http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/cooper-picks-three-toughest-defenders-hes-played-against-630976.html shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 19/05/2014 14:47:25 1590117 Link 0 |
Let me get this straight. So YOU think YOU know better who THE GOOCH thinks was HIS toughest opponents. Thats some gift, looking in others minds. You wouldn't mind telling me what game plan Mc Ivor has planned for Donegal this Sunday. Cheers lad. Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 19/05/2014 15:17:32 1590157 Link 0 |
Did he not finish as top scorer in both the 05 and 08 finals? if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 19/05/2014 15:21:51 1590162 Link 0 |
Did he not finish as top scorer in both the 05 and 08 finals? if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 19/05/2014 15:21:52 1590163 Link 0 |
"Speaking of toughness, and the rough and tumble of being the marquée forward of a generation, who is the toughest defender Cooper has faced over the years? MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 19/05/2014 15:29:09 1590167 Link 0 |
That is the thing though, is it gormley that made it difficult or him and his 2 teammates? He was asked for his toughest opponent, i.e. individual. Now I rate gormley, he is a player I like, but 1 on 1 gooch would do to him what he did to ger brennan in a similar matchup last year. Lynch was always a class marker, he had a really natural nose for it and although well regarded was still underrated for my money. I know all too well from within my own county and beyond, Higgins is just a complete and utter nightmare of an opponent. O'Se is well warranted on the list too. I am surprised Karl Lacey didn't get a mention though. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/05/2014 15:36:44 1590173 Link 0 |
Now I rate gormley, he is a player I like, but 1 on 1 gooch would do to him what he did to ger brennan in a similar matchup last year. MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 19/05/2014 15:49:50 1590190 Link 0 |
You are right The Master, he has picked probably the 3 finest corner-backs in the game in the last 10-12 years there, it is hardly controversial. Not sure how many times himself and Lacey would have faced each other though, in direct opposition. Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/05/2014 15:50:09 1590192 Link 0 |
shoulderghose telling Gooch who his toughest opponents were Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 19/05/2014 16:08:34 1590206 Link 0 |
The gooch only marked Gormley once, in the 2008 final, and he roasted him. I do think however that if the gooch was being honest he would have put ricey in there. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 21/05/2014 08:37:30 1591092 Link 0 |
joncarter, I would again ask the question, was it RMcM that gave him a tough time, or him and his 2 team mates? There was another quote from cooper posted here as regards mcmenamin and there is a noticeable difference in tone. The one with RMcM was regarded as a rough and tumble battle and spoken of in those terms, but o'se, lynch and higgins were just his toughest opponents that tested him. That says to me that RMcM might have given him a real war as regards skelps flying etc, but the other lads gave him his biggest test 'within the rules' shall we say. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2014 09:55:33 1591126 Link 0 |
It's easy to say Higgins and Lynch when Kerry hammered those teams (Mayo and Cork ) anytime they met. The Gooch either making the scores or taking them and causing havoc all day long. I think he was kept well in check against Tyrone on a few occasions, against Armagh and even against Donegal in 2012 The one really class display I saw him give over the last couple of years was against Dublin in AI semi last year. To settle the argument you would have to review a host of games over the years,especially the later stages of the championship when Kerry would have been facing better teams. But over the years I thought Gooch would not have been as effective without the help of K Donaghy as I though Donaghy won a lot of high ball and set the Gooch up for scores. SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 21/05/2014 10:39:32 1591149 Link 0 |
SamOnErrigal Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 21/05/2014 11:09:07 1591165 Link 0 |
Master hit the nail on the head. He may have come up against tougher defensive units (e.g. Gormley, McMenamen and the Tyrone lads or Neil, Eamonn Mcgee in Donegals defence) but that doesn't mean they are the best or toughest individual defenders. Probably the toughest defence, but not the toughest individuals. CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 21/05/2014 13:24:45 1591304 Link 0 |
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 21/05/2014 13:28:01 1591308 Link 0 |
Cooper appreciates a ball player. The three guys he named were all quick and comfortable on the ball. He broke Keith Higgins' ankles twisting and turning him in 06, last few big games they've played Mayo have put Ger Cafferky on him. Surprised there was no Tyrone man picked but I think it's where Cooper puts the emphasis rather than anti-Tyrone bias. roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 21/05/2014 14:03:18 1591343 Link 0 |
Spot on shoulderghost. The begrudgers and revisionists still can't give that great Tyrone team any credit. Thankfully we know the real truth as pointed out recently by Tomas O Se :) seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/05/2014 15:50:43 1591433 Link 0 |
Who was marking Gooch in the 2011 match against Mayo? He ran riot that day. MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 21/05/2014 16:03:25 1591444 Link 0 |
seanie_boy TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2014 16:57:34 1591480 Link 0 |
MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 21/05/2014 17:31:25 1591498 Link 0 |