Stand or Terrace

Where do you prefer? I cant handle the stand at all. You have no idea who you will be stuck beside and if you say the wrong thing you are liable to have some aul one give out to you for cursing or some fella telling you not to be shouting like that in front of his kids.

Terrace for me anyways. It's better craic by a mile

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 13/05/2014 12:41:03    1586965

mike03
County: Limerick

Terrace for me anyways. It's better craic by a mile

Sounds like the best place for ya.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 13/05/2014 13:02:18    1586976

'm a terrace man myself but stand or terrace I wouldn't fancy standing beside a potty mouthed gurrier who thinks going to a game entitles him to roar foul mouthed abuse at all & sundry.

Just saying like.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/05/2014 13:03:09    1586977

Mike03 do you prefer cats or dogs?

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 13/05/2014 13:13:31    1586981

Stand for me.

I know what you mean mike about the ones in the crowd (got some awful dirty looks from a woman during the Mayo SF), but to watch the match the stand is better no doubt. Less distractions (aka drunken eejits)

jamesjoyce (Derry) - Posts: 126 - 13/05/2014 13:21:13    1586985

Terrace.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/05/2014 13:29:59    1586986

You are the type of supporter i hate to be beside stand or terrace if ye can't control your mouth!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 13/05/2014 13:38:08    1586996

Terrace all the way.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/05/2014 13:39:43    1586997

Terrace all the way - aside from the craic too many of us spend too much of our days sitting on our ass so when out in the fresh air should be standing upright - much better way to watch a game anyway.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 13/05/2014 13:53:05    1587006

Its like this I have a local it has a bar I bring my 80 odd year old Dad for a pint and he has the odd bet , the language is fairly blue
We have a lounge my wife and I eat there and enjoy a drink foul loud language wouldn't be tolerated .
Theres a back lounge plays very loud music when its not got sky on giving wall to wall coverage of sport , me and my mates would often find ourselves in there .
Point being horses for courses , if Ive got my boys with me I go to stand and have no wish to listen to a yob with a foulmouth , if with the lads we would prefer terrace as theres an energy about the terrace and I couldn't careless what someone says .
Just read post back think I might have a drink problem !

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/05/2014 13:57:08    1587010

Terrace for me too. Had a poor experience in the stands last year v Tyrone in the league in Omagh and this year in the League final v Monaghan. Was unbelievably unlucky to be sitting beside an absolute gob***** on both occasions. You know they're bad when their own supporters tell them to wise up!!

There is always better atmosphere in the terrace.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 13/05/2014 14:10:38    1587018

terrace all the way
I cannot sit for that long to start with or to watch dublin as the time they were doing the hill up was stuck in canal end
and would have been better off at home
stand is boring no atmosphere
and you have people getting up and down from the toilets or shops while the match is on would do my head in
once you get a bar to lean on any terrace is much better

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/05/2014 14:12:10    1587019

Terrace all the way unless it is scalding hot, then you need to take shelter from the sun and you could also be bulk tanked with a gallon of porter and a dose of supermacs.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/05/2014 14:26:12    1587025

I almost always go to the stand, because I don't want to get wet, but I see where Mike is coming from regarding other people in the stand.

I was told off once for letting a few f's out during a match.Note to parents if you dont want your children to hear shouting and potentially swearing don't being your chidren to a GAA match.Its your job to set standards for your children not mine.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 13/05/2014 14:35:59    1587034

I wish the GAA would make a bigger effort in barring entry to those supporters who have clearly had too much to drink before hand.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/05/2014 14:50:02    1587044

Terrace all the way.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/05/2014 14:58:37    1587052

Corporate box for me...eating prawn sandwiches, supping champagne and looking down on the third class masses below.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11549 - 13/05/2014 15:00:12    1587055

13/05/2014 15:00:12
yew_tree

Corporate box for me...eating prawn sandwiches, supping champagne and looking down on the third class masses below.

Snuff is that you ?

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/05/2014 15:03:52    1587059

Terrace all the way.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/05/2014 15:09:26    1587062

Hill 16 all day, like a second home at this stage. It might be because it attracts the younger section of the crowd, it's just more craic. A bitta chanting goes a long way to making the game more enjoyable. Really enjoyed jousting with the dubs last September. Well.....until...... you know.

Hate being given out to at a game for swearing. Now I'm not saying I like swearing and it's not something I'm proud of but come on, it's a highly charged situation and if I get frustrated I'm going to swear, sorry. People swear when they're angry, get over it. There are family sections for people with kids who'd prefer they didn't hear swearing.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 13/05/2014 15:30:29    1587076