Worst thing that happened to you on a pitch?

What's the worst thing that's happened to you on a pitch? Maybe try not to name out a particular club or player, but I'd be very interested in hearing what you feel is the worst thing that happened you.

I'll start:
*A row started in a match in Bellefield and a supporter rushed down to strike me several times through the wire over at the corner of the ground entrance.
*At a minor match down in the south of the county towards the end of a match I'd played well in, the opposition players resorted to trying to kick me repeatedly as I ran with the ball. After the about four had landed, I threw the ball into the ditch in temper and the ref told me to calm down he was going to give me a free.
*I was given appalling verbal abuse by supporters of an opposition club at an under-14 district final.
*At an under-14 Colleges A hurling match as a 12 year old corner back I was taken off after I didn't "do" the opposition's best player when I had a chance. I was dropped from the squad after that, after having been on the team all along. That teacher wasn't over teams after that year thank God.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2574 - 09/04/2014 12:22:13    1572827

Jaysus, even the Meath lads never treated me as bad as that :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 09/04/2014 12:30:48    1572834

I gave away 3 penalties in 20 mins and got taken off!.....worst thing was, it was against our arch rivals 'Boden!

Hmmm, actually there is probably a reason why my favourite players were Kieran Duff and Sylive Linnane!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2014 12:48:28    1572851

Jesus Ice, Wexford is one tough spot!!!

My worst memory is being put on as a sub in U14, being half way across the field & being called back for someone else.

Never forgotten it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 09/04/2014 12:48:46    1572852

I can't say I've ever really had too rough of a time, in football (soccer) I played in goals and got a knee full force to the nose and upper mouth area but aside from bruising I came out of that completely unharmed. Playing Gaa (fb or ff depending) I'd been incredibly lucky, never had any significant injuries and abuse never bothered me anyway.

To be honest I have injured a few lads (including close friends) in my time (not seriously thankfully) from coming out of the goals like a lunatic and I know it may sound selfish but it's not a nice feeling watching a lad limping or getting carried off because of our own carelessness. It's all caught up with me now though, I slowly wore down the back and can't play anymore........but at least I'm not losing as many friends!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/04/2014 13:08:16    1572865

Went up for a high ball, landed badly a did in my cruciate and broke my collar bone at the same time. Freak thing really.

To make matter worse the referee gave a free (from which they scored a goal) against me as when I fell the ball went under my body and he penalised me for lying on the ball.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13797 - 09/04/2014 13:09:16    1572867

My worst moment is making a great block in the last few minutes of a minor semi-final.

Obviously doesn't sound too bad except I blocked the ball with my face and was carried off!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 09/04/2014 13:12:33    1572871

A few years ago I was on a night out on a Friday night.
More or less poisoned myself with some friends with shots etc.
Following morning saw a text how the club was playing a challenge match that evening.Oh jesus!

We could only field 15 so I had to play the full game, I didnt get sick but balls were hitting every part of me, couldnt hold the ball, my head was spinning. The manager was more or less saying how fecking useless I was.
never before had I been so relived at hearing a full time whistle!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 09/04/2014 13:48:03    1572896

Broke my nose a couple of times...

First time it was an elbow (dirty ****)... second time was from a perfectly timed block... which resulted in my face blocking his knee

Costly private procedure a number of years ago has corrected it... but it's not my nose anymore

My aul one always points that out whenever she see's me..."That's not the nose I gave you"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/04/2014 13:53:31    1572902

Fractured my ankle playing a training match one Sunday morning.

Also once got an elbow to the face from one C U next Tuesday who couldn't take being tackled. Worse still, it was 5m away from the ref (who was facing us), who did sweet fa about it. Fellas like that shouldn't be let next nor near a whistle.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 09/04/2014 14:02:56    1572912

My first summer playing adult (reserve) football we got to the Intermediate championship final. I was thrown on for the last ten minutes with the scores level. With about 2 minutes left we won a handy enough free about 30 metres out, slightly left of centre so perfect for a right-footed freetaker. All of the older lads looked away so I stepped up. I was confident enough but skewed it slightly and it went about a foot wide. Shortly after that the final whistle blew for a draw. While we hadn't lost I was gutted that I didn't win it for us. I must have replayed the kick a thousand times in my head.

Lost 2 U-21 finals in a row aswell. That was sickening. The first year we blew it and the second year we were tanked!

