Monaghan vs Tyrone

border Gael
County: Monaghan

with the 2 Hughes now fit an Mc Manus back I cant see how Tyrone could win this. it took them 2 days to bate Down an them not half the team Monaghan is.
-----------------------------------
Down are certainly more than half the team that Monaghan is. It took Tyrone 2 goes to beat Down in 2003 and it turned out to be our best year in history so I wouldn't read too much into things like that. Tyrone to win on Sunday. Total faith.

What has that got to do with anything?? That was 2003 and even though we are talking about the same counties they are completely different teams now so I think you are clutching at straws

yaladya (Monaghan) - Posts: 27 - 11/06/2014 20:26:03    1602424

Our best midfielder and forward havent kicked a ball in 7 weeks...........Our task of beating Tyrone without these men has changed the whole mindset of everyone for this game.

But im sure Malachy has his plan done out weeks ago without the two boys,and hopefully the players that get there chance step up and take it.

As i said before lose on sunday wont kill us......it will hurt badly again,but we will regroup and come back, we will be at Croke Park August bank holiday weekend,hopefully with a fully fit team......and this time win.

Still Believe we will win this Sunday.........its time.

[\/][\]

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 11/06/2014 20:29:19    1602426

Slightly off topic but talking of big ulster first round matches, just watching tg4 rerun of 94 classic between Down and Derry. Some match no back door then if there was those two sides would have met in the All Ireland Final. Marty Morrissey strangely sounded easier to listen to back then as well. Whatever happens Sunday both teams will be in the last eight.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1915 - 11/06/2014 20:50:06    1602435

seanie08

Slightly off topic but talking of big ulster first round matches, just watching tg4 rerun of 94 classic between Down and Derry. Some match no back door then if there was those two sides would have met in the All Ireland Final. Marty Morrissey strangely sounded easier to listen to back then as well. Whatever happens Sunday both teams will be in the last eight.

Shhhh; you'll waken up the 'aristocrats'! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 11/06/2014 20:56:28    1602437

Tyrone are gonna stuff these chancers

I predict 2-15 to 0-8

Four Monaghan men to get sent off

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 11/06/2014 21:12:40    1602450

Then we'll get beaten by Donegal again

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 11/06/2014 21:14:24    1602452

Seanie08. The gatekeeper
Whatever happens Sunday :::the ARISTOCRATS could be in the last eight.
I would not be too sure what Ulster teams could end up in the last 8. We could have four , then again a lot less I fancy Derry to make it Donegal have a massive chance How Sundays game pans out is another thing:::if Monaghan keeps winning then I think they can get to the AI semi final. Defeat on Sunday and it would be hard to know how far they can go. How would they rate their chances against Derry,,, that's if they were to meet in a back door game. In my book there is not much between Tyrone, Derry Donegak ,Monaghan To keep progressing Tyrone will have played a lot of games so that is an added pressure.
All I want is Donegal to reach 2012 heights and we can win Ulster.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 11/06/2014 21:32:04    1602459

Monghan would do well in the back door. I dont think anyone would want to draw them. Thats if they go that way. They have a lot of football to play before they even get to an ulster final. Clones and home advantage might not be enough for them on sunday, and noone is talking about armagh at all. They are going to be one serious nut for either tyrone or monaghan to crack.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 12/06/2014 10:18:08    1602529

MichaelO

Then we'll get beaten by Donegal again

What about your buddies in armagh?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 12/06/2014 11:39:08    1602576

border Gael

with the 2 Hughes now fit an Mc Manus back I cant see how Tyrone could win this. it took them 2 days to bate Down an them not half the team Monaghan is.
-----------------------------------
Down are certainly more than half the team that Monaghan is. It took Tyrone 2 goes to beat Down in 2003 and it turned out to be our best year in history so I wouldn't read too much into things like that. Tyrone to win on Sunday. Total faith.

What has that got to do with anything?? That was 2003 and even though we are talking about the same counties they are completely different teams now so I think you are clutching at straws
-------------------------------------------
I'm not clutching at straws. I'm just saying that teams often play different against certain teams and that results against one team might have no bearing on another game against a deferent team. I also think that our 2 games against Down will stand to us come Sunday while your boys have been cold for 7 weeks with a few players certainly not up to 70 mins at this level. Ye never know though so we will just have to wait and see. If Monaghan take it I will be wishing yez all the best but until then.....,'mon Tir Eoghain! Total Faith!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 12/06/2014 16:24:06    1602727

I'd think if McManus is named, he won't play and if he isn't, he will.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 12/06/2014 17:03:49    1602757

HokeyPokey

Deep stuff hokey, deep stuff indeed.

I'll need to think about that one for a while.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 12/06/2014 17:10:42    1602767

HokeyPokey

Thats a hum dinger HokeyPokey. I doubt Malachy would be over thinking it like you.

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 661 - 12/06/2014 17:21:41    1602778

So if he is named he won't play and if he is not he will play ,you could be right then again you could be wrong

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 12/06/2014 17:49:28    1602786

Really looking forward to Clones on Sunday;
the neighbours will be mad to get one over
on Tyrone and the craic will be mighty!
Total Faith
Tir Eoghain abu.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 12/06/2014 18:25:50    1602800

HokeyPokey

Plato; eat your heart out! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 12/06/2014 18:28:37    1602803

have it first hand from the farney medical team mcmanus will start

weebox (Tyrone) - Posts: 272 - 12/06/2014 18:35:11    1602806

Read in the paper today that Darren Hughes is struggling to be fit! What's the story with him? If monaghan are missing him and mcmanus they'll have a tough day out..

rua29 (Dublin) - Posts: 8 - 12/06/2014 19:00:51    1602824

I think Monaghan set up have the country fooled. Heard that Mc Manus played the last 20 minutes of the challenge match v cork two weeks ago. Im sure he will start on Sunday it is going to be some day out.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 373 - 12/06/2014 19:16:07    1602828

Jaysus are any of the Monaghan team going to be playin!
Smoke and mirrors; Mickey and the boys will not be fooled! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 12/06/2014 19:19:49    1602833