Mayo v Roscommon

08/06/2014 16:50:44
ceefarr

Absolutely blessed to win that. The Hyde is no place to put out an experimental half forward line. That should have been done in fbd,National League and the jolly to New York. Turbo Tom, Boyle and Cillian's frees dragged us through. Also, Andy Moran take a bow. Brilliant cameo,without which Mayo were sunk. Thought he was on a downward spiral but fair play, he proved many people wrong including myself. Ballagh remains a little outpost of Mayo for another year at least!

Thought he really sewed it into the louts that booed him coming on to the pitch.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/06/2014 17:35:36    1599947

Very lucky win. Rossies let us out of jail big time. Fair play to Andy Moran for standing up when it counted. All places in half forward line are up for grabs based on the performances of the 3 that started there. Doc put in respectable performance but that was about it. Midfield pretty poor based on their high standards. Win is a win I suppose.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 08/06/2014 20:46:56    1600156

Fair play to Mayo cool heads when it mattered,Would not begrudge ye an All Ireland.

I believe if Diarmaid Murtagh started we would have got the scores to take it.He is pure talent and was wasted on the bench,Crazy.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 08/06/2014 21:39:14    1600221

Another dire connacht match. Could RTE stop showing this drivel. Every year they show loads of Connacht matches, and with a very odd exception they are brutal matches.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 09/06/2014 08:22:01    1600267

icehonesty
County: Wexford

Another dire connacht match. Could RTE stop showing this drivel. Every year they show loads of Connacht matches, and with a very odd exception they are brutal matches.

Aye, let's watch loads of Wexford games instead......

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/06/2014 08:55:23    1600284

Very poor from mayo. One word sums up their performances this year. Static! No plan B. And I think Horan tactically is very inept. But at last someone stood up and took the game by the scruff when it was needed. Take a bow andy moran. Roscommon hard luck but the experienced heads in mayo dragged them over the line.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/06/2014 09:05:12    1600294

Well we got out of jail there that's for sure. Hard luck to Roscommon, they came with a defensive game plan to keep it low scoring and contain us and it worked. Probably should have got the draw in the end if the young lad coming through had opted to kick over the bar instead of going for glory.

We were very poor however. Too many players playing as individuals going forward, slow build up play. Its like our players were wearing concrete boots. It was probably a bit too much to except two new young players to make an impact in the half forward line and that was proven. The number 11 position is a vital position.

In fairness I thought we showed great character when under the collar and looked a beaten team but for Cillian's excellent free taking and Andy Moran's leadership in controlling the link play and kicking two great points. Much work to be done but on the evidence (and as I suspected) we have not improved on last year and I don't think our long wait for Sam will end this year but sure we will keep supporting and see where we end up.

Up Mayo

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 09/06/2014 09:07:00    1600297

Don't think there is much sense in Mayo fans being worried about yesterdays performance, I actually thought it was encouraging. Their appetite was clearly still there, with the level of tackling even better than last year. Playing Roscommon in the Hyde is completely different to any game in Croke Park. For example, Andy Moran came on and had a pivotal role yesterday, but Croke Park now seems to be too big and too fast for him. When Conor O'Shea gets to Croke Park it is likely the wide open spaces will suit him much much better. Hopefully Roscommon get Donie Shine back and give the qualifiers a good bash.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 09/06/2014 09:26:42    1600310

icehonesty
County: Wexford

Look, the game was very poor, nobody would say any different. But the Connacht Championship gets a lot of bashing where others get off scot-free, IMO. How many classic provincial matches could you reel off over the past couple of years? I'd say few. Cork v. Kerry is usually the only high-quality match in Munster, while over in Leinster, Meath- Dublin is the only fixture which looks competitive, and you'd say the Dubs are still ahead there.

Last year, all we heard from other parts of the country was that Connacht was a cakewalk for Mayo, that it was giving them an unfair advantage going into the All-Ireland series, etc. Now that we have a competitive championship, people are still bellyaching. The arm-wrestle that we saw yesterday wouldn't have looked out of place in the Ulster Championship, IMO.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 09/06/2014 09:30:59    1600314

That game should stand to Mayo

They haven't played in a while so they were always going to be a wee bit rusty

Some worrying signs for them though

Still really the same team... they looked leaderless at times and to be honest it was really only their superior fitness levels that got them over the line

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/06/2014 09:47:10    1600332

Hard luck Roscommon, I predicted yous would topple Mayo in Connacht very soon, and I knew this year may just be too soon, but I knew the game would be very close. Experience won it for Mayo in the end, but they're coming to the end of their dominance in the west. Roscommon's young guns are exceptional footballers. Still, very hard to take seeing a player from Roscommon come on and put yous out.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/06/2014 10:14:22    1600364

Mayo ground out a super win yesterday against a Rossie team that should have no difficulty with the meaths, monahaghans and wexfords of this world. To win coming from 3 down showed real character. At least mayo cant be accused of peaking too early this year. This is exactly the kind of stiff opposition mayo need in Connacht. Lets hope Sligo /Galway can put up a similar challenge.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 09/06/2014 10:21:02    1600373

O'Connor's free taking won the game for Mayo (Some were questionably awarded to say the least) , Evan's had a game plan and the young Rossies executed it to perfection , Higgins was very wasteful kicking 3 bad wides which could and should of sunk Mayo. If Shine had of stayed on who knows what could have been.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 09/06/2014 10:24:41    1600379

Well done and hard luck to Roscommon. They put in a great shift by all accounts. Signs are bright for the future in the county it seems.

Well done Mayo. Digging out results like that is the stuff of Champions imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 09/06/2014 10:29:20    1600389

That Romcommon player could have drawn the foul in that last attack..

Surprised he didn't play for a free as there was no way he was gonna get through for an equalising point...

Felt sorry for the Rossie's to be honest from what I saw last night - they deserved a replay.

3pts up with about 9mins left to play.. Disappointing to see them lose.

That game will definitely stand to Mayo though..

They had it too easy v Roscommon last year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4467 - 09/06/2014 10:41:56    1600410

fionn.........Surprised he didn't play for a free as there was no way he was gonna get through for an equalising point...
Fionn, he could have fisted it over the bar.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 09/06/2014 11:13:15    1600446

Maybe so Miler, but he was never gonna be able to kick a point with all those Mayo defenders around him..

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4467 - 09/06/2014 11:31:10    1600466

I fancy Mayo to win the All-Ireland now, showed serious character to come through that

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 09/06/2014 11:49:06    1600486

Didn't see any of this game or read any posts yet so just wondering have Mayo gone backwards or have Roscommon improved? Basically I'm asking are Mayo still rightly 2nd favourites for Sam?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/06/2014 11:54:16    1600489

Anyone know the story with Shine's Injury? Judging by the way he landed and the pain he is in I would not be hopeful he will be back this season. The fact he landed so awkwardly, it could be the dreaded Anterior Cruciate ligament rupture.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 09/06/2014 11:58:07    1600494