Tyrone v Down

I see what you are saying Offside though I don't agree with you. Just like a manager would rarely ever point out the mistakes an individual player makes, referees or those responsible for them don't point out their own mistakes either as it would just lead to even further undermining and abuse of them. However, just as managers will have a right go at players behind closed doors, I believe the same thing happens with referees. The overturned red cards last year were a clear indication of the powers that be saying that the referee had made a mistake, though in some of the cases I thought the referee had called it correctly. Anyway, a summer with no refereeing mistakes is impossible, but hopefully it is possible to have a summer where the players are the focus rather than the soft target.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/05/2014 17:21:49    1590271

18/05/2014 19:19:20
brendtheredhand

HEREBENJI

1589443...Kavanagh...

Cavanagh, Kavanagh, is cuma, is Caomhánaigh iad uile. Níl sa Bhéarla ach seafóid.

Listen lad, if you're determined to use the oppressors' language foisted upon us, do it the courtesy of not confusing your heterographs!

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 19/05/2014 19:10:00    1590355

I thought Tyrone would beat Down, I expected them to come from behind to do it but win it with a bit to spare in the end. Luckily I am not a gambler...I was surprised at how vibrant and lively Down were in the half way point of the 2nd half, momentum is a great thing but they used their bench well and the players that came in performed exceptionally. I actually laughed to myself when Coulter was in around midfield, yet he was exceptional there rolling back the years...thank god I watched the game on my own so noone heard my expert analysis.

It's a tough ask for Tyrone in Newry on Saturday, I certainly do not expect the same line up but as alluded to in the front page of the site here, why Ronan O'Neill did not feature is beyond me but when your 7 points up, as Tyrone were at one stage you cannot really be throwing that away - I wouldn't blame Mickey Harte for that, once the players step across the line there's only so much you can really do as a manager at that stage.

Down fans seem a bit upset that they were written off before this game was played, I assumed Tyrone would win myself, but so did most - so fair play to them for coming so close, they probably should have won it in the end beit soft frees or the missed one to put them 3 up but they'll be as pleased as Tyrone are that there's another game this weekend considering HT I think as the week goes on.

Should be a good game Saturday as well, both teams I think will fancy it and I won't even make a prediction - bar Tyrone won't line out with anything near the team they had Sunday past. Great start to the Ulster Championship though.

Ps, my club season is now wrecked over the draw. Damn.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 19/05/2014 19:34:30    1590378

Agree with that point about Morgan's effect on the game. His kickouts are smart and with Harte and Donnelly enjoying success by blitzing McVeigh's kickouts you would expect to Tyrone to shade the replay.

Down had lots of cover in front of the D and it worked, they bottled up the lanes and stopped Cavanagh and Harte charging through the middle. The black card - I made this point during the league, teams will look to defend deep, long term it will not contribute to attacking football. McGuinness' system will prosper, with tackling under extra scrutiny numbers will be brought back to choke the space.

HighKing81 (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 19/05/2014 19:50:53    1590391

an tseabhac

18/05/2014 19:19:20
brendtheredhand

HEREBENJI

1589443...Kavanagh...

Cavanagh, Kavanagh, is cuma, is Caomhánaigh iad uile. Níl sa Bhéarla ach seafóid.

Listen lad, if you're determined to use the oppressors' language foisted upon us, do it the courtesy of not confusing your heterographs!

Silliest post of the day! (and that's saying something)
Congratulations! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 19/05/2014 20:40:29    1590440

Sean Cavanagh yet again saves Tyrone, i said last week leading up to the game it would be a draw, Down,well unless the young boys of Tyrone step up, then they are out, Tyrone had this game won, but fair play to Down, no disrespect, take all the older guys, including big Sean cavanagh, Colm, etc away, well Tyrone ??????, are beatable, midfield, and at the back, weakness for all to see,Benny coulter played out of his skin, 1994 is too long for Down,and they now know they have the beating of Tyrone, either Tyrone will push on, win, or as i feel Down to win by a few points, Monaghan, Cavan , Armagh, will all feel they can hold their own, on this side of draw.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 19/05/2014 20:47:58    1590451

TheGateKeeper

an tseabhac

Silliest post of the day! (and that's saying something)
Congratulations! ;)

Agreed Gatekeeper, Silliest post of the day is an accolade not easily won. It's right up there with the back to back All Irelands & 3 Ulsters in a row.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/05/2014 09:43:48    1590538

