I saw this on another thread
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 9300
1587044 I wish the GAA would make a bigger effort in barring entry to those supporters who have clearly had too much to drink before hand.
It been something that has been on my mind for years. Im 38 years old. Iv been attending games since 1987. I have often had a few pints before a game and i think most supporters do to get into the athmosphere or location to meet friends etc. But i have never had so much drink that i was unable to control my mouth or my body."p.s im vocal at matches with out being abusive"
My point is in last decade that match seems to be an excuse for a **** up and i regularly see drunken patrons going to games. In 2005 all -ireland final a galway supporter actually feel asleep on my shoulder at the game. My point is for as long as i can remember there were pints before games but i cant remember till recent years looking at a person and going "jasus the state of him/her". It also rankles me that this person has a ticket to a final and cant see it where as some poor soul is desperately walking around dublin/ cork/ limerick etc looking for a ticket to actually WATCH the match.
So my friends here is one for you. If you have had too much drink you cant get into a night club/ bar why should you be allowed in to a match @ 3.30 in the afternoon where you will do nothing but annoy other supporters.
I have a suggestion though ohhhh yes i have a cunning plan.
If a drunk person arrives at the first ticket check point and a Guard/ steward feel they have had too much they will be asked to step to one side. There ticket will be taken off them and they will be refunded the value of the ticket. There will be a hut set up where these tickets will be available to be purchased with a €5 levy and that money will be given to charity. Also with the hut set up any tout found with tickets shall have them confiscated with NO refund and they too will be sold to punters and again the money go to charity.
Please dont think im a kill joy. Every all ireland i meet up with gang in the red parrot for 3/4 pints before the match and again after. But its 3/4 pints not 10 plus. Have a think about it and let me know what ye think.
Is ritchie just getting old or do you think after paying €80 for a ticket a person should be able to watch the match with other genuine supporters and not drunken louts that are cheering an action that happened 30 seconds ago and abusing lads the havent even been bothered to learn the names of??
I look forward to the responses
rebels abu !!!
ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 13/05/2014 16:23:19
I often have a few pints before a game (roughly 2-6 depending on time and mood) and so do my mates but we don't get abusive and anyone who does, doesn't get asked to go to games again anyway, they're not worth the hassle. But sure look it, anybody who gets abusive or mouthy with drink on them shouldn't drink anyway regardless of where they're going, they're nothing but a burden on when your out.
Personally I only get happier with drink, I've never started a fist fight in my life but I'd hate to see the day when I'd get turned away from Croker just because I've had a few drinks before the game, that'd be ridiculous carry on.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2014 16:38:41
Whos going to police this ? The steward earning a few bob for the afternoon ? Ireland at times always full of people who know better , full of people who wish to yield power , were not happy unless telling someone else how to run their lives , do I like drunks at matches NO , some of the worst abuse Ive witnessed was from folks that looked fairly sober to me ., if someone falls asleep at a game yes that is annoying , as is someone picking there nose and farting beside you , but hey they spend their money thats their choice , beauty of a free country .
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/05/2014 16:50:58
Just wanted to add
Im talking about drunk people Drunk People !!!!
not merry not after few pints
Drunk People DRUNK PEOPLE
ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 13/05/2014 17:11:22
ritchie
Just wanted to add
Im talking about drunk people Drunk People !!!!
not merry not after few pints
Drunk People DRUNK PEOPLE
Ye but sure who gets to decide if you're drunk or not? a bouncer will tell you you're too drunk (usually in the form of "regulars only bud") even if you've only had a capri sun. I just think it's a dangerous idea to start refusing 'drunk people', unless they're falling up the street and or throwing abuse or digs at people in which case the guards should and probably will in most cases do their job and take that person away.
It shouldn't be up to Croker to refuse people unless they're visibly causing trouble in the stadium and plenty of people don't need drink on them to start trouble.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2014 17:20:08
finding the replies interesting i must say
keep them coming
For my two cents worth i think if you are not capable of watching the match your self or letting others watch it then i dont think you should get in.
ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 13/05/2014 17:38:09
never understood why anybody would want to drink before a match anyway you pay for your ticket to go to the match if you get drunk then you dont even know what your looking at or enjoy the match just a waste of money for drink and ticket
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/05/2014 17:44:34
Obviously drunk, roaring and shouting, staggering or indeed falling on way into grounds. No, stay in the bar and watch it.
Probably the major reason why it would take a great game for me to consider going to Croker, or a triple header like last year. Great day s football but I somehow always manage to end up behind or infront of someone who wrecks my head the whole way through the game and seems only to be there to give abuse and not any kind of support.
GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 13/05/2014 17:50:01
Reminds me of the tanking Cork gave us a few years back in Croke Park.
The seat beside me was empty for the first half but just at the start of the second half a man from my own neck of the woods climbs into it much the worse for wear.
He told me that he had had a ticket but fell into bad company & had been watching it in a pub. However he became more & more annoyed at proceedings & decided to come to the ground to give vent to his feelings.
He then proceeded to spend the entire second roaring at the hapless Donegal players & management before falling asleep on my shoulder.
Not a great day all round!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/05/2014 18:15:38
MuckrossHead
He then proceeded to spend the entire second roaring at the hapless Donegal players & management before falling asleep on my shoulder
haha jaysus right that is annoying, people like that should either stay at home or stay in the pub but knocking up to Croker locked is pointless. I remember in 2010 we were playing a Leinster first round game against Offaly in Portlaoise and it must have been 27+ degrees, it was bloody roasting and one of my mates fell asleep in the terrace, I tried to wake him up because he was getting scorched but it was a waste of time.
I have to admit though I was nearly impressed at how someone could fall asleep sprawled across steps and the sun splitting the stones, needless to say he toned down the drinking at games after that!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2014 18:28:26
I fully understand what you mean, nothing more annoying then drunk people "wasting" a good ticket for lack of a better word when you know how hard it can be to get a ticket for a final in croker.
But I wouldnt want stewards acting like bouncers at the gate either for a couple of reasons.
1: How drunk is too drunk? You are going to need a lot of stewards around croker to ask 2 or 3 questions or whatever to 82000 people before a game. Some stewards may have different ideas on what is too drunk, which would not be fair to the supporters.
2. Big problem with the amount of extra time this would take. If a line backs up because stewards are taking too long letting people in it could cause a pushing match. I dont wanna get carried away but people have been hurt in such incidents before.
3. Its extremely open to manipulation. Think how hard it is to get a ticket for an all ireland final. Im sure people with no ticket would slip a steward 200 quid to take a ticket off a supporter who has had 4 or 5 pints but is still sober.
Kind of an unrelated topic but what is up with some bouncers these days?! I'v barely got into some bars / nightclubs after only having 4 or 5 drinks on a night out at midnight. Do they expect everyone to show up sober or something!? I remember one night in college me and 2 friends went out one night, the other two had not even had a drink all night and they were turned away from the door for being too drunk!!
white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 13/05/2014 18:35:19
I'll never forget the day in 2007 when the Meath hooligans clearly plastered came onto the hill looking to start trouble with us saintly Dublin followers. You wouldnt get any of that from 101% of the Dubs on that particular terrace. ;) ;) ;)
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/05/2014 19:18:23
wayno
I'll never forget the day in 2007 when the Meath hooligans clearly plastered came onto the hill looking to start trouble with us saintly Dublin followers. You wouldnt get any of that from 101% of the Dubs on that particular terrace. ;) ;) ;)
I'm not proud (or ashamed really) to admit it wayno but I know those lads, I was in the canal end that day and I think they got kicked out at half time from what I remember. Most of them are alright lads though, they just got completely tanked up that day and thought it would be a great idea to head onto the Hill and misbehave, ah well!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2014 19:30:15
I'm not proud (or ashamed really) to admit it wayno but I know those lads, I was in the canal end that day and I think they got kicked out at half time from what I remember. Most of them are alright lads though, they just got completely tanked up that day and thought it would be a great idea to head onto the Hill and misbehave, ah well!
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/05/2014 19:42:36
wayno
Ah I know ye but still there's one or two of them who were and occasionally still are more than a bit over-intoxicated!
