Sky Pundits

If Sky are serious about presenting(which id say they are) they will go after experienced GAA people with credibility in Ireland. Maybe a mix of exfootballers and hurlers and an experienced presenters. Second captains live Eoin mc Devitt would be good asking the questions (though maybe they might want a bigger known name )Jason Sherlock, Dara o cinnede , Oisin mc conville. Dj carey , nick English. there is loads of good panellists. Shane long is fairly clued into hurling at the moment so he wouldn't be a bad idea . Niall Quinn forget it. Will their be a walking past the picket feel from some GAA lads who wont want to upset the locals if asked :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/04/2014 13:45:08    1570351

Typical of us irish thinking the brits will be all over this. The only matches that will be anyway entertaining to the brits will be all ireland semis and final were croker is full, good atmosphere and good camera work. They will hardly tune in to a saturday evening match played in sligo on a rainy summers day. Jeez 75 percent of the matches are hard viewing to us who understand the game at the moment. Maybe all grouds will be full now and all singing fields of athenry when we think there is Foreigners watching and then boo when its only on rte....cough cough irish soccer fans

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 04/04/2014 14:10:04    1570364

THE EXTRAMAN

1570364 Typical of us irish thinking the brits will be all over this. The only matches that will be anyway entertaining to the brits will be all ireland semis and final were croker is full, good atmosphere and good camera work. They will hardly tune in to a saturday evening match played in sligo on a rainy summers day. Jeez 75 percent of the matches are hard viewing to us who understand the game at the moment. Maybe all grouds will be full now and all singing fields of athenry when we think there is Foreigners watching and then boo when its only on rte....cough cough irish soccer fans

This has nothing to do with the brits being all over this,or keeping them interested, its about SKY getting more subscribers in the irish market in the summer months and keeping them throughout the year ,getting more expats in England to take up subscription also,so if the coverage from Sky is not interesting to GAA people it wont sell end of story , its not about getting a huge English public to suddenly get a glimpse of our games and they suddenly go out and buy jerseys.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/04/2014 14:31:55    1570376

Ring up Sky and tell them you are leaving for the Summer and they normally offer you a discount - I normally get £5 a month for the Sports package for the summer months - even if they call your bluff and accept no big deal as you can tune back in when it suits or else hit the pub - actually there is a thought - another good excuse to get out to the pub!

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 04/04/2014 14:37:53    1570382

Liam that lineup would be more like Anchorman than The Sunday Game.

Plus I couldnt work with Wyse, she would just be eyeing me up making everyone else uncomfortable.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/04/2014 15:04:55    1570400

Master, can we call you Brick...............;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/04/2014 15:09:05    1570406

Id imagine I get called a lot worse most days!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/04/2014 15:13:40    1570412

How about joe brolly lol

bigstone (Down) - Posts: 74 - 05/04/2014 17:13:31    1570711

Richieq

Paul Galvin would be a near cert I would say, but you would want a few boys to frighten the shite out of the British and make them think were mad untamed warriors, Noel O'Leary, Liam Harnan, Brian Mullins, Kevin Foley and whoever that mad Louth substitute was that ran onto the field against Laois in '91 to beat all round him, there the boys who would rise a bit of craic.

Just saw the You Tube footage of that schemozzle, some scelps thrown by the tracksuited one! Funny thing, one of the main men involved in that scrap is now Head of Security at the UN.

Sky is after GAA coverage in order to boost their summer ratings in Ireland, not necessarily to attract non-Irish audiences. I always liked Peter Canavan and Kevin McStay, while Eoin McDevitt and Murph from Second Captains wouldn't be bad anchors (but please, don't let Ken Early next nor near GAA coverage). Dara Ó Cinneide has a very solid media portfolio, but unfortunately, it's almost all been in Irish-language programming, which may be a disadvantage in applying to a British broadcaster.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/04/2014 12:32:07    1570919

Colman Parkinson and Diarmuid Lyng are very good on news talk. I think they'd do a good job.

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 06/04/2014 19:42:53    1571240

cannot see why people think the second captains guys would be good?
they are awful at that show,the main guy from my own county that already does setanta gaa coverage is terrible
the add alone annoys me hearing him shout at start of every programme
secccooonnnnndddddddddd captaaaaaaaaainnnnnssssss liveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
hes worse then rte panel for neagtivity when on setanta

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/04/2014 19:58:04    1571992

If the rumors are to be believed then a former Cork goal keeper has jumped ship from RTE. Only rumors though, nothing confirmed yet but I wouldn't be surprised considering his articles about the deal. Maybe they might poach Spillane as well? Either way there could be a serious talent drain from RTE on the way.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 07/05/2014 14:43:17    1585031

You'll see a few TV3 faces

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 07/05/2014 15:01:12    1585043

ah sure while yer at it..Andy Gray!!/..with subtitles!

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 07/05/2014 15:59:00    1585081

hill16no1man agree 100%, also has everyone forgotten that the old off the ball gang did everything they could to mock, and belittle the GAA, and would promote every other sport over the GAA?

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 07/05/2014 16:10:51    1585093

RTE anlysis is going to look even more crusty and out of touch if this is confirmed, and I hope it is. Expect real honest analysis rather than opinion and misty eyed sentimentality from a couple of guys who are completely in tune with the modern game.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/05/2014 08:30:52    1585235

Pick a few ex GAA Players , someone like John Doyle, Tony brown or pick a pundit from each of the provinces. I would not go for N Quinn, Long or Moran as they already have good established careers. Give it to some ex players and see how they get on There are plenty out here who should be given a chance.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 08/05/2014 10:14:43    1585259

Canavan is a good move, but Galvin? Jesus.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 08/05/2014 10:49:53    1585271

Lads , the sky coverage og GAA will be somewhat akin to the coverage of netball that they do at the minute so you are probably looking at one person a panel talking for about ten minutes before a game and ten after it ,so I dont think there will be a big new panel for it .Going by the report on the Mayo -New York game it will be fairly rubbish any way .

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 08/05/2014 11:16:30    1585286

Personally I'd rather have Galvin than Jesus, but hey, why not have all three sure Sky can afford it!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/05/2014 11:18:18    1585288