Gooch's 3 "toughest" opponents!

If Ricey and Gormley were so good
why did Tyrone have to use the blanket defence

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 21/05/2014 21:38:00    1591661

had a good laugh at his remarks on sunday night....leaving out ricey was an obvious omission...his 3 toughest opponents gormley, ricey and peter the great for that great rugby tackle in 05

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/05/2014 21:39:23    1591663

I commented on why he didn't pick gormley but admin didn't allow it. I talked about gormleys typical man marking 'skills' and how the gooch would refuse to give him praise. In saying that the three lads the gooch did mention are better footballers overall than gormley.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 21/05/2014 21:42:29    1591666

If Ricey and Gormley were so good
why did Tyrone have to use the blanket defence

I think Tyrone's use of a blanket defence is a bit overstated. Tyrone players generally defended in packs where the ball was rather than bringing men behind the ball for the sake of it. Maybe crowding around players was unappealing to watch but generally there was had a good balance between attack and defence. As far as I can recall Tyrone weren't very defensive in the 2005 final anyway apart from in the last few minutes when Kerry were looking for a goal.

I'll grant you Tyrone were very defensive last year and probably got the balance wrong, whereas this year we're having the exact opposite problem.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 21/05/2014 21:48:42    1591671

Hilarious to see so many lads on here TELLING Colm Cooper who his toughest opponents were!
Maybe the greatest forward we have ever seen knows his own mind and can decide for himself?
Maybe he just didnt rate Ricey as a footballer.......

Ye are gas!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 22/05/2014 08:47:35    1591697

I think the 3 players he rated are the best No 4s to play the Game, every team needs a Ricey, in the good days of Kerry football they said every great Kerry team needed a few North Kerry defenders, players like Eammon Breen Finuge and Liam Flaherty were tough as nails, unfortunately North Kerry football is a wasteland at the moment and our team is suffering. You got to face facts that Cooper will never get the true credit he deserves.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 22/05/2014 11:30:30    1591764

kerryrowz

I think the 3 players he rated are the best No 4s to play the Game, every team needs a Ricey, in the good days of Kerry football they said every great Kerry team needed a few North Kerry defenders, players like Eammon Breen Finuge and Liam Flaherty were tough as nails, unfortunately North Kerry football is a wasteland at the moment and our team is suffering. You got to face facts that Cooper will never get the true credit he deserves.

Cant believe the ending of this comment , Cooper Not getting the credit he deserves , he's Lauded by many as the best player ever , if not one of the greatest , he'd never be left out of an all time greatest team even by his biggest critics , so he's open to being analysed and why not , when great players get questioned fans get the hump , its only opinions , by and large those opinions by coaches , fellow players , fans in Kerry far and wide , journalists , are POSITIVE , if hes not getting respect Im not sure from where ? One of the greatest and Ive posted that many many times , in a thread last year B Brogan or Gooch I like the majority picked Gooch , in another thread many fans posted how much he will be missed this summer , but if you want to erect a statue dont expect the rest of us to join in , thats over to the kerry guys .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/05/2014 11:57:24    1591787

Lamewalkintotown (spell check did it)! Sorry I mean Liamwalkinstown, I couldn't name your fav teacher, becoz unlike knowing that the Gooch actually plays Gaelic football, I don't know whether you went to school or not! I know you've a sense of humour! (And you can be partial to Limk on occassion too)!

The point I was trying to make is that I don't think that it's no. 1) a bona-fide from Cooper, and 2) that he should even be making these comments while he's still playing the game. 4-5 years time would, I submit, be plenty time enough to reflect on his (magnificent) career!

And the reason I posted this (the first thread that I've started on HS, btw) was that I said to a mate of mine, "before you click on that thread, I bet no even one of the 3 that he names are Tyrone men!" We were reading the sports pages together and I just knew that a Tyrone man would not be credited.

My mate asks, "How the hell did you know that? I thought Ricey would be no.1!"

That answer is blatantly obvious to anyone who has followed the Tyrone-Kerry dichotomy since 2003 (club games included as well)!

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 22/05/2014 15:59:48    1591951

shoulderghost
County: Limerick

Lamewalkintotown (spell check did it)! Sorry I mean Liamwalkinstown, I couldn't name your fav teacher, becoz unlike knowing that the Gooch actually plays Gaelic football, I don't know whether you went to school or not! I know you've a sense of humour! (And you can be partial to Limk on occassion too)!

The point I was trying to make is that I don't think that it's no. 1) a bona-fide from Cooper, and 2) that he should even be making these comments while he's still playing the game. 4-5 years time would, I submit, be plenty time enough to reflect on his (magnificent) career!

And the reason I posted this (the first thread that I've started on HS, btw) was that I said to a mate of mine, "before you click on that thread, I bet no even one of the 3 that he names are Tyrone men!" We were reading the sports pages together and I just knew that a Tyrone man would not be credited.

My mate asks, "How the hell did you know that? I thought Ricey would be no.1!"

That answer is blatantly obvious to anyone who has followed the Tyrone-Kerry dichotomy since 2003 (club games included as well)!

Ignoring the fact the Tyrone beat Kerry, can you explain why Ricey should be in the top three?
The reason I ask is that most are basing this opinion on the outcomes of the games.
Also, 'club games included'? Which ones?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 22/05/2014 16:33:38    1591973

Indeed it is - Tyrone marked him with 2-3 guys at a time and imposed a blanket defence, which probably made their defenders seem better than they actually were. Your assertions are undermined by the fact that in the past the gooch has credited mcmenimen as being one of his toughest opponents. He just isn't in the top 3...

Here is the thing that contradicts this whole tyrone bit. The gooch's bogeyman was Anthony Lynch. He struggled with him for years and he got less change out of him than against tyrone. He is on the list. He was the top scorer in both finals against tyrone. No if he was holding a grudge against anyone, that might lessen his legacy somewhat, it should be lynch. What annoys me is guys are basically calling the gooch a liar and a bad loser. He is neither of these things. In fact I would suggest it is the guys making these suggestions who are the sore losers.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/05/2014 17:16:23    1592002

OMG i agree with something written by TheMaster lol. Good post.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 22/05/2014 17:51:08    1592035

Indeed it is - Tyrone marked him with 2-3 guys at a time and imposed a blanket defence, which probably made their defenders seem better than they actually were.

Jordan, Gormley, Ricey and I suppose for an all-too-short period of time McAnallen were all excellent defenders. I think Tyrone's struggles in the last few years have made it apparent that our success in the noughties was as much due to the players at our disposal as canny management. Tyrone weren't particularly defensive in the 2005 and 2008 finals anyway unless I've gone mad.

In relation to the rest of your post, I don't think Cooper's lying or anything like that. He's a very likeable guy and Lynch, Higgins and O'Se are all great players.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 22/05/2014 17:57:03    1592042