Offside

I think the part you are missing is the fact that referees are not super humans who are immune to public ridicule and pressure, they like the rest of us make honest mistakes and realise these after they see the game again. The GAA's approach to the protection of referees and how referees are appointed is no different to Soccer or Rugby, show me an example of where any of these bodies have come out in public after the game and criticised the referee? As a referee you are constantly thinking about the decisions you made however if you ever start to doubt yourself then there is no point in going out on the pitch. What you are asking for is name and shame, do these guys deserve that? Do you not worry about what the reaction from certain members of the public to that would be to that? Imagine Antrim loses a big game because of a decision by the referee and the GAA comes out and says he was wrong, now everyone knows he cost their team the game, the lad is in Belfast for the weekend and is walking back to his hotel and he comes across a group of lads full of drink. Do you not worry what would happen? This referee has been named and shamed by the GAA and these lads know that and therefore think he is open game.
While you say you are not anti referee, you are by what you are saying. I am not in favor of allowing referees who don't know the rules or who cannot follow them to go on without sanction but that has to be part of a process that protects and develops the referee. If ouy are having issues at work, the reaction of your supervisor is not to put out a public notice to everyone saying you messed up but we are now working on making you better.
What we need more in the GAA is more club referee assessments so we get better referees coming through the ranks, we need more top players to take up refereeing - when was the last intercounty player you saw refereeing? The GAA should put in a place a system whereby people like yourself who (for whatever reason) don't want to take up refereeing but feel strongly about it to assess local club games where they have no conflict of interest. It holds through for referees as it does for players - if you play a challenge games against a poor team its not doing you preparation for the big games any good, a referee also needs to be kept sharp and not allowed to think there are easy games where being sharp and applying the rules don't count as much, as these creep into his refereeing of bigger games

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1818 - 20/05/2014 09:48:47    1590543

To clarify replays are not covered under the season ticket.Pay
and play is in operation for the match.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1628 - 20/05/2014 15:10:31    1590812

Nice to see Bannon highlight an issue which as so far been neglected on here. Too many bashing the black card. Yet Coldrick made a fundamental error in awarding Tyrone a free-in right at the end of the game, despite the ball being out of play. Forget about the black card decision, Tyrone were given a get-out-of-jail free card by the ref. They should be grateful to him that they are still in the Ulster Championship, and owe him a debt of gratitude. I won't be expecting many favours from another MEATH referee this weekend. Down will most likely have to beat Tyrone + the ref to progress. We welcome the challenge in fortress Newry, however.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 20/05/2014 17:29:29    1590877

Zinny- think you are missing the point. I am not talking about a ref who makes a mistake and who recognises this themselves nor am I talking about public floggings though that could be quite a crowd puller. I am talking about inconsistency either in one game from a referee or from game to game and this happens in abundance I am afraid. I have acknowledged they can get decisions wrong due to being human and that's understandable but when you see a number of wrong calls then they should be accountable which they currently aren't. In soccer for example, a premiership ref makes a really bad decision, he won't be publically chastised but will find himself reffing a lower league game for a while and may struggle to get back to the top level. You say we need more assessments at club level but this already happens in Antrim a lot and I can't see the improvement as a result. As for the suggestion it could lead to random attacks I think you may be going a bit far - for starters I would be surprised if anyone in Belfast would recognise a GAA ref if he walked up to them and even went as far as introducing himself.

Wee example. We had a club player sent off last year in a case of mistaken identity - should have been one of our other players. Our boys told him straight away as did couple of opposition players but he sent him off anyway. Of course we appealed and had hearing with CCCC which the ref didn't turn up. They asked for our version then rang the ref who said he stood by what was in the report. Conclusion was CCCC upheld the decision and case closed. As I say not only are they not accountable but the wagons are circled to protect them even when they are wrong.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/05/2014 18:00:24    1590896

e. I won't be expecting many favours from another MEATH referee this weekend. Down will most likely have to beat Tyrone + the ref to progress.

What's the ref from Meath got to do with anything? Because Down won the all-ireland in 1991 does that mean every Meath person hates Down GAA forever? There's history between Tyrone and Meath too y'know but it's not particularly relevant.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 20/05/2014 18:49:21    1590917

That side of the draw is as tough as i can ever remember. If tyrone or down win ulster this year, it will be the hardest of hard ways.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3835 - 20/05/2014 18:50:13    1590918

MourneArmy
County: Down

Nice to see Bannon highlight an issue which as so far been neglected on here. Too many bashing the black card. Yet Coldrick made a fundamental error in awarding Tyrone a free-in right at the end of the game, despite the ball being out of play. Forget about the black card decision, Tyrone were given a get-out-of-jail free card by the ref. They should be grateful to him that they are still in the Ulster Championship, and owe him a debt of gratitude. I won't be expecting many favours from another MEATH referee this weekend. Down will most likely have to beat Tyrone + the ref to progress. We welcome the challenge in fortress Newry, however.

