Diarmuid Connollys greatest individual performance

The only prob for Jim now is where to play him. With KK out for the year, can see him going out to 11 and Alan Brogan going into the FF line alongside Bernard and AN Other ....
I see Mannion played a blinder last night

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/03/2014 08:53:54    1562323

Will Alan get his place back though Liam? Perhaps a better man to bring in late on in a game.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/03/2014 11:26:36    1562413

Alan brogan will be back starting if he can/has recovered. He isnt that old and when fit (going by pre injury) would walk into the Dublin team which is saying something.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 20/03/2014 11:48:41    1562423

If all players were fit and well i'd expect a starting forward line something like this...

Connolly A. Brogan Flynn

Mannion/Rock Andrews B. Brogan

Replacement of KevMac, Costello and O'Gara.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 20/03/2014 12:15:12    1562444

I agree Seany, I think Diarmuid, Alan and Flynner will be our Half Forward Line come championship.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4266 - 20/03/2014 12:59:48    1562473

Every time someone has a really good match they're suddenly the best player in the country

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 20/03/2014 18:02:50    1562688

I am almost 50 years watching Gaelic football and never before have i seen a player to have as much influence on a game as Dermot Connolly last monday it was one of the best individual displays that was ever given in Croke Park.To see a player give an exibition in a ll the skills of the game from fielding, superb passing, finishing, he displayed it all. Sad to say then that some posters come on here and instead of giving the guy their congratulations they bring his personal life and say it was only a club game .It matters not a dam what grade it was in be it under 12 or All Ireland It is what it is a brilliant display in all the skills of the game. Begrudgery is alive and well in our little island sad to say

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 23/03/2014 19:31:39    1563893

dubarra
County: Wicklow

I am almost 50 years watching Gaelic football and never before have i seen a player to have as much influence on a game as Dermot Connolly last monday it was one of the best individual displays that was ever given in Croke Park.To see a player give an exibition in a ll the skills of the game from fielding, superb passing, finishing, he displayed it all. Sad to say then that some posters come on here and instead of giving the guy their congratulations they bring his personal life and say it was only a club game .It matters not a dam what grade it was in be it under 12 or All Ireland It is what it is a brilliant display in all the skills of the game. Begrudgery is alive and well in our little island sad to say

1 I saw no begrudgery anywhere. Every poster acknowledged that it was a great performance.

2 His personal life was introduced by a Dub who was supporting him.

3 The point about it being a club match as against a county game is very relevant, I'm sure many county forwards would look good against U14's. The quality of the opposition has to be taken into account when assessing whether it was the greatest performance ever seen in an AI final as suggested.

4 A lot of what goes on in these threads is friendly banter & the Dubs V The Culchies is an ongoing favourite for us all. In this case there is a slight suspicion on our side that the case for Connolly is being over egged a little by some of the more ferverent Dubs. If we err a little on the other side it is only in the interests of balance & fair play. If you think what was posted here was begrudgery wait till the championship hots up!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/03/2014 10:54:28    1564030