Terrace all day every day. Sitting down is unnatural at sporting events, it's not the theatre. All seater stadiums are devoid of atmosphere really, hence why you find soccers supporters screaming for a return of standing areas.
srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 13/05/2014 16:22:43
supermon County: Monaghan Posts: 476
1586981 Mike03 do you prefer cats or dogs?
Seals. They clap the whole way through it....
mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 13/05/2014 16:46:55
Damothedub County: Dublin Posts: 1755
1587059 13/05/2014 15:00:12 yew_tree County: Mayo Posts: 5623
1587055 Corporate box for me...eating prawn sandwiches, supping champagne and looking down on the third class masses below.
Snuff is that you ? _________________ Whats wrong with you man, snuff would never be seen dead with a prawn sangwich, its crab claws all the way!
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/05/2014 16:47:18
No better place to be than the terrace in Parnell Park, opposite main stand, for a Dublin league match on a Sat night. Unfortunately the powers that be put paid to that little avenue of pleasure with their 'spring series'. I'm always on the terrace for away matches and have seating season tkt for Croker. Too old to be hitting the Hill these days but was a permanent fixture there in the 80s and 90s. Being among 12000 Dubs singing C'mon You Boys in Blue when the lads are in full flight is an atmosphere that everyone should experience, even the non-dubs.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 13/05/2014 18:39:37
Terrace. For some reason it seems better craic. When your sitting at a game and your team score you jump up out of your seat and shout or whatever but when im in a terrace and we score a goal i jump around the fe*king place like a child at Christmas for ages. Also enjoy listening to some of the college age ones at the game having the banter which is normally in the cheaper tickets.
Only drawback is you get idiot sunshine supporters cursing in your ear a lot of the time too.
white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 13/05/2014 18:40:05
Terrace.
Much easier to knock back a few cans there than in a stand
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 13/05/2014 19:00:09
Hill 16 all day, like a second home at this stage. It might be because it attracts the younger section of the crowd, it's just more craic. A bitta chanting goes a long way to making the game more enjoyable. Really enjoyed jousting with the dubs last September. Well.....until...... you know.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/05/2014 19:19:48
uibhfhaili1986 County: Offaly Posts: 323
I was told off once for letting a few f's out during a match.Note to parents if you dont want your children to hear shouting and potentially swearing don't being your chidren to a GAA match.Its your job to set standards for your children not mine.
What an idiotic post!!!
Nobody minds shouting and the odd expletive but when it comes to the stage that someone tells you off then the chances are that it was a roaring rant of biblical proportions accompanied with gallons of spittle, bulging eyes & a questioning of parentage, eyesight & anything else that crossed your tiny mind.
To say that we must put up with this infantile & boorish behaviour & incredibly leave our children at home so that you can indulge yourself is just beyond belief.
Sometimes I wonder about fellas, I really do.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/05/2014 19:33:18
Lower hogan best seats in the house. Use to be the Hill but I'm too old for that madness now I leave that to the Mayo fans now who have taken over our terrace.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/05/2014 20:13:48
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2475
I was told off once for letting a few f's out during a match.Note to parents if you dont want your children to hear shouting and potentially swearing don't being your chidren to a GAA match.Its your job to set standards for your children not mine.
What an idiotic post!!!
Nobody minds shouting and the odd expletive but when it comes to the stage that someone tells you off then the chances are that it was a roaring rant of biblical proportions accompanied with gallons of spittle, bulging eyes & a questioning of parentage, eyesight & anything else that crossed your tiny mind.
To say that we must put up with this infantile & boorish behaviour & incredibly leave our children at home so that you can indulge yourself is just beyond belief.
A couple of f's and that was it basically, I din't even realise there were children near me.I was at a match in O'Connor Park and a fella let a roar and was told off by somebody in front not to be swearing in front of his children.
It really isn't anyone's business what someone else says at a match.
Swear words are fairly meaningless and are just a way of letting off steam.Hearing something (unless you are threatening an individual) has no negative affect on someone else.
Swearing at matches happens some people may not like it but it happens and people would be better off to accept it before hand than to shocked at hearing a few swear words when they go to a match.
uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 13/05/2014 20:14:06
uibhfhaili1986 County: Offaly Posts: 324
1587255 MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 2475
What an idiotic post!!!
A couple of f's and that was it basically, I din't even realise there were children near me.I was at a match in O'Connor Park and a fella let a roar and was told off by somebody in front not to be swearing in front of his children.
It really isn't anyone's business what someone else says at a match.
Swear words are fairly meaningless and are just a way of letting off steam.Hearing something (unless you are threatening an individual) has no negative affect on someone else.
Swearing at matches happens some people may not like it but it happens and people would be better off to accept it before hand than to shocked at hearing a few swear words when they go to a match.
----- Look there are varying levels of abuse. I don't mind fellas hurling abuse on a terrace when I'm with the kids as I just move along to a quieter area. I don't want my kids subjected to that kind of language to be honest so would rather move on. I do have a problem with it in the stand though as you can't move on. So if a guy was losing the run of himself in front of my kids I'd tell him out straight. I curse myself at matches so don't get me wrong but there is the odd person who is just OTT and needs to be put straight. Yes he's paid his money so is entitled to express opinions but the rest of us have paid as well and shouldn't have to listen to abusive language for 70mins.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4742 - 13/05/2014 21:20:30
Either or. Don't care and will vary from stadium to stadium..
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/05/2014 21:55:10
Croke Park - Stand
Any other stadium I prefer the terrace.
I just cant stand the - "I could have scored that" lads standing on the hill that haven't played a bit of ball in 20 years and only go to a Dubs game from the Leinster Final on.
bobby_shane (Dublin) - Posts: 106 - 14/05/2014 08:17:16
Don't mind either way to be honest...if the GAA set about making the Davin lower the same price tickets as the hill than the Dubs could have the hill all to themselves...I think it was better int he old days when you had the colours of opposite teams facing each other from behind each goal. i,e say Dubs behind hill and green and gold or whatever ever behind the canal goal, It added to the atmosphere....anyone agree?
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11547 - 14/05/2014 10:18:09
yew_tree County: Mayo Posts: 5629
1587379 Don't mind either way to be honest...if the GAA set about making the Davin lower the same price tickets as the hill than the Dubs could have the hill all to themselves...I think it was better int he old days when you had the colours of opposite teams facing each other from behind each goal. i,e say Dubs behind hill and green and gold or whatever ever behind the canal goal, It added to the atmosphere....anyone agree?
In one way I agree with you yew_tree, but the annoyance it causes some Dubs is well worth it!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/05/2014 10:39:17
Terrace for me.
thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 14/05/2014 12:38:37
As far away from you ruffians as possible, in my nice cosy seat :)
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 14/05/2014 12:46:10
MuckrossHead - Yes they do get riled alright.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11547 - 14/05/2014 13:36:33