LOL, definitely a candidate for silliest post of the day!
Nice one mourneBarmy! ;)
Surely the referee should have black-carded Maginn for Tyrone's
penalty (which should have been advantage as well). If any of the
two counties should have a problem with the ref's performance it is
Tyrone.
And the pulling and dragging off the ball (an illegal offence) justly
merited 'the man's' messianic equalizer.

Thankfully Down managed to compete with Tyrone in the second half;
that's exactly what Tyrone needed; a wake up call from one of the
weaker counties!

Total Faith
Tir Eogahain abu.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/05/2014 20:38:04    1591000

Iv been watching Gaelic football now for a long time, I saw two incidents in Sundays game I never saw before. First was the 45 , he moved the ball forward and Morgan did not kick the free Now I often saw them moving the ball forward When frees are awarded and players don't stay far enough away from the ball but first time I saw a fifty (45) moved And the last sideline , never saw one moved, was he within the rules to do so. How many incidents like S Cavanagh/down defender have we saw over the years, refs usually give them a ticking and play resumes.
What going to happen is some of the things that were punished on Sunday, won't be in Sat/Sun games and thinks that were let go will be whistled up on Sat Sun ( I'm talking about the Ulster games this weekend) If I were the referees this weekend I'd be aware of giving a black card or make sure it's deserved. We don't want anymore up roars this weekend, just good sensible reffing

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 20/05/2014 20:39:17    1591001

The referee was certainly bad. Down supporters seem to think they have blown their chance with all this huffing and puffing about the ref and Sean Cavanagh. Also, no-one has mentionned the fact that there was basically a minute taken up during the 2nd last point when the black card was being awarded and the free took. There should have been an extra minute of injury time added on.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 20/05/2014 20:57:25    1591018

Does anyone know if the game is on tv?

gizzy (Monaghan) - Posts: 45 - 20/05/2014 21:01:15    1591026

Very little talk of the line ball that led to the tyrone penalty..Linesman was uncertain and it looked like a Down ball, also when Cavanagh took the line ball he stepped across the line when kicking the ball should have been a throw up. All the talk of Tyrone been hard done bye...Tyrone got a good few decisions going there way as well.

Now it appears the ref was wrong to award a free to tyrone when Cavanagh fell to ground very easily when o'neill was about to take the sideline.

Not convinced about this tyrone team they would have been beaten if O'Hare didn't miss a 14mtr free.

Don't think they will win ulster or Sam this year.

Odds have gone out from 12/1 to 16/1 so bookies don't have much faith in them either

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 20/05/2014 21:24:00    1591045

Its a very soft option to blame the ref. Blame him for some erratic decisions, yes. Blame him for letting Tyrone every chance to win their money back at home in omagh, for sure, it is almost house policy in croke park for refs to do this. He didnt throw the match in eithers favor if you honestly audit every inch of the second half, and bear in mind that tyrone were 7 points up.

What people refuse to legislate for is the bad conditions in a game this fast that allow for no time to make a proper decision, how can you possibly see everything. There was some cynical play, and the odd dive, but I wont remember this game as being one for the wrong reasons. The reality is that the ref balanced the books, and down have only themselves to blame for missing that free at the end, and the clumsy foul on s kavanagh that led to the final point. I worry that we are getting too caught up in blaming the ref. Coldrick is usually very good, and allows the game to flow. It is hardly his fault if players go down and stay down, or if players block free taking etc, ( I am not singling out the game at the weekend btw), it is just that we seem to be very good with the benefit of hindsight how a game should have been refereed.

I would also say that the black card is still in its infancy, and there will be a lot learned by refs from the match at the weekend. I would expect a lot of by the book refereeing for the rest of the summer, I hope so anyway.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3835 - 20/05/2014 21:42:12    1591069

All this crying about the ref, and boys running on to the pitch and decisions is a load of rubbish. Bee all and end all is we should have been beaten by a very poor team. I will hand it to Down they never seem to lay down and you have to admire the cavalier way in which down as the have done on many occasions went at us in the second half.

Both teams got decisions against, it is what it is, games over. We are certainly lucky to still be in this and face no easy task as we have filled this Down side with confidence by our own doing.

When I seen mickeys team last week I knew it spelt trouble. For the first time ever I have started to question him. I wait to see what team comes out tomorrow night. At end of the day could be a lot worse and we are still in it. Too early to say how we will get on later in the year, everyone has their blips. Mon Tyrone! Keep the faith!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/05/2014 09:18:49    1591112