny McBride - An Srath Ban
26 - Shea McGuigan - Ard Bó

tir_eoghain_abu (Tyrone) - Posts: 773 - 12/06/2014 21:48:21    1602897

Usually always is a change before the game starts so be prepared lads ;)

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 12/06/2014 21:50:35    1602899

No way on this earth will McManus start and make him a legitimate target for a few belts early on. Not a team in Ulster wouldn,t rough him up. Happy enough with the team thats named they would tighten anyone

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1079 - 12/06/2014 21:59:17    1602910

Finally Mickey has named a team that makes sense, I would expect for the first time this team to start as is! Big chance for Conan Grugan time to sink or swim, undoubted talent but can he hack it at intercounty level! Monaghan would be crazy starting mc manus

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 13/06/2014 08:53:10    1602922

Good move by Mickey Harte to start with experience in the full forward line as the first 15 minutes will be time to hit hard, take a hit but keep the head. Monaghan would have targeted younger forwards early on to unsettle them and these lads could be brought on later when the game has settled a bit.

Really looking forward to this game.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 13/06/2014 10:30:59    1602981

What do the Tyrone lads think about O'Neill coming back into the full-forward line, would he be fully fit again? I thought Tyrone were going to stick with the younger lads up front but it seems like Mickey has reverted to experience for this one. Drew Wylie did very well on O'Neill last year, I thought a younger forward may have been more difficult this time so I'm happy enough if they start like that.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 948 - 13/06/2014 11:04:31    1603016

I have ta say that the players are keepin everything awfully quite around the monaghan camp could be a few mind games goin on here but that said micky harte is no fool

mickmon42 (Monaghan) - Posts: 5 - 13/06/2014 11:15:52    1603028

patk, I think thats a sign of the respect Harte has for this Monaghan team. Regardless of all the thrash talking going on here we all know this is going to be a tough battle between two evenly matched teams, gutted I can't be there myself but thank you BBC NI.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/06/2014 11:17:33    1603032

I think Monaghan fans would settle for a draw as it would give them a glimmer of hope that mcmanus would somehow be fit for the replay....just a thought

mickmon42 (Monaghan) - Posts: 5 - 13/06/2014 11:27:47    1603046

patk
County: Monaghan

1603016 What do the Tyrone lads think about O'Neill coming back into the full-forward line, would he be fully fit again? I thought Tyrone were going to stick with the younger lads up front but it seems like Mickey has reverted to experience for this one. Drew Wylie did very well on O'Neill last year, I thought a younger forward may have been more difficult this time so I'm happy enough if they start like that.

O'Neill could hit 0-6 from play, or go off injured in first 15 minutes. Don't know what to expect, but if he is fit I still think he's as good as anyone in Ireland. He obviously must be going fine in training but as stated before, he would be well used to the nudging and what not, Kyle Coney got involved with a bit of a running battle with his marker v Down which might have been a black mark against his name and Niall McKenna is not a full forward. Conor McAliskey has done nothing wrong and can consider himself very unlucky not to make that full forward line I would say, bar the fact that Darren McCurry and Ronan O'Neill are quite 'light' and McAliskey would be slightly more physical than them two but far less so than Stevie O'Neill.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 13/06/2014 12:14:29    1603093

Well when you have One of the three Holy Trinity in you starting line up you have a chance !. Father SO'N and Holy Spirit

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/06/2014 13:38:39    1603158

Hope its a good game and may the best team win. Not the end of the world to lose this one. Winners play Armagh then if they win that one Donegal and are on a potential collision course with Dublin in the semi. Losers play louth etc. However we need to beat Tyrone for other reasons (no offence) no point pretending any different

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1079 - 13/06/2014 16:17:59    1603249