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2014 19:54:31
God knows we have our shower of eijits at times, but worse Ive seen was at Tipp/Cats in 2011. Gangs of kids from both counties absolutely hammered on the Hill. Must have been drinking since whatever time they left home. In fairness they were generally harmless but ruined a fair few peoples day I would imagine.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 13/05/2014 20:39:12
13/05/2014 16:23:19 ritchie brendtheredhand I wish the GAA would make a bigger effort in barring entry to those supporters who have clearly had too much to drink before hand. It been something that has been on my mind for years. Im 38 years old. Iv been attending games since 1987. I have often had a few pints before a game and i think most supporters do to get into the athmosphere or location to meet friends etc. But i have never had so much drink that i was unable to control my mouth or my body."p.s im vocal at matches with out being abusive" My point is in last decade that match seems to be an excuse for a **** up and i regularly see drunken patrons going to games. In 2005 all -ireland final a galway supporter actually feel asleep on my shoulder at the game. My point is for as long as i can remember there were pints before games but i cant remember till recent years looking at a person and going "jasus the state of him/her". It also rankles me that this person has a ticket to a final and cant see it where as some poor soul is desperately walking around dublin/ cork/ limerick etc looking for a ticket to actually WATCH the match. So my friends here is one for you. If you have had too much drink you cant get into a night club/ bar why should you be allowed in to a match @ 3.30 in the afternoon where you will do nothing but annoy other supporters. I have a suggestion though ohhhh yes i have a cunning plan. If a drunk person arrives at the first ticket check point and a Guard/ steward feel they have had too much they will be asked to step to one side. There ticket will be taken off them and they will be refunded the value of the ticket. There will be a hut set up where these tickets will be available to be purchased with a €5 levy and that money will be given to charity. Also with the hut set up any tout found with tickets shall have them confiscated with NO refund and they too will be sold to punters and again the money go to charity. Please dont think im a kill joy. Every all ireland i meet up with gang in the red parrot for 3/4 pints before the match and again after. But its 3/4 pints not 10 plus. Have a think about it and let me know what ye think. Is ritchie just getting old or do you think after paying €80 for a ticket a person should be able to watch the match with other genuine supporters and not drunken louts that are cheering an action that happened 30 seconds ago and abusing lads the havent even been bothered to learn the names of?? I look forward to the responses How much is too much drink? Who would determine who is too drunk and there Is no reason why someone too drunk will be more likely to cause any problems than someone who is totally sober? Yes games are more often seen as social occasions and people go for the few drinks etc and there is nothing wrong with that
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/05/2014 21:13:12
13/05/2014 17:20:08 Htaem Ye but sure who gets to decide if you're drunk or not? a bouncer will tell you you're too drunk (usually in the form of "regulars only bud") even if you've only had a capri sun. I just think it's a dangerous idea to start refusing 'drunk people', unless they're falling up the street and or throwing abuse or digs at people in which case the guards should and probably will in most cases do their job and take that person away. It shouldn't be up to Croker to refuse people unless they're visibly causing trouble in the stadium and plenty of people don't need drink on them to start trouble. +1. who gets to decide and how do you know someone who is supposedly too drunk even going to cause trouble/hassle inside the ground?
13/05/2014 17:38:09 ritchie finding the replies interesting i must say keep them coming For my two cents worth i think if you are not capable of watching the match your self or letting others watch it then i dont think you should get in.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/05/2014 21:17:30
13/05/2014 17:44:34 hill16no1man never understood why anybody would want to drink before a match anyway you pay for your ticket to go to the match if you get drunk then you dont even know what your looking at or enjoy the match just a waste of money for drink and ticket Games are days out/social occasions/leisure time so that's part of reason for drinking before games. you do pay for ticket to go to game but its a day out and social occasion for large number of people and drink is ultimately tied to those occasions for many people
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/05/2014 21:20:02
Good post Ritchie.
But prob not the best to stop ppl drunk or not going into games unless they were stopped by a guard. An ordinary steward doing his job for free would get some amount of abuse from the stopped person(people). Could see fighting breaking out, ppl being sued etc . I dont think a steward working for free would want the hassle. Likely best solution is that someone whi is drunk and abusive at games should be requested to shut up or get out by a steward and if it continues a steward should be able to ask the gardai to remove that abusive person
woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 14/05/2014 09:30:06