Injury wise I have torn hamstrings, cracked ribs and broken fingers but nothing too serious thank God.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9766 - 09/04/2014 14:10:21    1572919

I have never left it up to a ref to simply blow a whistle and give a free or even a sending off to a player who commits a nasty stroke!.....'So what' if he gets sent off and a lad is left with a wonky nose for th rest of his life or whatever!!
If you are the victim of a nasty stroke you must exact summary justice on the perpetrator right away and see to it that he is paid back stock and interest for his actions!....then go to the line yourself satisfied!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2014 14:28:36    1572927

The corner of Bellfield ice, your just lucky it wasnt the bottom goal on the left hand side, with the old slope that used to go to that corner ye might have never got out.

Dislocated knee cap one summer when long studs got caught in the hard ground as i twisted out of a tackle. Dislocated shoulder playing U21 final while playing midfield. Had been asked to go with the county U21's during the week after the semifinal, played the final at midfield and had put over 3 from play. Ended up losing and never got a sniff of a county team again. Never allowed the shoulder to recover properly and dislocated it numerous times after.

Played a championship match once and ended up coming to blows with a member of the opposition team who lets say "would be classed as part of an ethnic minority" and was promptly told to seriously watch my back. A threat that rang though that night when him and his clan arrived in to the pub that we were drinking in after the game spoiling for a row. Thankfully enough of us were there to stop anything happening and my team mate was a guard so it all boiled over. Funny thing is i marked him a few years later and it was all grand, we joked about it and there was never a bother after but i wonder how it would have played out had i been on my own that day in the pub.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 09/04/2014 14:33:28    1572931

The parish that we moved to have a seething hatred for another parish 15 miles out the road
its so bad that there is a little village between us and the lads from the "bad" parish who are not good enough to play for their own hole of a town, declare for this little village, so when we play the little village team, we may as well be playing the "bad town" if you follow?

Once, in an u/14's match in a back pitch in our town, V the little village, about 10 mins into the game (and remember this is u/14's) a starlet drove onto the pitch, 4 lads hopped out and laid into 3 of the oppositions players..... to cut a long story short there was holy war with fellas getting bad beatings. Guards called, the opposition team were escorted to their minibus where with guards lookings, one of the local lads hopped on the bus and attacked one of their players again......

To make it worse, my auld lad was our manager, and the player from their team that got the worst hiding...was my cousin on my mothers side!!

and this was under feckin fourteens!!

The auld lad was disgusted and walked away from the job that evening and never went back managing again.

(this was a soccer match, not a GAA match)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/04/2014 14:37:04    1572936

Some set up there in Bellfield too. Great club/s.
Have friends involved, more on the starlights side than the raparees side.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 09/04/2014 14:38:17    1572939

Playing under 14 county blitz against the cats and was having a stormer. This was in October and it was lashing/freezing. .whatever way the ball rolled up the stick as I tried to control.it I ended up being struck where the sun don't shine. Took me literally the rest of the match to catch my breath.

Trying to block somebody down coming through on goal and sort of threw myself at him. This was a summer's day and I'd elected to discard my helmet. Ended up having my lip stitched back on.

Debut for new club was against my old one. Everyone noticed me as we got into position. I lasted about 30 minutes then could no longer walk

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3592 - 09/04/2014 14:55:36    1572957

About 10 years ago playing a hurling match got a full force smack across the face which burst my lip and broke my front tooth in half. With blood streaming from my mouth and face the lad who done it to me proceded to tell me i deserved the smack and of course all hell broke loose. The lad hit me on purpose which made it 10 times worse. Stopped me being a gobs***e and i wore a faceguard on my helmet from then on. A bit To late to save my beautiful face which is still scared to this day

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 09/04/2014 14:57:53    1572959

Ending up in court after streaking at a county final.

Then it was thrown out due to lack of evidence.

Lack of evidence indeed!!!

batterburger (Cork) - Posts: 161 - 09/04/2014 15:09:34    1572966

Broke the number eights nose , in taking revenge for some heavy treatment one elbow in particular , disgusted when I found out Id hit the wrong man there were two lads on the team twins one a quite fella the other his brother , felf sh17 .
Broke my finger playing colleges for Dublin missed out as we lost to offaly following game , yes I know Offaly , thats how old I am .
Losing I generally felt crap , bad mood for hours .
And yes when men were men and sheep were afraid , I too threw up on a pitch not a nice sight .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/04/2014 16:55:57    1573044

Probably had to be the training pitch where my brother and I both standing well over 6 foot were made pick the teams for the usual end of training game and then lining out against each other at MF. We proceeded to knock 7 bells out of each other until the management eventually caught on that the best approach was to begin by putting us both on one team and then selecting from there.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 09/04/2014 17:30:02    1573072