Former Pro Rugby Player joins Mayo Senior Squad

Gavin Duffy who recently retired from playing pro rugby with Connacht has been added to Mayo's squad for 2014 championship.
He played county minor prior to taking up pro rugby but what do people think here of this?
32 years of age, been a pro rugby player for 10+ years but no or little gaelic played in years..

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 14/05/2014 21:01:20    1587803

Hopefully he's heard of the black card...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/05/2014 21:21:10    1587808

Mayo signing professionals.....

Split Mayo....fast!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 14/05/2014 21:21:44    1587809

Worth a punt!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8398 - 14/05/2014 21:25:54    1587810

The last rugby playing midfielder from Ballina we had did alright for us. Flying in training by all accounts. Welcome home Gavin!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8004 - 14/05/2014 21:32:08    1587813

Pillar tried out a rugby chap at full forward a few years ago. Can't remember his name. He was useless. Mayo beware is all I can say :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/05/2014 21:57:56    1587829

Jaysus Meath lads, ye missed out there, a direct replacement for big Joe eh :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 15/05/2014 08:11:09    1587835

It says a lot about the state of gaelic football today when rugby and aussie rules players can just walk on to top inter county teams - gaelic football is now only about fitness - run & handpass. no skill left. ffs the guy hasnt played football in 13 years and he can walk back on to the Mayo panal.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 15/05/2014 08:21:06    1587836

HurlingDub, it was Eric Miller

Cant see this happening. You cant equate it with Kennelly, completely diff set of skills. Has he even played with Salthill this year????

Cant be good for the fringe players
Smacks of a bit of desperation??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/05/2014 08:42:24    1587840

14/05/2014 21:57:56
hurlingdub

1587829 Pillar tried out a rugby chap at full forward a few years ago. Can't remember his name. He was useless. Mayo beware is all I can say :-)

Eric Miller

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 15/05/2014 09:14:20    1587846

Interesting....Il admit I thought it was a joke at first but hey maybe its worth a try. Gavin lined out for Mayo at no.9 in the 1999 minor final which we lost to Down. We have enough in Midfield but maybe he can be deployed elsewhere.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11583 - 15/05/2014 09:14:49    1587847

Presume you are referring to Eric Miller. Dont think he ever made the Dublin team.

ExiledinDublin (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 15/05/2014 09:26:12    1587848

I would expect they have taken him onboard more so that he can give them advise on improvements they can make in ways they train etc.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 15/05/2014 09:28:11    1587850

Well at least thats one player the ref can be sure he won't get a volley of abuse from. Still, first game, first tackle, first black card - Carlsberg don't sponsor the GAA Football Championship but if they did....

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 15/05/2014 09:42:05    1587856

Yeah i remember it was Eric Miller here: link
It was 2006 so suppose we were willing to try anything.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 15/05/2014 09:45:32    1587858

Well worth a look and even if he doesnt get into the squad, his experience would be a great influence and lift to the team. Also, I think this is good for the gaa. If he were to come into the squad it would be something that would draw fans in, particularly with sky involved. Plus it also shows people that GAA in ireland is taken as seriously as other sports - he could have gone playing amateur/professional rugby, but he decided to play football. Best of luck to him, it is refreshing to see a guy want to represent his county over playing rugby in england.

Next up, Mils Muliaina

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/05/2014 09:49:47    1587859

Millar played in challenge games and O'Byrne Cup games for Dublin. Don't think he was tried in the league. I saw him a few times and I think Pillar's idea was to try and use him as a sort of Donaghy standing on the edge of the square. Well, it didn't work out obviously! I doubt any professional rugby player would have what it takes to make a top gaelic football team like Mayo, especially at 32. Doesn't say much for the rest of the squad.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 15/05/2014 10:05:22    1587863

Not a fan of this type of thing, bit lousy on club players in Mayo who are there/thereabouts in terms of getting a call up is it not? Perhaps if he is only there to lend advice rather than being available for selection then it is ok.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 15/05/2014 11:00:30    1587903

eric miller only got a challenge match and o byrne cup game
as promotion for him joining the evening herald as a columnist and they threw it in as an angle
was never going to be a serious addition haha
sure he came on as a sub only for ballyboden that year in the champo against crokes and missed a sitter of a goal chance right
at the end that could have gotten them a result

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/05/2014 11:29:31    1587916

If Geordan Murphy kitted out for us when he retired I would've been delighted. And Duffy writes a regular column in the Mayo News. It's not like he's just returned from abroad. Why wouldn't Mayo have a look at him?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/05/2014 11:32:57    1587919